RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


So did anyone bother to do that IQ test?(10 posts)

So did anyone bother to do that IQ test?Rich_Racer
Nov 18, 2003 11:48 AM
The one in the pop-up window this morning??

(Please no-one pay the money for the "personalised report")

But do IQ tests really tell you anything?

Rich.
Do IQ tests tell you anything?53T
Nov 18, 2003 12:08 PM
Well, yes. I have found a strong corelation between people who think the tests are important, and those who score high. Of course, the low scorers may be right that the test doesn't mean anything, bit we discount their opinion, since they are clearly not that brite.
I didlotterypick
Nov 18, 2003 12:36 PM
Mine came out almost exactly as I thought. Not bad :)
re: So did anyone bother to do that IQ test?Jusme
Nov 18, 2003 1:18 PM
Is there a standard scoring system for all IQ tests?

I took an online one last year which yielded a 13 point difference than another I recently took. (Not the one in the banner)

If they *are* all scored by the same scale, I'm on track to be full on mentally challenged by 2007.
They all use standard scoring, but different numbers.dr hoo
Nov 18, 2003 7:10 PM
Does that confuse you?

All IQ tests are standardized in their scoring. This means that average is always 100, where 50% of the population falls above the line and 50% below. If you move 1 standard deviation up (technical stat term), that is above 67% of the test taking population, 2 standard deviations is above 95% and 3 sd is above 99% of the population.

The problem is that some tests use 10 points to equal a standard deviation, others use 20, and some use 15. So your 13 point difference MIGHT mean the same IQ in terms of your position on the curve. The drop from ~128 to ~115 would be about equal, with the first number using a 20 sd and the second a 10 sd.

Test-retest scores on the same type of test tend to be +/- 2-3 points. There is also usually a drop off if you have not taken standardized tests in a while, due to having to relearn the "test taking mentality" we all had in school (when most IQ tests are given). But for the most part, good tests yield the same numbers over a lifetime.

Stable scores. But not very meaningful scores in determining life outcomes.
I did too, then I realized it's hooked up with some kindNo_sprint
Nov 18, 2003 1:21 PM
of *matching* or *dating* online service. It's score came out in the same ballpark as the one I took in 4th? grade that I still have.
Just goes to showlotterypick
Nov 18, 2003 4:58 PM
SUC was of no help.

by the way, my friend talked to me this morning at hoops. Can't get any rooms as they are booked for that date. Sorry, my friend.

I figured it out. Karl Dorrel is a genius. He tanks on purpose to drive his teams rating down, although he could have stayed in first place in the PAC-10 to finish the season :), so that if by some lucky miracle SUC beats us, they wouldn't make the NC. Fargin brilliant.

I knew he wasn't some no resume loser like some are saying. Go Bruins and the Bruin Agenda!!
Yep4bykn
Nov 18, 2003 4:43 PM
Got nearly the same as I tested as a teen(whether good or bad). Didnt pay any money. Mildly entertaining but little else.

Ride in Peace....Mike
These test are no good for IQ over 140. why take it? nmContinental
Nov 19, 2003 7:09 AM
I scored 140. Are you saying I might have gotten shorted?...nmbicyclerepairman
Nov 20, 2003 11:01 PM