RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


The Kids Are Alright: "I don't mind..."(26 posts)

The Kids Are Alright: "I don't mind..."Dale Brigham
Jan 26, 2004 10:38 AM
"...another guy dancing with my girl."

I spent Friday night reliving my faded youth, watching the documentary on THE WHO, titled The Kids Are Alright. Other than driving my wife and the cats into the basement with my off-key sing-along and Townsend-like jumpin' about, fueled by Beam on ice ("I remember throwin' punches around and preachin' from my chair"), I had a transcendent time watching the movie. I only saw the band once, in Houston in '75, but that was enough. Best bleedin' band in the world, IMHO.

Dale

"It's not people just saying, 'You'll disappoint your fans if you don't go on....the show must go on; you must go on otherwise all those people will be so upset.' It's, 'You've gotta go on, man! Otherwise, all those kids, they'll be finished! They'll have nothing to live for!' That's rock and roll."
- Pete Townshend
Have you ever seen "Don't look back"?CARBON110
Jan 26, 2004 10:53 AM
""You must leave now, take what you need, you think will last.
But whatever you wish to keep, you better grab it fast.

The highway is for gamblers, better use your sense.
Take what you have gathered from coincidence

Leave your stepping stones behind, something calls for you.
Forget the dead you've left, they will not follow you.
The vagabond who's rapping at your door
Is standing in the clothes that you once wore""

Now that is, well spectacular!

Dylan at his best. There is a scene where Bob is having a party in his apartment and some guy throws a bottle out the window and an argument insues between Bob and the guy. The guy says " hey man I am just a little voice and your just some big voice is that it?" and Bob says-" yeah man you are a little voice, because you are what you say you are"
I'm not cerebral enough for Bob Zimmerman (AKA Dylan).Dale Brigham
Jan 26, 2004 11:17 AM
I have great respect and admiration for Bob Dylan, but he just does not float my boat. I have a visceral attraction to some artists that has little or nothing to do with instrumental prowess or erudite lyrics (please see Robert Pollard's [Guided By Voices] semi-sensical ramblings). I guess, to me, if I like it, it RAWKS.

But, I'd love to see that movie, along with several other rock-umentaries. Now, I finally have a reason to buy a DVD player.

Dale
ahah that's ok my free-wheeln brothaCARBON110
Jan 26, 2004 11:52 AM
perhaps you just havent had the right exposure. I could make you a great CD giving you the correct experience if you like =)

I have seen him about 7 or 8 times now. Not all of them good but some really terrific shows. My broken leg got me front row seats this last time =D and as I was crutching out of the auditorium some woman came over to me as I was fighting my way up the stairs and ramps and said " I admire you coming out with that cast on, I did the same thing last year when I saw Bob on my birthday with a broken leg""

I said yes but I didn't experience much of the 70s and none of the sixties so I don't have any excuse LOL ! just kidn It was awefully painful since it wasnt long after the accident though

Word has it that Zimmerman is writing his own autobio right now, by himself! True to the point though, if you don't like it you don't like it. But more then I would like to admit I have re-listened to some music I hated and loved it in the end.
Zimmerman is over-rated (duck!)128
Jan 26, 2004 12:14 PM
I get stuff thrown at my head whenever I say that around old hippies. But it's insincere b/c I think it's a sixties thing, he was like their political troubador. Unfair to under rate context driven things in retrospect.



Dylan is actually dead for all practical purposes and is now played in real life by Tom Petty.
on what level?mohair_chair
Jan 26, 2004 12:43 PM
I think he has a terrible voice, although sometimes it works with the song. He's not a great player, either. But as a songwriter, he has few equals. It's hard to name anyone who wrote as much great stuff as he did in the 1960s and early 1970s.

Personally, I think Springsteen took over from Dylan. Petty has a lot of really great stuff, but it's still a level below.

Starry-eyed an' laughing as I recall when we were caught
Trapped by no track of hours for they hanged suspended
As we listened one last time an' we watched with one last look
Spellbound an' swallowed 'til the tolling ended
Tolling for the aching ones whose wounds cannot be nursed
For the countless confused, accused, misused, strung-out ones an' worse
An' for every hung-up person in the whole wide universe
An' we gazed upon the chimes of freedom flashing.
agreeColnagoFE
Jan 26, 2004 1:55 PM
I can see how people don't like the voice and technically he isn't all that, but as a poet and songwriter he is amazing--to me anyway.
The only real poet that came out of rock. nmOldEdScott
Jan 26, 2004 5:35 PM
cultural impact, social commentary in song, poetics128
Jan 27, 2004 6:32 AM
Basically 'overrated' is just imho, Dylan cannot sincerely be overrated, he's too important to the 60's movement and development of pop music(politics in song). I can't criticize what I don't know, not my style of music really.

Jazz, blues and R&R are the social commentary I more relate to. A white folky guy who seems to not celebrate (hide?) his Jewishness strikes me as disingenuous. But that is just my 'raced' opinion growing up with strong bi-racial influences where identifying with ones race was the deal, and impossible to dissociate. And he has what seems to me like a contrived 'badass' (difficult guy) persona. James Brown, Sly Stone, Marvin Gaye, Marley and Funkadelic Iggy Pop Patty Smith and Sabbath etc are more my kind of touchstones for political music.

Some 60's types perpetuate BD's relevence beyond the 60's context. He changed, but their opinion of his immediate cultural relevance remains fixed. And because of the hippies need to keep him fixed resulted in some later works being underrated.

