RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Ed, did they show video of Arnold in the mall back there?(17 posts)

Ed, did they show video of Arnold in the mall back there?Cory
Dec 9, 2003 5:15 PM
They do have television in Kentucky, right?
KTVU in Oakland (across the bay from SF) has been following Arnold Schwarzenegger around for a few days. After the state lege turned down his bond issue, he took his act on the road to "go to the people." They shot him in a shopping mall in someplace like Tracy or Modesto (interchangeable Central Valley farm towns; doesn't matter), and it was eerily Hitlerian. Not the accent--I don't care about that. He was standing on a bench asking people to e-mail their representatives and demand that they support his $15 billion bond.
"Do you promise?" he'd shout.
"Yes!"
"Do you PROMISE?"
"YES!"
When it was over, the reporter polled half a dozen people and asked them if they knew who their representative was. Six out of six couldn't do it: "I dunno, but I'm going to find out and send him one of them e-mail things." The glory of an informed electorate....
I think Gary Condit is their representative (nm)Starliner
Dec 9, 2003 5:43 PM
how patheticmohair_chair
Dec 9, 2003 8:34 PM
So, let's say it was still Gov. Davis at the shopping mall. Or Bustamante. Or Huffington. Or Gary Coleman. Would you call them Hilterian (not a real word, by the way)? Would those people know who their representatives are?

What an idiotic parallel to make. It's not Arnold's fault they don't know. In fact, it seems like he inspired them to find out and maybe even get involved. You have to start somewhere. For some it was Kennedy. For some it was Reagan. For some it was Clinton. For these folks, it might be Arnold.

Also, do you think they polled only six randomly selected people and just happened to hit six of six? Aren't you in the press? You know better than that.
Ah...lest you forget, for some it was Adolph....nmbicyclerepairman
Dec 9, 2003 9:28 PM
"It's not Arnold's fault they don't know..."The Walrus
Dec 10, 2003 12:01 PM
...but it is
i their
fault--their laziness and lack of concern is what allowed the state government's problems to be perpetuated. No one seems to want to give up a couple of nights of "Friends" or Paris Hilton or monster truck rallies in order to acquire even some basic knowledge of the issues and candidates before an election, so they either don't vote at all or they send the same old clowns back for another term because the incumbents' names are the only ones on the ballot that they recognize. ...and these are the people who'll be whining the loudest about what lousy government we've got, and how taxes are too high and all the pols are crooks and the schools suck, blah blah blah. Who was it who said that people get the government they deserve?
True, not Arnold's, Davis's...No_sprint
Dec 10, 2003 12:13 PM
True enough so that a ton of people simply wanted Davis out and certainly didn't want the next clone (clown) in line.

Anyone but the std. politician. Regardless of what you think of the guy, whether or not you support him, he has rallied the people in unprecedented numbers.

It's hard to say things aren't looking up. Heck, even an empty office is better than one occupied by Grayout.
This bond issue business isOldEdScott
Dec 10, 2003 6:29 AM
becoming the new Republican tactic. After all the Krystallnacht (sp?) festivities last night, our own new Repub gov is buckling down to work today with a similar plan in mind. 'NO NEW TAXES -- much new borrowing.'

It's funny to see the Repubs become the party of fiscal irresponsibility, credit card mentality etc. when they actually get power and have to govern.
logical???PaulCL
Dec 10, 2003 6:54 AM
Let's think about this:

Arnold can either:
1. Raise taxes. California already had the highest tax rate in the country
2. Cut spending. If I read correctly, a large % of CA spending is on education. Serious spending cuts are not realistic
3. Borrow via the credit markets. With % rates at a 45 year low, borrowing makes fiscal sense. With the economy picking up (particularly the tech economy), the state should have no problem with the debt service. Even with CA's reduced debt rating, their average cost of money will probably be less than 4.5% - just a guess.

I don't think this is a Repub/Democrat thing - the guy is stuck between a rock and a hard place. The state needs to generate cash somehow. From what I understand, former Gov. Davis did a lot of cuts in spending or as much as a democrat could in a democratically controlled state.
Tracy, the tire fire capitol of the US?No_sprint
Dec 10, 2003 8:00 AM
What a nice place!
characteristic knee-jerk attack...DougSloan
Dec 10, 2003 8:09 AM
Cory, you are sooo biased against anyone right of Gore it's almost comical. As someone noted, that exact same footage could have been a Democrat, and if so, you'd be hailing it as a savvy political move. What, Democrats don't attempt to motivate the public? Democrats all know who their local representative is? Very biased.

Doug
I'm guessing 70% + don't know their representative (nm)ColnagoFE
Dec 10, 2003 8:44 AM
Aw, come on, Doug. You're not that stupid or you'd starveCory
Dec 10, 2003 9:26 AM
Read the thing again, or for the first time if necessary. I was talking about people's REACTION to Schwarzenegger, not about the gov.
He's got the worst political job in the country over the next couple of years, and I don't know how he's going to pull it off. I'm hoping he does, because a lot of my relatives still live there and I own property there. But he rode into office on a wave of induced hysteria, capitalizing on his movie image, and you can see that in the way crowds react to him. They're cheering the Terminator, the star, not the chief executive.
Incidentally, "Hitlerian" IS a word, and I'd say the same thing about mindless Demo drones. They just aren't nearly as common as the other kind....
i gathered he was referring to the reactionrufus
Dec 10, 2003 9:33 AM
of the crowd. can't you almopst hear the echoes of "seig heil" in their response?

for what it's worth, that kind of reaction is what prompted roger waters to write The Wall album for pink floyd. that knee jerk, fawning, totalitarian response to famous people, or people in authority.
Well, I'm over fed, actuallyDougSloan
Dec 10, 2003 9:42 AM
Your only references to the crowd were to note their saying "yes" and the fact that they did not know who their reps were to whom they were going to send an email. I read and re-read it, and it does still appear to me that you were talking about the Gubernator.

If saying "yes" alone to a request to email your rep makes you Hitlerian, that's a fairly low threshold for anyone. We'll all need to be more careful at our next political rally to ensure we don't respond verbally or promise to do anything.

Doug
re: Many voters played into the media blitzjrm
Dec 10, 2003 3:15 PM
hype and sensationalizing of the budget situation. Im not saying the budget is not messed up beleive me i maybe laid off because of it.

Arnold has been getting alot of bad press lately due to his attempted bullying of the legislators, the lack of budget information his advisors are committing to legisaltors, the reprecussions of his repealing the car tax which resulted in the state credit rating being reduced AGAIN, his lack of any type of alternative budget or spending cap plan, and his advisors handling of dilog with legislators.

And this is in only the last 8 weeks.
the media is cluelessmohair_chair
Dec 10, 2003 3:52 PM
Read this article if you want to know what the press isn't reporting. The Democrats in Sacramento are some of the most embarrassing politicians in the history of politics. The writer is a Democrat, by the way. The media is either stupid, lazy, or participating in a cover up. Choose two. They are still upset that the people went around them to elect Arnold.

http://www.jillstewart.net/php/issues/issue1127.php
the media is cluelessjrm
Dec 10, 2003 4:02 PM
yeah ive been reading Dan Walters column on a daily basis. Its something else.