RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


remove dynamic popups from this site or else...(9 posts)

remove dynamic popups from this site or else...zeke
Nov 12, 2003 5:06 AM
I just got on to rbr.com for a relaxing time when soon after clicking in a sony play station popup started playing music and animation. The static popups are bad enough.
I come to this site to enjoy bike info and relax. I dont want ads in any form shoved down my throat.
This message is addressed to all participants of course, but also to the administrators of this site.
I will continue checking in on rbr.com for 2 more weeks. If that type of ad continues, I will never return to this site. It is not worth the aggravation.
Do any others have comments on this type of ad or any other that appear on this site? If there is only one complaint it wont do much good.
Thanks.
Or else what?TJeanloz
Nov 12, 2003 6:23 AM
You get what you pay for.

The Google pop-up blocker seems to effectively block whatever you're talking about - because I don't see it.
Or else what?zeke
Nov 12, 2003 10:18 PM
by 'or else' I mean that I will not revisit the site. As mentioned, for me it is recreation and I of course dont like the ordinary popups, but they seem to have become the norm, so maybe I can handle those for a while. However, these dynamic popups pushed me over my limit. I have written other sites also.

Do you mean because this site is 'free' I shouldnt complain? If so, I dont agree, and I dont agree that its free since I must look at all the popups and the ads on the page that are more attention-grabbing by their nature, than the posts. NOt that the posts are boring, but that the ads have larger print, are in color and sometimes blink, as this 'yakima' ad is doing now while I type this.

I dont like it and see it as an abuse by the advertisers. More of us need to complain especially since things like this are in litigation. should it be a first amendment right to be able to push any type of advertising down the throats of consumers? No, there needs to be a limit and I have reached mine.

Thank you for responding to my post.
That's exactly what I meanTJeanloz
Nov 13, 2003 6:21 AM
What, your visiting this site is so precious to the powers that be at RBR that they are going to shut down advertisers (who pay the bills) just to keep you coming back?

You are here because you want to be. If you don't like it, nobody is forcing you to post anything or type anything. Somebody, however, is forcing RBR to pay for all of this, and if that's what it takes, that's what it takes. I appreciate this being provided as a free (at least from a monetary standpoint) resource. The site will go on without you.
That's exactly what I meanzeke
Nov 16, 2003 1:32 AM
thanks for your response.
yes, of course the site will go on without me, but i had hoped to get others who were annoyed with that KIND of advertising to say something about it.
please note i am not complaining about advertising, but only the type mentioned in my post.
Ditto, On the Google blockerMR_GRUMPY
Nov 12, 2003 6:53 AM
Please don't hold your breath for two weeks. It won't work.
Ditto, On the Google blockerzeke
Nov 12, 2003 10:20 PM
Do you mean the admin of this board does not pay attention to complaints? Of course I am not certain that they do, but I vaguely remember an incident about 2 years ago where the admin responded somewhat positively to complaints from posters.
This site is the most cluttered I've seenLeonnard
Nov 12, 2003 8:00 AM
Funny, I visit many other types of sites and only hard core porn sites can compare when it comes to a site slapping on stupid annoying popup ads. Remember that stupid bus popup for the movie "Grind"? How about everybodies friend "Weatherbug"? Do you see weatherbug on other bikesites?
I don't see "Weatherbug" here OR anywhere else...The Walrus
Nov 12, 2003 8:44 AM
...nor do I see "Grind" or Sony Play Station or any other popups. I haven't downloaded any sort of popup blocker, either. Now, if only Competitive Cyclist would go out of business....