His writing is fine no doubt, but I prefer the simpler blues form which leaves so little to hide behind. I do like the jangly, rambling epic nature of his balladering setting up the LA/SF folk rock movement.
you're crazyColnagoFE
Jan 26, 2004 1:50 PM
petty isn't worthy to lick dylan's boots. have you heard any of dylan's recent stuff? i think he's still got it--assuming you thought he ever had it. some people can't get past his voice.
The Portrait of Dorian Petty128
Jan 27, 2004 6:41 AM
Petty's vocal inflection and tone is more and more Dylanesque It's a joke. Listen to Petty, tell me he isn't sounding more like Dylan used to sound. As Dylan decomposes before our eyes, Petty is actually becoming...Dylan.

I agree that Petty is far from Dylan overall, but I really like the first two heartbreakers records.
It's amazing. Almost a parody or joke.OldEdScott
Jan 27, 2004 6:55 AM
I mean, it sounds pretty good, but wouldn't you think an artist of his calibre would want to be ... himself?
That's a great DVDColnagoFE
Jan 26, 2004 11:11 AM
got it for xmas. Have seem it a few times now. Some great performances captured there. Good one to play loud and scare the neighbors. Love the way they start the FBI warrning with the guitar smashing through the screen and Towshend screaming.
Maximum R&B. nm128
Jan 26, 2004 11:28 AM
Got the poster as a Xmas gift.Dale Brigham
Jan 26, 2004 12:14 PM
One of the cyclists I coach kindly gave me the famous black-and-white "Maximum R&B" WHO poster as a gift. Seems that my advice to steep himself into a thundering pool of "Live at Leeds" helped him get over a mild case of "The Young Man Blues." I gotta' get it framed.

Dale
"Nothing beats a great pair of legs"128
Jan 26, 2004 12:32 PM
and that poster are the gold standard for truth in advertising. I like your coaching style!
I have it on vinylgtx
Jan 26, 2004 11:30 AM
but I can barely remember the movie. Quadrophenia was the big movie of my high school years. I could never really stomach Tommy.
Cats and now this?Live Steam
Jan 26, 2004 11:37 AM
I knew we had more in common! Oh so we differ in our politics :O)

THE WHO baby!!!! Now that is my youth!!! The wife's not home now so I can blast some Quadrophenia!! Whoohoo!!!!

Townshend is the master! I saw them all five night at the Garden in '79 and both nights at Giant's Stdium in '89. Some of the best shows ever. I had a teacher in junior high school that made us read Tommy and listen to the album. Now that was a cool teacher! That's my band! I have Quadrophenia on DVD. I think it's gonna get some playing time this week :O)
We're bro's, Steam! Come on over; we'll crank it up to 11! nmDale Brigham
Jan 26, 2004 11:53 AM
We'll toast a cold one to ..Live Steam
Jan 26, 2004 12:31 PM
Keith and John! Keith I sort of understood as he was young and wild as ever. John's death was a waste.

I am heading to the Garden for the Ranger's game and will be cranking some Happy Jack on the stereo! Here's to odds and sods buddy!
Little known factLO McDuff
Jan 26, 2004 1:59 PM
When the two songs Baba O'Reilly and Won't Get Fooled Again were filmed for "The Kids...", Keith Moon was so far gone they had to overdub for the movie and soundtrack. Kudos for John Entwistle for being the only bass player able to play with Keith.
did you noticeColnagoFE
Jan 26, 2004 2:37 PM
how in Baba O'Reilly Keith had his headphones taped to his head with gaffers tape? I bet that was painful to get off...though he was probably so pickled he didn't notice by then. One hell of a drummer before he lost it to booze.
re: Quadraphenia is my favjrm
Jan 26, 2004 3:08 PM
And i've had enough is one of my fav songs.

You were under the impression
That when you were walking forward You'd end up further onward
But things ain't quite that simple.

You got altered information
You were told to not take chances
You missed out on new dances
Now you're losing all your dimples.

My jacket's gonna be cut and slim and checked,
Maybe a touch of seersucker, with an open neck.
I ride a g.s. scooter with my hair cut neat,
Wear my wartime coat in the wind and sleet.

Love Reign O'er Me.
Love reign o'er me.
Love Reign O'er Me.
Love reign o'er me.
Love.
Love.

I've had enough of living
I've had enough of dying
I've had enough of smiling
I've had enough of crying

I've taken all the high roads
I've squandered and i've saved
I've had enough of childhood
I've had enough of graves...

Get a job and fight to keep it,
Strike out to reach a mountain.
Be so nice on the outside
But inside keep ambition

Don't cry because you hunt them
Hurt them first they'll love you
There's a millionaire above you
And you're under his suspicion.

I've had enough of dancehalls
I've had enough of pills
I've had enough of streetfights
I've seen my share of kills
I'm finished with the fashions
And acting like i'm tough
I'm bored with hate and passion
I've had enough of trying to love.
HE'S A F*KKIN' BELLBOY! (nm)ColnagoFE
Jan 26, 2004 3:26 PM
agree. quadrophenia's the one. nmrufus
Jan 26, 2004 7:46 PM
Great Live band.........Len J
Jan 27, 2004 7:33 AM
One of my all time favorite albums is "Live at Leeds". I can't sit still when I hear the intro to "Magic Bus".

Thought they were a better live band than studio band.

Best Live act I've ever seen, bar none (& I've seen more than I care to relate) hands down is Springsteen. No performer, I've ever seen feeds and is fed by the crowd more. Definatly a case of 1 + 1 equaling more than 2.

Dylan's lyrics are amazing. I could read his songs anytime. He's an Icon, but, he can't sing. I can't get by his voice & his attitude enough to enjoy his concerts. But what a poet!

Len