RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Trains(24 posts)

Trainsmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:31 PM
First shot at Travel Town.
Pink dining carmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:33 PM
I'm not sure this was the original color. It looks a bit faded.
Mmmmmmm--a minor quibble (or two...)The Walrus
Feb 1, 2004 4:11 PM
Unless I'm totally missing something, that's a Pacific Electric Red Car, of the class informally known as "blimps", built by either Pullman or American Car & Foundry before WWI. SP ran 'em in interurban service in the Bay Area before they were put in service in the shipyards down around Wilmington during WWII, and then Pacific Electric bought them and operated them until about 1961. The biggest tipoff is the round windows on the end of the car.

...and if I can ever connect to the freakin' server to upload a photo for comparison, I will.

Always cool to hear of a father that takes his kids to check out the trains--yer a good dad! (If you're ever out around Riverside, take 'em to the Orange Empire Railway Museum in Perris; they can ride some of the real trains and streetcars...)
You're probably rightmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 4:36 PM
I didn't read the description on this one.

As far as riding the trains goes, my dad just retired from the UP (actually SP most of his life) about three weeks ago. I can probably still get the kids on a freight for a ride with his old crew. I think my kids have railroading in their blood, with a grandfather, two great-grandfathers, a great-great-grandfather, and an uncle in the business at one time or another. They do love the trains. I'll have to get them out to Perris one day soon. Maybe I'll take them to the museum while my wife visits the in-laws. ;-)
Baby's Got Backmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:34 PM
Caboose
Ain't it cute?mickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:35 PM
A little SP yard engine.
I'm #1mickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:36 PM
Steam locomotive.
Old SP locomotivemickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:38 PM
And a narrative on #3025mickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:39 PM
One last locomotivemickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:40 PM
but it's a colorful locomotive.
The Little Generalmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:41 PM
And the model trainsmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:42 PM
More little onesmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:43 PM
The little train that circles Travel Townmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:45 PM
Live Steamersmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 1:46 PM
Self-explanatory sign.
Dieselmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:02 PM
UP Los Angelesmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:03 PM
We took a couple of rides. Unfortunately, they don't allow picture-taking from the trains.
I'm the train they call the City of Los Angelesmickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:05 PM
Well, it doesn't have quite the same ring as the City of New Orleans.
Smilemickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:06 PM
All this makes for one happy girl.
And one happy boymickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:07 PM
and a tired dad. The end.
Oh, and one last thing:mickey-mac
Feb 1, 2004 2:16 PM
the worst advice I've ever received from a boxcar.
Oh, and one last thing:rwbadley
Feb 2, 2004 7:31 AM
Looks like fun! Good to get out with the kids on a nice day.

Steam might know the meaning of your 'do not hump' signage. I thought it had something to do with piggy backing cars... at one time I knew, but it seems I've forgot the exact meaning.
DO NOT HUMP!Live Steam
Feb 2, 2004 9:13 AM
Why not? My definition as it reads in a model train collectors journal I published - Hump Yard - A classification or marshalling yard with an artificial mound or hump over which rail cars are propelled and gravitate to the correct siding and position in the yard. This method is used to sort freight cars and assemble them into consists bound for unique and different destinations.

The aerial photograph is of the Norfolk & Southern's hump yard (also know as a gravity yard or classification yard) in Bellevue, Ohio.

A yardmaster sits in a control tower and sorts freight cars. A car is pushed up the hump by a yard engine and it then proceeds down the opposite side of the hump using gravity as it's power. The yardmaster selects the location where the car is to be placed by using levers as seen in the pic (see link) to switch it to the correct track location. Hump tracks have retarders placed strategically along their length to control the speed of the free falling freight car. Some freight is too fragile to be handled in this manner and some freight is too heavy to be handled in this manner. A really heavy load cannot be controlled well and may damage other freight or cars as it slams into them. Thus, "DO NOT HUMP" is painted on the ends of the car to alert yard workers to not handle that particular car in the manner described above.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Coltontower.jpg

This pic is a good example of a hump yard "ladder" in Galesburg, IL. Each one of those sidings (tracks) are probably a consist (train) destined for a different destination. http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/20030726pic004.jpg

Hey Mickey, thanks for sharing the pics. Trains have a magical way of putting smiles on kids faces - big kids too! :O)
Additional infoLive Steam
Feb 2, 2004 9:36 AM
The term used for sorting freight cars in the manner described is known as "shunting" not "humping" :O)

A modern day classification yard control tower looks more like the one in the link. Everything is computerized and electronically controlled. The control levers have been replaced by buttons on a control board.
http://www.uprr.com/aboutup/photos/employeegroups/graphics/30-118.jpg This one is even outdated as the pick is from 1965.