RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


HDTV gurus, if there are any of you out there...(16 posts)

HDTV gurus, if there are any of you out there...No_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 8:50 AM
I'm considering going HDTV. I'll need a new receiver to work with my Dish system, it's a lot cheaper than I expected, the additional fee/mo. is WAY cheaper than I expected, that simply leaves a new TV. My theater is routed through a Sony STR DE975 w/component ins and outs so I don't expect trouble there. Is there any reason to think otherwise?

My main question, can I put the HD receiver inline with my PVR/receiver and use my digi recorder to record HD or will I need a switch to go back and forth? Second, a standard off air antenna is required to get the network's HD broadcasts. Does anyone have a recommendation for this antenna? Which one? I assume I'll need another switch, maybe not? where and how do I hook this up? Antenna in on the receiver? TV? Any help is appreciated. Are we talking anything special for this antenna?

Thanks.
you gonna challenge me to a fight again? - nmMJ
Dec 19, 2003 8:57 AM
who said fight? Not me. nmNo_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 9:03 AM
Eunuch. nmNo_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 9:04 AM
HEHEHEMJ
Dec 19, 2003 9:07 AM
now you're sure to get lots of help from other posters - keep it up

so you're not gonna challenge me to a fight?
You're still obsessed with me. nmNo_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 10:18 AM
have you asked in Audioreview.com?Spoiler
Dec 19, 2003 11:32 AM
You probably get more legitimate responses there. People here only care about tv during racing season.
have you asked in Audioreview.com?No_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 1:21 PM
Thanks, they're very specific questions too, things I didn't think of asking when talking to the techies first time around. I've already got answers to some of them.

I want to see MNF and CSI and some other stuff in HD. I didn't realize how many HD only channels there were too. ESPN HD, etc...

Pretty cool considering that an HD tv isn't too much more than a regular one these days.
ESPN HDSpecialTater
Dec 19, 2003 1:43 PM
isn't apparently 100% HD. If I heard correctly, only a few shows are HD and the rest of the programming on the HD channel is stretched for the format. This is what I heard second hand so don't trust me with out double checking.
You're rightNo_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 1:54 PM
None of the in studio stuff or lumberjacking, etc. I think most of the bowls they're broadcasting this year are HD.
butbill105
Dec 19, 2003 1:54 PM
i think all channels have to be hd by 2006. depending on which tv you buy the pictures are still great and dvds are much much better. but oln still looks like crap where we live.
re: DVDs viewed through HD resolution...No_sprint
Dec 19, 2003 2:38 PM
Wow! That is definitely where the difference is greatest.
wrong.dr hoo
Dec 19, 2003 3:22 PM
DVDs do not have HD levels of resolution.

If you have a progressive scan DVD player, you can get a crisper image, but not HD level. The "next" generation of player will have the HD level of resolution. It is called, iirc, HD-DVD. Blue laser vs. red I think.

Ooops, looks like things are happening faster than I thought. You CAN get HD on DVD. T2. It ain't easy or really "commercial" yet though.

http://www.manifest-tech.com/media_dvd/hd_dvd.htm
Right, you're wrong.No_sprint
Dec 22, 2003 7:35 AM
I didn't mention that it's not avail. on many. I saw it on an industry person's ridiculous setup.
wrong.dr hoo
Dec 19, 2003 3:10 PM
All broadcasts have to be DIGITAL by 2006. No more Analog signals. Digital signals may or may not be HD level.
I've received all the answers.No_sprint
Dec 22, 2003 12:59 PM
Thanks. I won't pull the trigger immediately. There are a couple of issues I'd like to see smoothed out before I do.