RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


So, if you were God, what would you do differently?(19 posts)

So, if you were God, what would you do differently?DougSloan
Nov 24, 2003 1:19 PM
Jim Carey got to be God, so why not us?

Let's say you get to be or step in for God, with all His powers (or those attributable to God for you non-believers). What would you do? Or, what if God were an elected position -- upon what platform would you run?

Remember that everything you do can have long-reaching, unforeseen (to us mortals) consequences.

Doug
Firstly and most obviously (for me anyway)4bykn
Nov 24, 2003 1:49 PM
I guess I'd have proof that I do indeed exist, so I would have to believe in myself.

Another question: Who made a better god, Jim Carrey or George Burns?
get rid of mental illnessmohair_chair
Nov 24, 2003 2:25 PM
Depression, bi-polar, psychotic disorders, etc. The world would be a much more peaceful and happy place if people weren't created with built-in defects that strongly affect their behavior towards themselves and others. The world is cruel enough on its own.
Makes the assumption that...moneyman
Nov 24, 2003 2:55 PM
God makes mistakes and we know better. If you're an atheist, it doesn't matter because there is no god and the discussion is irrelevant. If you believe in God, and His almighty nature, there would be no mistakes made, everything is done perfectly and we cannot improve on it. So while I may believe that God has at times done me wrong, as long as I believe in God I have to believe that He CANNOT do me wrong. It's all my fault.

Therefore, no change is necessary.

BTW, Doug - Don't tell anyone, but Jim Carey just played God. It is just irony, or maybe cosmic wisdom, that his initials are closely related to one of God's own. But I won't tell anyone if you don't. :)

$$
God make mistakes?DougSloan
Nov 25, 2003 7:36 AM
I think God does make mistakes, at least according to the Bible (but I'm certainly no Bible scholar). If not, why would there be accounts of Him being angry, disappointed, wiping out the world and starting over, etc? God creating "free will" is inconsistent with Him knowing what will happen, isn't it? Did He send his only Son to earth, knowing in advance that he'd be brutally killed? Hmm.

My view is that God is largely the "clock maker", and directly intervenes rarely. People put their own spin on things, in efforts to make it appear there is more intervention, in my opinion. For example, a plane goes down, and although 200 people are killed, one is spared. People then claim God intervened and it was a miracle that person was spared. To me, if He were going to intervene, why not spare the whole plane?

What would I do? I would make more efforts to teach people right and wrong, so they could live with less grief and suffering. Maybe it's time for another visit, one that will really get people's attention and make them shape up. It would need to be in a form acceptable to all the different people on earth, though, not just one sector.

Doug
Interesting pointslotterypick
Nov 25, 2003 9:23 AM
I think that God does not make mistakes.

As parents, we all can have those feelings, yet have done nothing wrong.

God's plan is big. Bigger than Noah and bigger than any one or a hundred things, therefore to judge on a snap shot if one believes God makes mistakes ignores the potential that maybe the right thing was done. Meaning, maybe it was good for all to have died except that one.

We equate health, long life, wealth, comfort as good, when often life becomes better in the long run when we didn't have those things. Was it wise then to take away things or not let us have things. It was.

God supposedly doesn't make mistakes. You have to bet one way or the other and trust it.

I'm trusting GOd, but I'm not that great, all knowing, etc. so if He's who He says, then I'm picking the winner.

Worst case for you is that you have a friend who's nicer than he would be if he didn't have fear (e.g. correct respect) for God. I'd be lusting, lying, cheating and stealing more than I'd admit. Not horrible by world standards, but not nice if you were in my mind.
good pov there....namaSSte
Nov 25, 2003 1:14 PM
I won't get on a long, draen out thing here but I will say that I agree - God does not make mistakes. The mistakes are when we think we understand the big picture. Biblically, that has no basis. We will not know the big pic until heaven. In the meantime, faith is what gets us through and, by it snature alone, faith doesn't promise understanding. It's scary, sure. Still, I trust in God and even when He doesn't "speak" to me in the ways I want Him to, I know His plan is perfect and someday, I'll get it.

