RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Hot Rod unveils 2005 Mustang(20 posts)

Hot Rod unveils 2005 Mustanggtx
Dec 22, 2003 2:56 PM
This issue won't hit the newstands til early-mid January but of course someone already got a hold of it and scanned it in. Ford will "officially" unveil the car Jan 4 at the Detroit Auto show.

http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr1.jpg
http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr2.jpg
http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr3.jpg
http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr4.jpg
http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr5.jpg
http://beacon-designs.com/fileupload/mustang/hr6.jpg
so what's it do in a quarter? nmDougSloan
Dec 22, 2003 3:01 PM
high 13s? nmgtx
Dec 22, 2003 3:11 PM
315 ft-lbs and 3500 # curb weight, good guess! (nm)53T
Dec 22, 2003 5:54 PM
http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/4601/hpcalc.html
With a truckload of 14s in there.No_sprint
Dec 23, 2003 8:22 AM
I'm runnin' significantly more HP and torque with the same body weight and can still run in the 13s if I've got a headwind and a bad start.

I see pony and laugh unless it's got Roush stage 3 and then some. :)
Not for lack of HP, it's just that cars are pigs these days...shawndoggy
Dec 23, 2003 9:28 AM
power everything, AC, NAV, leather, stereo, heated seats, etc., etc., they all add up to make a car sloooooooow. 3500 lb curb weight? For goodness sake! Look at what the Lotus Elise can do with 110 cubic inches of Toyota Celica motor (180 HP):

Manufacturer's performance ratings:
Zero to 60 mph: 4.9 sec
Zero to 100 mph: 12.6 sec
Top speed (drag limited): 141 mph

'course that's with a curb weight of 2000 lbs.
http://www.caranddriver.com/article.asp?section_id=19&article_id=7371&page_number=1
Indeed!No_sprint
Dec 23, 2003 9:34 AM
Furthermore, Mustangs have never been aerodynamic, this one's no different.
watch out for Hummers!gtx
Dec 23, 2003 10:03 AM
The Elise is cool but I wouldn't consider a low, lightweight sport car these days--they're invisible to SUVs, which will roll right over them. I have a friend with an RX-7 who was backed over twice in parking lots by SUVs. The Boxster would be about the smallest thing I'd consider, but I think I'll still rather have a 3500+ pound big block muscle car.
Speaking of Hummers...No_sprint
Dec 23, 2003 10:16 AM
I like them lots. The vehicle is cool too. I wasn't a fan and still have no interest in owning one, however, after riding and driving one, it becomes apparent that it really is a special vehicle. The H2 I mean. The Hummer haters might dislike what they symbolize, however, it's tough not to like what it is after driving and riding. It is top notch at being what it is.
Speaking of Hummers...gtx
Dec 23, 2003 11:35 AM
Ain't it just a Suburban dressed up like a Tonka Truck? If I wanted a big SUV for going off road it would be a Toyota Landcruiser.
Target driverfiltersweep
Dec 24, 2003 2:42 AM
But I`m still guessing their target buyer is a young, single female, from what I see driving a Mustang.

The trouble with this car is you can buy an entry level model that looks identical for about half (OK, a slight exaggeration) of the loaded `performance` package, which in my opinion, devalues the car.

Frankly, I wonder, if they were ever `cool.` Back in the day, a Mustang was simply a small car with a huge engine. Today, most Àmerican `sports cars` seem rather unrefined compared to foreign offerings these days.
too much 73 mach, not enough 66 fastback.dr hoo
Dec 22, 2003 3:15 PM
Not that I would throw one out of my garage! But....

Mmmmmmmmm, 66 shelby!
Not too bad53T
Dec 22, 2003 5:48 PM
Sure beats the 2003 model. The four headlamp (1970?) configuration has always been my favorite. You are correct that the back window is pure Mach 1 fastback, the tailamps are too much like a Mustang II.
Mustang IIdr hoo
Dec 23, 2003 9:36 AM
I had a friend in high school who was one of those rare people who can fix anything. Cars, TVs, you name it he could open it up and make it work. Until he broke it that is.

He took a mustang II hatchback, pulled the engine out, and somehow stuffed a 302 into it. It fit with about 1/4 inch to spare. Same transmission, same differential, wider tires. That was a QUICK car. Insanely quick. But it topped out at 95.

He also liked to drive on twisty dirt roads at night with his lights off. Ah, we had many a running bottle rocket battle back in the day in that car. Good times.
Lots of retro cuescmgauch
Dec 23, 2003 8:33 AM
I wonder what kind of bike rack you'd put on it?

Nice car, in the vein of "car as a toy". I'm only allowed one at this stage in the game, so I'll stick with my old 428 Cougar.

So, No sprint, gtx (anybody else?) - when (and where) should we do the RBR vintage drag race thing?
Lots of retro cuesNo_sprint
Dec 23, 2003 8:43 AM
That sounds like fun. I've got no more vintage in me though. I sold a couple old friends. My bored, stroked, and everything else 70 1/2 split bumper SS is long gone now.

I am up for racin' though! Though I wouldn't suggest you put that 428 Cougar pink slip up unless she's "special". :)
no pink slips for me...cmgauch
Dec 23, 2003 9:39 AM
...not good to bet if I can't afford to loose.

I'm just finishing up a stock restoration (too rare to modify) of an original, loaded convertible: A/C, leather, automatic. The thing must weight at least 3700 lbs.

We could bracket race though. I think I'd also do OK in the burnout contest.
Lots of retro cuesgtx
Dec 23, 2003 9:08 AM
Well I have a somewhat tired but nicely moded 361 (4bbl carb, headers), but the 273 gears aren't exactly ideal for drag racing. Sounds great with the Flowmasters and pulls nicely on the freeway, though. I'll get back to you after I drop in the crate Hemi and 355 gears. ;)
Bracket racing, for surecmgauch
Dec 23, 2003 10:57 AM
This way RBRers can bring whatever they drive.

Don't worry about your 2:73s, and neither of us will have to worry about No sprint's 13 second 1/4s.

This way it's all about reaction time, consistency & above all, fun.
Bracket racing, for sure4bykn
Dec 24, 2003 6:02 AM
Bracket racing, I can see it now. Somebody on a Colnago C50 with full Record waiting for his green light while his (or her) opponent heads down track on his (or her) fixie.

Oops, sorry, I forgot this was the non-cycling forum.

I love hearing about all of your muscle cars, having never owned one I have to live vicariously through you guys

Ride in Peace...Mike