RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


OPINION(35 posts)

OPINION94Nole
Nov 20, 2003 5:52 AM
From www.m-w.com, definition follows

Mine is #1. Most here, IN MY OPINION, seem to me to fall into #3.

It's funny how, IN MY OPINION, opposing opinions here seem to get blasted and the poster with an opinion that differs is told s/he needs to be more open-minded.

Don't know the reason for this post but perhaps you'll be glad or couldn't give a flyin' _______, but it is certainly my last.

I'll continue to searchout and read OldEd's posts, because I an enlightened and entertained by his posts and wit, but for the majority of rest of you, I'll merely skip over.

Main Entry: opin·ion
Pronunciation: &-'pin-y&n
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English, from Middle French, from Latin opinion-, opinio, from opinari
Date: 14th century
1 a : a view, judgment, or appraisal formed in the mind about a particular matter b : APPROVAL, ESTEEM
2 a : belief stronger than impression and less strong than positive knowledge b : a generally held view
3 a : a formal expression of judgment or advice by an expert b : the formal expression (as by a judge, court, or referee) of the legal reasons and principles upon which a legal decision is based
You've got a right to an opinion, but it can still be WRONG (nm)shawndoggy
Nov 20, 2003 6:35 AM
Aw, man. Keep postinOldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 6:36 AM
It can get a little rough and tumble here, but what the hell? That's part of the fun. Like when a touch football game suddenly erupts into full-contact.

Frankly, your OPINIONS strike me as nuttier than all hell (as I'm sure mine strike you) and that makes you a valuable poster.

Mr. Metaphor speaks: Burgoo is a Kentucky stew that's made with a secretive recipe and has SEVEN kinds of meat. Ponder THAT for a minute. By the time you get to meat six or meat seven, you're really starting to go, "Hmmmmmm ..." But everyone loves it.

This forum is burgoo -- some weird mystery meat in the pot, but it all comes together. If the fringes leave, it's Campbell's Condensed Vegetable.

Be fringe! Be proud! Go 'Noles, beat Miami!
you're just sayin' that cause he actually reads your posts ;) (nColnagoFE
Nov 20, 2003 7:57 AM
Speaking of squirrels, Ed--do they go into burgoo?Cory
Nov 20, 2003 8:56 AM
I suppose you could say this is slightly off topic...I don't quite collect old cookbooks (because "collecting" is compulsive), but I do buy them occasionally. When I read the word "burgoo," I got this mental picture of a skinned squirrel....
Seems likely. I mean, if there's sevenOldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 9:04 AM
meats in there, if there ISN'T squirrel you're getting into some pretty rank possibilities ...
Go Noles????? Now I know you're a total lunatic! :)No_sprint
Nov 20, 2003 9:09 AM
I'm one of many new Michigan fans, for the week at least.
Lessee, there's beef, pork, lamb...moneyman
Nov 20, 2003 10:33 AM
venison and ...

You're right. Maybe I don't want to know.

$$
Beef, lamb, pork, chicken, turkey, duck & rabbit.czardonic
Nov 20, 2003 10:44 AM
What's the big deal?
Only a lunatic would put chicken, turkey and duckOldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 10:50 AM
in the same dish! Goddamn left-coast liberal ...
Pardon my ignorance. No food with a face.czardonic
Nov 20, 2003 11:04 AM
Well, I eat fish every now and then.
Doesn't rate the same cardio alert as a Turduckinsn69
Nov 20, 2003 10:55 AM
...A NOLA/Deep South classic that horrified my wife and me but tasted damned good: a duck stuffed inside a chicken stuffed inside a turkey, all deep fried and served with loads of gravy.

Do you hear that, Czar? That's the sound of everyone's arteries groaning and creaking in agony for having just envisioned this culinary masterpiece. I won't even delve into deep fried cheesecake....

Scott
John Madden talks about turdickin all the time. . .czardonic
Nov 20, 2003 11:02 AM
. . .on a local radio gig he has. It is the sort of thing that is good for no end of morbid curiousity in this neck of the woods.
Oops! (nm)czardonic
Nov 20, 2003 11:05 AM
LMAO...nice slip. nmsn69
Nov 20, 2003 11:10 AM
You left someplace that has deep-fried cheesecake...The Walrus
Nov 20, 2003 1:52 PM
...to come back here to Cali? Dang! I
i knew
there had to be something good about Loozianna...
You left someplace that has deep-fried cheesecake...sn69
Nov 20, 2003 2:08 PM
Ironically, it was served at our local sushi bar that was staffed by sushi chefs from San Diego.
Uuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrpppppppppp!The Walrus
Nov 21, 2003 11:01 AM
Now that is just plain twisted! I suppose they served burgoo, too (using sashimi instead of the cooked meats, of course).
turkey & duckmoneyman
Nov 20, 2003 10:55 AM
Don't qualify as meat. And knowing where OES is from, I think we are talking about much nastier things than turkeys and ducks, anyway.

