RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Anyone watch West Wing last night?(14 posts)

Anyone watch West Wing last night?mohair_chair
Jan 8, 2004 9:00 AM
Can anyone tell me what the hell it was about?

Is it just me or was there no story line that made any sense? Lots of stuff was happening, but nothing really happened. I am totally confused.

That show has gone so far downhill I may have watched my last episode.
Gone to shyt since Sorkin quit writing it himself. nmOldEdScott
Jan 8, 2004 9:19 AM
Perhaps he needs to give his drugs to his new writers...No_sprint
Jan 8, 2004 9:32 AM
Narcotic rehab, mushrooms, pot, rock cocaine, arrest at an airport with drugs...
it was a little before thatmohair_chair
Jan 8, 2004 9:34 AM
My Tivo started recording the old episodes (the black and white ones :)) on Bravo, and the difference in quality really, really apparent. Even the final year or two of Sorkin was far below the level set in the first couple of seasons.
His ear for dialogue is uncanny.OldEdScott
Jan 8, 2004 9:40 AM
Remember Sports Night?
Sports Night was greatmohair_chair
Jan 8, 2004 10:11 AM
It was great until it got bogged down by the relationship stuff between one of the anchor guys (the guy now on six feet under) and the producer (felicity huffman). That was endless and got to be very uninteresting.

His dialog is great, but the knock against Sorkin is that all the characters tend to sound the same. Watch a couple of episodes back to back and you can detect the patterns very easily.
Formulaic writing...No_sprint
Jan 8, 2004 10:26 AM
If you've ever had the opportunity to snuggle up to those in the TV/movie/music world as closely as I have, you'll have a fine understanding of formulas.

It is indisputable that much of the amazing *ingenuity* within the business comes from a tried and true formula and not the bowels of stunning creativity.

One of my closest friends who lives in Nashville and is touring with 2 of the 5 top names in country music as we speak must attend *writing appointments* where groups of writers get together with an artist/artists to hammer out a tune within the hour, before they split off and move to their next appointments. It was no different when I used to work for a soap writer ages ago.

You'd be amazed at what Abba did to the music world...
I'd say it was actually an improvement...TJeanloz
Jan 8, 2004 9:27 AM
It at least dealt with issues other than a kidnapping or some personal Bartlett tragedy.

I think they've gone to a model of longer-term plots - plots that take the entire season to completely unfold, rather than quick, single show problem/resolution sets. I think last night really just laid the groundwork for future plot lines.

Generally, last night had no plot. It did have some messages though. It showed the importance, and ability of the politicians to get together and be cordial, though they didn't agree on much. It showed that Goodman and Sheen's characters can be personally friends while being politically divided. There was more overarching message than shoot-em-up plot.
Missed the first 20 minutes.128
Jan 8, 2004 9:43 AM
Maybe their halting 'pith', has got, umm, you know, the better of them? Can those people be anymore la-conic? It's like a roomful of Batmans and Capt.s Kirk.

I think the last 40 min were about how the Republicans were right after all ("We must build the 'Starship Colonize'Look what a mess theose Brits left on the Arabian peninsula"), and Mr. President, not so much laconically but elegantly, has to express as much in esoteric, historical eloqutions. Then at just the right moment, the archtypical weird techy pops into the White House and a small pug is verbally abused by an overblown impish oaf.

What I want to know is, does the White House really have overhead spot lighting every 15 feet?
No. I watched an accused rapist play basketballmoneyman
Jan 8, 2004 10:04 AM
The Lakers were visiting Denver. The Nuggets crushed the Lakers and Kobe scored 27.

I have NEVER seen The West Wing. My college-going daughter loves it, but I am no fan of TV drama. It was more fun to hear the accused rapist get "booed" every time he touched the ball.

$$
i watched it....landru
Jan 8, 2004 10:15 AM
and it seemed to be pointless. When it was over, I said to my wife, uh....that went no where.
There was no plot?czardonic
Jan 8, 2004 11:05 AM
  • A former President dies, giving Bartlett occasion to ruminate on the ideology that may split Presidents and the common experience that binds them.
  • Things seem to be coming to a head for an unstable and problematic ally. Treasured concepts about liberty and self-determination are examined. Stay tuned for an allegorical examination of our real life designs on the Middle East.
  • didn't say thatmohair_chair
    Jan 8, 2004 11:29 AM
    I never mentioned plot. I said there was no story line that made any sense. There were multiple story lines and none of them came to any reasonable conclusion. That's fine for a serial program, but for serials to work, they have to build anticipation for the next show, so people will tune in. Last night, the show just ended, as if they lost track of time and the clock ran down. That's really pathetic for a show with a long history of quality.

    Maybe they tried to do an existential story where it's all middle and there is no beginning or end. If so, they have to take the leap and NOT cop out and put in a beginning. Doing that and purposely omitting the end for every story line is just confusing and frustrating. I didn't see anything that would make me tune in next week to see what happens.

    Typically there's at least one self-contained story during the episode. Last night there were none.

    Go back and watch the old episodes. Most had long term. multi-episode story lines, but each episode could also stand on its own. Last night's episode does not fall into that category.
    My mistake.czardonic
    Jan 8, 2004 11:44 AM
    I only watch the show occasionally, but none of the episodes I have seen had much stand alone appeal.