RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


ok, kids, let's play nice(28 posts)

ok, kids, let's play niceDougSloan
Dec 11, 2003 8:20 AM
Please stop the personal attacks, baiting, trolling on a personal level, name calling, vulgar/obscene language, etc. I really don't want to have to stop the car and come back there. Most people here do not want to read all that crap, and I don't want to have to intervene. Let's keep it respectful and civil. If you have a gripe with the way the moderation is taking place, please email me, Gregg, or post in Site Suggestions.

The goal here is to moderate with absolute minimal intervention. Some messages are obviously not permitted, and some are marginal, and will be addressed only if people complain.

Please re-read Terms of Use and Forum Guidelines if you have any questions.

http://www.consumerreview.com/terms.html

Terms of Use

ConsumerREVIEW.com strives to provide a product research resource and Web community of the highest quality and integrity. We encourage open, honest and respectful communication between all of our members. Our community guidelines are based upon these basic values:

We believe everyone has something to contribute

We believe that an open, honest and respectful environment can generate stimulating discussion and valuable contributions from all of our members

A healthy community has room for and encourages participation from everyone, regardless of their age, background or level of expertise

We do not and cannot review all content posted by viewers on the Web site, and we are not responsible for such content. However, we do reserve the right to delete or edit any reviews or other postings that are not, in our sole discretion, in the spirit of these basic values. We will monitor posting activity of anyone who violates the following guidelines and, if necessary, restrict their ability to post reviews or messages on the site.

General Guidelines

No insults or personal attacks

No profanity or obscene language

Debate - yes! Arguments or "flame wars" - no!

Post solicitations to buy or sell products only in the "Marketplace" section

Review Guidelines

Do not post a product review unless you own or have used the product

Post only one review for each product. Multiple posts for the same product are acceptable if new information is provided

To ensure high quality, useful reviews, please explain in detail your experience with the product. What did you like or dislike about the product and why? Reviews should be a minimum of 50 words

Outrageous or suspicious reviews may be verified by email

Employees of manufacturers (and their relatives) are not allowed to post reviews for their company's products or for competitors' products

License Grant
By contributing or submitting product reviews, message board postings, product photographs, or any other Content, you automatically grant (or warrant that the owner of such rights has expressly granted) us an irrevocable, royalty-free, transferable and worldwide right and license to use, copy, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from and sell and distribute such materials or incorporate such materials into any form, medium or technology without compensation to you. In addition, you warrant that all so-called moral rights in those materials have been waived. None of the materials shall be subject to any obligation of confidence on the part of ConsumerREVIEW.com.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/guidelinescrx.aspx

"RoadbikeREVIEW.com Message Board Posting Guidelines"

Our mission is to help cycling enthusiasts and foster a healthy community. The message boards are the core of our community. As a result, we would appreciate it if people read and abide by these guidelines.

The RoadbikeREVIEW staff monitors the message boards, removing inappropriate content. The purpose of these guidelines is to explain what kind of messages are "inappropriate," and therefore will be deleted. We are explaining these guidelines beforehand, so if a message is removed everyone will understand why it was removed. In general, we err on the side of leaving messages up. The entire site is premised on sharing product information, so as one might imagine we are strong proponents of free speech. That being said, here are some specific reasons why we remove certain messages:

The message insults or degrades another member of the community.
The message contains profanity, offensive language, or racial epithets.
The message is an advertisement or spam.
The message contains obscene or pornographic images/photos/text/videos.
The message promotes illegal activity (at our discretion).
In addition to #3 above, please do not post Classified Ads/Want Ads/Trade Ads in the message board forum. Please post these in our Classifieds Section.
In addition, as a courtesy to your fellow forum members, please follow these guidelines:

Do not post race spoilers in the General Forum
Do not post off-topic, socio-political posts in the General Forum (these should be posted in the Non-Cycling Discussion Forum)
Unfortunately we must reserve the right to remove messages. However, we truly love this community, so we will only remove any given message if we judge that it's in the best interest of the community. Please feel free to ask questions or direct comments to us.

Sincerely,

Gregg Kato, Site Manager

Many thanks to Doug Sloan for providing the Forum Pact, the original guidelines standard.
he hit me first (nm)bill105
Dec 11, 2003 8:38 AM
See? Bill's already started up again! (nm)Cory
Dec 11, 2003 8:44 AM
Ok, not a peep for 30 minutes. nmDougSloan
Dec 11, 2003 8:45 AM
re: ok, kids, let's play nicejtolleson
Dec 11, 2003 8:41 AM
Thanks Dougie! I've been a little scarce of late and thus feel very clueless about who is who (whom), who is fighting with who (whom), why people are mad at each other, and who is kidding (and who is not).

But I do know that one of the reasons I've grown weary of the "Love Forum" at Bicycling.com is that every discussion devolves into juvenile name calling and no real substance.

Shame to see any of it here.

Julie

(drawing invisible line down the middle of the car seat and telling siblings not to poke me).
IME, the best way to drive off pests is toOldEdScott
Dec 11, 2003 8:50 AM
absolutely refuse to acknowledge their existence. No matter what annoying thing they say, ignore 'em. The reason they're pests in the first place is they're desperate for attention; if you engage them, you're just feeding their compulsions and neuroses. Give them nothing but glacial silence and they'll eventually go away.

