RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Uptight FCC demands Janet get a mastectomy.(21 posts)

Uptight FCC demands Janet get a mastectomy.Spoiler
Feb 2, 2004 10:15 AM
``I am outraged at what I saw during the halftime show of the Super Bowl,'' FCC Chairman Michael Powell said in a statement. ``Like millions of Americans, my family and I gathered around the television for a celebration. Instead, that celebration was tainted by a classless, crass and deplorable stunt. Our nation's children, parents and citizens deserve better.''

Gimme a break. It a breast. And by all accounts, it's a beautiful one to look at. He acts like she gave a hummer to Kid Rock's pet kangaroo.
I'm sure he's given the goahead for thousands of primetime scenes of murder, open corpses, rape, and torture featured on CBS's other shows.
Like Lenny Bruce said, the FCC would rather show gallons of blood being spilled rather than a drop of semen.
re: Uptight FCC demands Janet get a mastectomy.jschrotz
Feb 2, 2004 10:44 AM
Mr. Powell may have been sitting there with his family, but like most other men out there, he was hoping that top would come down and give us a glimpse. He enjoyed it as much as anyone else. All these people get their panties in a twist over a breast?? And a nice one at that? I could see being a bit upset if it was a shot of Janet Reno or something, but Janet Jackson? You should be jumping up and down for joy and saying a few halleluahs. Find something better to piss and moan about. Millions of women are walking around with those things. Are people really going to be scarred for life if they see a quick shot of one of them?? I'm more troubled by the abundance of commercials for woody-popping drugs and the disclaimer that any stiffy lasting more than 4 hours needs emergency medical attention. I'll look into using that drug when Janet Jackson starts working at my local ER.
Last thing thoseCatholics andChinese need is another aphrodesiac128
Feb 2, 2004 11:03 AM
Is that offensive to Catholics and Chinese? Chinese guy would just as soon rip the fins off a shark and throw it back into the ocean alive w/o fins or eat brains from the skull of a living monkey to get a hardon. Real man aphrodesiacs.
A pr miracle for JustinSpoiler
Feb 2, 2004 11:03 AM
In that split-second act, he managed to undo the damage done by being a former member of the Backstreet Boyz.
He may have erased the "Punk" tatoo on his forehead and gained the admiration of millions of red-blooded boy-band haters. They may not buy his albums, but they won't burn them either.
Just goes to show, there's hope for everyone.
How about a parents POV?PaulCL
Feb 2, 2004 11:25 AM
I was watching the game with my children: daughters ages 11 & 9 and a son age 5. The bare breast was merely a funny distraction. We all laughed about it. As a parent, what was really bothersome was the humping and hip grinding Janet and Justion did on stage. Also the lyrics...the song ended with Justin singing something to the effect "I want you without clothes" or something like that. That line led into the wardrobe malfunction - yeah right!

I'm not a prude. But this sh*t doesn't belong at halftime of a football game. Play this stuff after 10pm at night. I don't need the question from a nine year old as to why Justin was grinding his pelvis against her butt. And yes, I did get that question from my daughter (though I didn't use the same wording). There is a time and a place for everything and this was in poor taste. None of my kids was embarrassed by the breast (maybe my son will be in a few years) but my kids don't need to see simulated sex on TV during a football game.

Personally, I hope Mr. Powell gets some 'nads and puts a hurt on MTV, Janet, Justin, and the show's producers. How about a nice multi-million dollar fine?? Maybe that will make the next sinking star (Janet) think twice about doing this kind of stuff in front of millions of kids.

Paul
How about a parents POV?Spoiler
Feb 2, 2004 11:55 AM
If I was a parent, I wouldn't feel comfortable letting the kids watch the dancing either. I just approach this from the perspective of a single male, so I forget the parents perspective. I'm more riled up over the hypocracy CBS and the FCC. The nudity didn't scar anyone. The unapproved nudity just says, "This is a body part that lies under the clothes." But the pre-approved dancing says, "This is what you do with your body parts."
Jackson and Timberlake are just too far removed from reality to make responsible decision, taking in the fact that kids are watching. They're there to promote themselves. Jackson's looking to further her sexual image and Justine is looking to transform his image from Tiger Beat to Danger Boy.
CBS and FCC approved the grinding, humping and the lyrics. CBS promoted the halftimes show, selling it as being big, or bigger than the game itself. In their indignation, they act like the show was a Christmas play up until the moment of truth.
If not for the exposure, today, they would have declared the whole routing a smashing, family-fun success and signed a 7-year deal with MTV to do more shows.
Powell and CBS set themselves up so they have no standing to act indignent or offended.
Hopefully, next years halftime show will feature acts with more talent than flash. Why not give exposure to someone who needs and deserves it?
well said. nm128
Feb 2, 2004 12:02 PM
Now you want to outlaw dancin'?No_sprint
Feb 2, 2004 12:09 PM
You conservative bible thumpers want to take everything we have away! Next thing that'll go is the right to gay marriage, all our beloved nudist colonies and we'll be back to taking our 12 year old to Mexico for abortions!