Peace,
Scott
If you want trouble, Doug, say that in a newspaper column...Cory
Nov 25, 2003 9:46 AM
A few years ago, I raised pretty much that same issue in the paper. My son was diagnosed with leukemia when he was 2. When he graduated from high school, I did a column updating readers who knew about him, reminding the rest of the things we take for granted and suggesting that in the overall diorama of life's tragedies, towels dropped on the bathroom floor or breakfast dishes left on the table weren't the worst things that could happen.
At one point I said I'd about lost patience with people who said that prayer saved my son. If God had that power, and he's benevolent and all-knowing, why would he give a 2-year-old cancer in the first place?
It brought nearly 200 letters of protest (a lot for a newspaper our size), and I still hear about it five years later: "Oh, you're the columnist who doesn't believe in God."
Here's my thought on prayer and God.lotterypick
Nov 25, 2003 9:51 AM
First a statement. PRayer doesn't change God's mind at all. God doesn't need you, mine Ghandis or whoevers input.

It's a heart thing. Prayer is good for the praying person.

But, that doesn't discount that fact that God may have allowed your son to have cancer and good things may or did come of it. We'll have to see, maybe you do see.

My son had some things, not as bad, but they made him stronger, more wise, and he's now only 9. He's tough and I believe part of it was because they did burn half his face off three times to help him.

Just because you don't like CHristians and there are some weird ones. THat doesn't mean that God isn't someone you should like, thank and be thoughtful of.

Hope things are good in a worldly and spiritual way.
It is the toughest thing to come to grips with...DougSloan
Nov 25, 2003 10:03 AM
The toughest thing about being Christian, or religious at all, is accepting that God allows, or even causes, bad things to happen to people. Our only solace is trusting in afterlife rewards or a greater plan. As you say, though, that's very difficult when something affects you directly and you can feel the suffering.

I think you can certainly believe in God and still discuss these issues. Many times I have found that a little doubt and discussion leads to much greater understanding (being a philosophy major).

Doug
I'd put the fear of God back in people........MR_GRUMPY
Nov 24, 2003 5:38 PM
All that I would want to be able to do is just three little things.
#1 To be able to smite people just by pointing at my computer screen (watch out)
#2 To be able to loose weight and win races without training (I'd be too busy smiting people)
#3 To have all the power in the universe.
#4 To be able to change my mind.
#5 To have world peace (Or I'd kill all those SOB's)
Not choose, or allow, one people over another. nm128
Nov 25, 2003 8:35 AM
sex, drugs, and rock n roll!--to heck with consequences! ;) (nm)ColnagoFE
Nov 25, 2003 8:48 AM
It says "differently" . You've well paraphrased Genesis. nm128
Nov 25, 2003 9:30 AM
LOL...that is true nmColnagoFE
Nov 25, 2003 9:48 AM
You mean Romans 2 nmlotterypick
Nov 25, 2003 9:53 AM
.
re: So, if you were God, what would you do differently?Fredrico
Nov 25, 2003 12:51 PM
Eastern religions and many "primitive" religions believe that God is in all of us, we are all God, but that being the only species of living creature on earth with self-consciousness, we don't realise this, and look for God outside our own experiences. Original sin might be a recognition of this, the story of the Fall from innocence, the mental state in which one automatically does the right thing.

Every great religion teaches love of fellow man as central to how to live. If one is loved, one is forgiven for past tresspassing of laws or moral codes. If I were God, I would make men forgive each other on all levels, personal, political, cultural. One can have arguments, differences of opinion on ways to live, but always tempered by love and forgiveness and never leading to contempt and hate. Wars would end, killing would stop, greed and materialism would dwindle. Everyone would want to get along and share resources.
Free will is better.lotterypick
Nov 25, 2003 4:21 PM
You get a black, white and gray world, where people can be who they want to be.

Most are decent, but some are great and some really bad.

America is about freedom and that freedom makes America great for all it's moral or social shortcomings.

Forced virtue is not real virtue at all. Muslim virtue is the understanding that non compliance means death, maiming, etc.

Your system sounds good, but in reality it's not, because it doesn't reflect the choice of the people. it reflects your will on them.
Freewill is better:Fredrico
Nov 26, 2003 11:38 AM
And everyone must accept the consequences of their actions, good or bad.

Those who truly love do so unconditionally, not willfully or controlling. Like the mother who loves children even after they've done something really bad.

Have a good Thanksgiving. We're lucky we can ride off those calories, yeah?