Of course, I make exception to that rule for Steam. Poor Steam has earned the right to be listened to, a little.
re: ok, kids, let's play niceMJ
Dec 11, 2003 8:52 AM
No_sprint "Where is the libby outrage?" 12/11/03 8:17am

is it ok that No Sprint keeps calling me a Eunuch or are you gonna say something? is this over the line? from the tone of your post it appears it is - are you gonna delete his posts or not?

or do you wanna delete this point I posted too?
LOL! Have some cheese too! nmNo_sprint
Dec 11, 2003 8:56 AM
as I said, just alert meDougSloan
Dec 11, 2003 8:56 AM
Gone. I've done every single thing you have requested. Right? Why the attitude?
as I said, just alert meNo_sprint
Dec 11, 2003 9:06 AM
Funny how he whines and cries about the situation he brought upon himself.
funnyMJ
Dec 11, 2003 9:48 AM
it seems to me that you were the only person to ever threaten anyone else here with violence and then duck out...
yep - fair comment - sorry - nmMJ
Dec 11, 2003 9:33 AM
Did he really hurt you?Spoiler
Dec 11, 2003 9:18 AM
Honestly. He doesn't know you well enough to hurt you. You don't know him well enough to hurt him. I agree with lots of your political views. But allowing yourself to be dragged down into this childness is embarrassing. If it was two rabit conservatives acting like this, I'd be silently, or not so silently, encouraging them to escalate the fight.

I'm not trying to come off as parental. I'm just trying to save face for us liberals.
Which ever one of you posts an apology to the other will be the winner.
Of course all of this is coming from the alpha smart-ass himself, but try to consider it nonetheless.
actuallyMJ
Dec 11, 2003 9:51 AM
it's been entertaining baiting for me

he keeps digging deeper holes for himself - jesus challenging someone to a fight on the net - how freaking stupid must he be?

anyways - when somebody does go down that route I don't think it's right to just ignore it - ultimately it's more than just the fight idiocy it's the general nastiness that needs to be addressed
you mean like this onebill105
Dec 11, 2003 10:00 AM
that you posted below to me earlier? no provocation, having a discussion then you launch into the "running your mouth" bit. look in a mirror.

Posted by: MJ
Dec-11-03, 08:49 AM


"not that again.."
and do you think that Halliburton's profits are going to be plowed back into reducing the record breaking deficit level or into profits?
hmmm I wonder

it's pretty self-evident - forbidding Euro companies from involvement in Iraqi reconstruction while asking those same countries for financial assistance with reconstruction isn't going to impress anyone - and certainly won't diminish the ever growing deficit

will it? do you have anything of substance to say or are you just running your mouth again?
anything to keep you on pointMJ
Dec 11, 2003 10:03 AM
insults related to your posts and general ignorance are warranted

you haven't addressed any of my points below - you make general assertions poorly - keep it up - you are making yourself out to be a world class idiot
anything to keep you on pointbill105
Dec 11, 2003 10:18 AM
i have addressed anything i think you might understand. i try to keep it simple but since its getting late over there i guess youre having a hard time with reason. your points are refuted, and very well so, by both myself and others and your general lack of dicipline and propensity to name call when challenged clearly illustrate your child like thinking. as far as your "threat" to vote in the next election, i bet thats a bluff and ruse to make your points here relevant, which they never were.
ironyDuane Gran
Dec 12, 2003 8:23 AM
Do you by chance see the irony that you refer to someone as stupid in a thread to remind people to keep a civil tone with one another?
we need a penalty box. (.....or maybe a stick.) nm128
Dec 12, 2003 9:15 AM
a penalty box would be greatDougSloan
Dec 12, 2003 10:06 AM
It would be nice if I could just hit a button and suspend somone's IP for a while. The way it works now, I either have to be attentative and draconian and keep deleting entire messages, or attempt to actually communicate and reason with people. A penalty box would be sooo easy... ;-)

Doug
My first thought was to tax the offenders128
Dec 12, 2003 10:39 AM
But the Libs liked the pain and the Cons wanted a credit for time served. Got complicated.
Let's celebrate RBR Festivus this year. Virtual Festivus.OldEdScott
Dec 12, 2003 11:12 AM
The 'Airing of Grievances' would be grand!
Let's do it! December 23rd will be RBR Festivus! Details?DougSloan
Dec 15, 2003 10:22 AM
"Festivus is a holiday held on 23 December of each year. It was created as a response to the commercialism of the other December holidays. Its slogan is "Festivus, a holiday for the rest of us".

The Festivus celebration includes three major components.

The Festivus Pole - display of an unadorned aluminum pole, apparently in opposition to the commercialization of the decorated Christmas trees.

The Airing of Grievances - where the celebrant tells their friends and family all of the instances where they disappointed the celebrant that year.

The Feats of Strength - where the head of the family tests their strength against one participant. Festivus is not considered over until the head of the family has been pinned. A participant is allowed to decline to attempt to pin the head of the family only if they have something better to do instead."
don't make me turn this car around.rufus
Dec 11, 2003 10:00 AM
cause i'll do it.
What is this Jerry Springer review?-nm-CARBON110
Dec 11, 2003 10:13 AM
What is this Jerry Springer review?-nm-bill105
Dec 11, 2003 10:20 AM
yeah, except the british carpetbagger episode with bad teeth and all
I reserve the right to totally disregard this thread.critmass
Dec 12, 2003 12:26 AM
No_Significance is a dolt.

The real cost of Dubya's lies:
538 grieving families
Total U.S. wounded: 2572
Christopher Wesley, 26, Portland Oregon,1st Bat., 23rd Inf. Reg., 3rd Brig., Hostile fire, 9 km NE of Balad.
Penalty box! Thanks for the reminders about the killers...No_sprint
Dec 15, 2003 7:45 AM
We'll get 'em.