If it's alright for the wife and I to walk around the house with a joint stickin' out of our mouths, it's alright for our tiedye wearin' juniors to see all the glory of the human body with nothin' on during the super bowl!

Sheesh! get those newconmen out! Tryin' to outlaw dancin'....
Generally, I agree with youPaulCL
Feb 2, 2004 12:20 PM
Before I was a parent, I couldn't have cared less about the whole issue. In fact, I would probably be one of the folks writing a post defending the entire show. Having children changes everything.

As for who is "at fault"...if anyone is...Janet and Justin pre-planned the event with or without support of the producers, the NFL, MTV, CBS, etc.. So regardless of their simple desire to further their careers or change their image, they still are culpable.

Maybe I'm getting prudish when my children are involved. But there are so many negative influences on children these days that I don't need that crap shoved in our faces during what should be a family friendly show.

OK, I'll restrain myself from popping off about rap music and how it is marketed directly to the preteen set.

Paul
Brother Michael to buy them to "complete my transformation"128
Feb 2, 2004 10:53 AM
Amazing; we are routinley assaulted with sexual violence, male genital mutilation, sexism, racism, deceptive advertising and classism and this goes to the penalty box...


"And I can't imagine what empty heads can achieve" -OO
Brother Michael to buy them to "complete my transformation"Spoiler
Feb 2, 2004 11:06 AM
You'd think America would encourage any show of adult consensual, heterosexual behavior from members of the Jackson family.
That harlot's performance is what's wrong with this countryColnagoFE
Feb 2, 2004 11:19 AM
First it's a breast, then after a short time our children are forced to watch hard-core pornography at school! Bring back our family values. Denounce this kind of trash and stand up for the children!
That and Kid Rock putting a hole in the American flag128
Feb 2, 2004 12:18 PM
and wearing it like a poncho. Wut an azzwipe.
what a cowboymohair_chair
Feb 2, 2004 12:29 PM
If anyone is going to burn an American flag, I'd prefer he be wearing it at the time.
I'm firmly on board with oldey here.No_sprint
Feb 2, 2004 11:49 AM
Since gettin' a BJ from a hefty intern in the white house while the wife is likely upstairs watching it on CC is not sexual relations, OBVIOUSLY seein' a breast cannot be considered sexual in any way.

I think that there must be some forced fairness during the halftime shows, if they ladies can show their god's creations, the men should be forced to drop trou for some "equal rights" entertainment.

Secondly, since it's just absurd that anyone is allowed to make money, obviously the NFL should feed and house the homeless and put their take into the federal deficit.

Why should all those companies that pay all that money for advertising be allowed to run amock and step all over the citizenry to make that money in first place? That money should be funnelled directly into the DNC and to save the wilderness, if there's anything left over, it goes directly to Dean for revival purposes. Actually, if there's anything left over, the dums need it for "reprogramming" the masses who don't have as much imagination as all us political insiders.
Is a meant to be a self-deprecating post?Spoiler
Feb 2, 2004 12:09 PM
I don't want to go off and treat this incoherance seriously, only to find out you intentionally penned a irrelevant political rant, playing off of your past obsession with Clinton and the evils of liberals.
But if this post was an attempt to introduce any serious connections, I have to ask what any of this has to do with the prices of oranges in A$$hole, Indiana?
ignoreSpoiler
Feb 2, 2004 12:11 PM
edit
Is a meant to be a self-deprecating post?Spoiler
Feb 2, 2004 12:11 PM
I don't want to go off and treat this seriously, only to find out you intentionally penned a irrelevant political rant, playing off of past obsessiond with Clinton and the evils of liberals.
But if this post was an attempt to introduce any serious connections, I have to ask what any of this has to do with the prices of oranges in A$$hole, Indiana?
The ravages of inhalants too early too often. nmBottomBracketShell
Feb 2, 2004 12:29 PM
It's all a GOP conspiracySpecialTater
Feb 2, 2004 12:15 PM
secondhand per the democraticunderground:

"My take on a white man tearing clothes off a black woman on CB$ ........sexual violence and control. The underlying factor that promotes the Family Values bunch who control the White House and are it's base constituents.
The idea of a white male having access to violently tearing clothes off of a black woman as property is what the Dixiecrats who vote for bUsh want . They hate women, they hate black folks, and the whole constituency of ignorant chest thumping white males in the Super Bowl audience, combined with the smug a$$hole CEOs who run CB$ is exactly what they wanted to do. They got their ratings for it, and they will get the Superbowl idiots to clamour for more sexual assaults against women, combined with racism.
If it had been a white woman and a black man, they wouldnt have gotten the ratings.
Strom Thurmond men vote for bUsh. Those are the men the CEOs and CB$ executives were trying to reach.
Thats the party of Family F*cking Values, folks. CB$ donates to the GOP , and they get what they want.
Racism, sexual assaults on women, and the whole 9 yards. thats what many morons who watch the Superbowl want. Misogyny, assault , and racism. THOSE are the values of the GOP."

Or either it's an SNL script about it.
Hey, this is opposites day!BottomBracketShell
Feb 2, 2004 12:33 PM
You're not supposed to tell the truth!