RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


i was in the belly of the beast today(10 posts)

i was in the belly of the beast todayrufus
Jan 27, 2004 11:41 PM
decided to trek down to manchester to see the political process and the media circus in action. hobnobbing with the liberal media elite such as james carville, paul bergala, eleanor clift, al hunt, carl quintinilla, tucker carlson and robert novak; these were just the folks i recognized. also probably hundreds of Old Ed types milling about for their various candidates.

was present at the broadcast of today's Crossfire episode, although i missed bob novak's physical assault on a heckler cause i stayed inside a few minutes longer chatting about john kerry's celeb hockey game with tucker carlson. seems some middle-aged gent chanted "traiter" at bush water-carrier bob, and he took offense to that and tried putting him upside the wall. as despicable as that act was, it at least shows that old and decrepit bob still has more stones than young tucker ever will.

spent a bit of time at the kerry gathering, but left for the dean thing before he made it down to speak. and a bit of an interesting revelation about these two groups. kerry supporters looked a bit upscale, dressed up like they were out for dinner on the town. kinda upscale boston society types. anyone that knows new hampshire knows that it's really two states: manchester and south might as well be boston suburbia, while north you get traditional new england outdoorsmen types, more like maine or vermont. dean supporters on the other hand looked like the people i see every day in my town and neighborhood, regular, everyday working folk.

another note. dean campaigners played better music, and the women supporters, and even press, were better looking. dont know why that is, but it just was. and really, i was actually very impressed with the governor's speech. i saw clark the night before in my hometown, and he hit all the salient points, but just seemed to be a bit ho-hum. dean had the fire and the passion, and the message.
Hell, this is almost as good as an MB1 ride report! nmOldEdScott
Jan 28, 2004 5:40 AM
Kerry supporters vs. Dean supportersTJeanloz
Jan 28, 2004 6:00 AM
The crowds probably looked different because they were. New Hampshire is close enough that most of Kerry's core Massachusetts supporters would drive up there for him, and Dean's Vermont-base would drive over for him. So Dean's camp naturally looks more "Vermontish", because they actually are, and Kerry's camp looks more "Massachusettsish" because they actually are.
it did appear....rufus
Jan 28, 2004 7:24 AM
that a lot of the folk waiting at the kerry thing were big cheeses in the democratic establishment, either in new hampshire or from massachusetts. so it maybe was not just that they were from mass., but they were career political establishment types as well.
What was your opinion on what Al Franken did ...HouseMoney
Jan 28, 2004 9:21 AM
" ... and he took offense to that and tried putting him upside the wall. as despicable as that act was, ... "

On Monday, Al Franken tackled and body-slammed a heckler at a Dean rally. (Granted, he was a Lyndon LaRouche supporter so I actually give Franken his props.)

I just wanted to know if you're being consistent in your opinion on what constitutes "despicable" behavior.
don't like it.rufus
Jan 28, 2004 10:27 AM
don't like when bush admin and local law enforcement only allow protests at "a specifically designated area" which is usually blocks away from the actual event, and neither the candidate nor the public sees it, or even hears much about it.

I believe in the people's right to speak up and not be silenced, not confined to fringe locations, and not silenced by heavy handed campaign handler or police action. i don't even really like having them immediately hauled off by security as "disruptive", they should be able to say their piece, and then if they continue to interrupt, asked to leave the premises, by escort if necessary.

but that's just me.
Just so long as you are consistent.czardonic
Jan 28, 2004 11:17 AM
Consistency is very important.
yes. i wouldn't want to propose something likerufus
Jan 28, 2004 12:04 PM
a Clear Skies initiative that in effect allows more pollutants to be expelled into the atmosphere, or propose logging our old growth forests to protect them from being destroyed by fire. ;)
I guess Hillary's protesters should consider themselves lucky ..HouseMoney
Jan 28, 2004 1:37 PM
since they were only forced to be across the street, not blocks away.

I'm referring to a book signing HRC did in Martha's Vineyard this past summer. I was ... ahem ... lucky enough to be vacationing up there at the same time.

Had better things to do than stand in the hot sun along with the pro/anti-Hillary crowd. Idiots were blocking the sidewalk!
Consistency.czardonic
Jan 28, 2004 1:40 PM
Across the street. Blocks away out of sight and earshot. Is there really a difference? Isn't the real issue that protesters are relegated to protest areas by all parties?