$$
Weasels, polecats, snakes ...OldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 10:58 AM
The Repubs won the governor's mansion here last week after all.
I'm really happy that I'm from New England. nm128
Nov 20, 2003 11:24 AM
if we all agreed it would be pretty boring nmDougSloan
Nov 20, 2003 7:55 AM
"screw you guys...takin' my stuff and goin' home"-Cartman (nm)ColnagoFE
Nov 20, 2003 7:56 AM
Given your use of definition #1, why is it...dr hoo
Nov 20, 2003 8:55 AM
... that you get upset when people ask you your BASIS for your views, judgments and appraisals? Isn't that a fair question?

Actually, you seem to want to use #2. Belief, but not knowledge. Still, you must have some basis for your opinion, right?

If you can't provide a basis for your opinion when asked, why don't you question your opinion? Why not engage with those that ask you for your reasons, instead of running away? You might not change your opinion, but at least at the end of the *process* you will have a better basis for the opinion. Maybe by trying to provide reasons for that opinion you might change your opinion slightly, or even radically.

Those that want to learn engage ideas that challenge their views of the world. Those that avoid engaging.... are the majority of people in the world. So at least you have a lot of company.
It takes courage to risk being wrongPoseur
Nov 20, 2003 9:40 AM
Anyone can have an opinion. Anyone can have a strong opinion. So what happens when your opinion is challenged and it starts to become apparent your opinion was wrong?
1. put all your effort into suppressing/ignoring challenges to your opinion
2. avoid expressing opinions, at least you're never proved wrong
3. Divert attention away from the issue.
4. Feel the need to regain your "status" by challenging someone with another opinion.
5. denial
I just want the recipe for Burgoo - come on Ed! (nm)cmgauch
Nov 20, 2003 9:00 AM
hey, is that old ed?mohair_chair
Nov 20, 2003 9:39 AM
Got Burgoo?



http://www.burgoo.org
ILLINOIS?? This is poseur burgoo.OldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 9:49 AM
REAL burgoo don't worry 'bout no HEALTH regulations. Sheesh.

Real burgoo is highly idiosyncratic, and it's part of the ritual that individuals not disclose their recipes. The only sine qua nons are: At least seven meats; and a ridiculously long cooking time so everything sort of mushes together indistinguishably.

Three meats are obvious: Chicken, beef, pork.

Two meats are fairly obvious: Lamb, venison.

Then you get into ascending weirdness and game meats: Goat, rabbit, squirrel, ground hog, possum ... your choice, whatever you can shoot and skin. Hell, I had a friend who got drunk one night and confessed to adding 'breast of chipmunk' for its 'peppery overtones.'

You take your chances with this stuff.
Here:OldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 10:01 AM
This fellow, Robin Garr, is an odd conjunction of planets, a seriously redneck wine connisseur who writes (food/drink writer). On his page, he has a recipe for AUTHENTIC Kentucky burgoo.

I've had his burgoo, and I'm here to tell you, he knows his stuff and his PERSONAL burgoo is a lot scarier than the version he presents here. But this will get you started ...

http://www.wine-lovers-page.com/food/burgoo.shtml
Okra and Lima beans?moneyman
Nov 20, 2003 11:20 AM
I could probably choke down the mystery meat, but okra and lima beans definitely put this on my "never" list. Thankyouverymuchandhaveaniceday.

$$
Ah. You prefer your Okra FRIED. Me too.OldEdScott
Nov 20, 2003 11:42 AM
Okra adds body to the soup. Kinda slimy.
No. Buried.moneyman
Nov 20, 2003 12:06 PM
Belongs in the compost pile. Right next to the carp.

$$
I'd have to be really fried before I ate okra (nm)The Walrus
Nov 20, 2003 1:56 PM
Me too. Fried better.No_sprint
Nov 20, 2003 2:22 PM
It's pretty benign stuff really. Tastes like zuchini to me, kinda looks like it crossed with a jalapeno. Yep, slimy.
I should have known...mohair_chair
Nov 20, 2003 10:51 AM
Now that I think about it, that picture couldn't be you, because Abe Lincoln was a Republican!