RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Photographers-opinions, please.(14 posts)

Photographers-opinions, please.KG 361
Nov 2, 2003 7:41 AM
My 11 y/o daughter enjoys using our Nikon Coolpix 4300. These are a few pics she snapped at my youngest (9 y/o) daughtr's soccer match. I think these are quite good. I believe she has some talent here and a pretty good eye. Your thoughts?








BTW-Here's my daughter =)KG 361
Nov 2, 2003 11:15 AM
Didn't like playing with the boys at first, but now she wants to play again with them next year.
Always encourage her!!!!!!critmass
Nov 2, 2003 3:28 PM
Last year I helped my 11 year-old niece start to explore photography. Below is one of the web sites she found helpful. Scroll down to photography. Lots of good links in the other resource sections and by using the "search all resources" hot links. I found that by using proper photography terminology with her she learned faster and she began to feel more like a real photographer.
Lots of good stuff on the web for this.

http://www.youthlearn.org/learning/activities/index.html
Thanks for the link. I'll show it to her. nmKG 361
Nov 2, 2003 5:17 PM
I agree, good composition.rwbadley
Nov 2, 2003 9:27 PM
Help her out any way you can.

The thing I have found using digital from film format(at least my camera) has an extremely annoying delay in actuation of the shutter. Sometimes it works out ok, but I would really like to find a digicam w/o delay. The timing is just all wrong on some of my shots...mutter gripe mutter...
Yeah, me too.KG 361
Nov 3, 2003 4:49 AM
When I want to take the pic, I want it NOW! Not .05 seconds from now. =)
.05? mines worse @ almost a full second plus...nmrwbadley
Nov 3, 2003 7:27 AM
It may be-I was just guessing=) nmKG 361
Nov 3, 2003 8:05 AM
Interesting, hers must be the first generation ...RoyGBiv
Nov 3, 2003 9:19 AM
that would think of an old-fashioned Nikon SLR the way many of us here might think of a Box Brownie - quaint, if not downright inefficient. Maybe this is why I can't seem to get my 13-year-old daughter interested in photography: Dad's camera is too big and clumsy.
Tell her to keep up the good work.
Well,Starliner
Nov 3, 2003 10:04 AM
I'll give you an honest opinion.

I'd be excited if I was her father, too. Capturing the drama of an active, moving subject is not easy. The best action photographers learn how to anticipate the action before it happens and to visualize how they will capture it. Then it's just a matter of executing it, and when it works out as planned, that's the rush of excitement of a job well done.

It looks like she has an idea of what it takes. I'd really encourage her to keep on trying. Help her out with being aware of the importance of anticipating some of her shots. And being there to offer up congratulations for the really good shots.

I'd also get her to start thinking about improving her use of light in her shots. My main critisism of her pictures is that the lighting on her subject wasn't always good.

Basically, give her a lot of support and encouragement, and keep her working on the finer points of the trade.
Thanks.KG 361
Nov 3, 2003 10:41 AM
She was using the "auto mode" on the digicam. I have to show her how to use it better (as well as myself!). What impressed me was her ability to catch a couple af action shots-not easy with a digital cam.
re: For a digicam she's doing awesome.JL
Nov 3, 2003 12:57 PM
Soccer's tough as it is with an SLR, even U9. As you know the shutter lag can be frustrating, even for non-action.

Here's some of mine with a digital SLR of my daughters 6/7 Clinic League.









Your daughter definitely has a good "soccer eye". There's lots of good info out on the web. The link you were given looks like a good start for your daughter. With the digicam you need to think ahead to "counter" the shutter lag, but it's not always consistent.

The best way to improve is to keep shooting.

John
One of those pix is pro quality. One almost is.OldEdScott
Nov 3, 2003 4:57 PM
One is very good. She may or may not have talent. A lot of great photography is 'accidental.' If she can get to the point where she's doing the good stuff intentionally, she could have a future.

That said ...

I've been a pro photographer at several points in my life, and I can say my good stuff was almost always more accidental than intentional. But since I knew what was good, I was able to create an atmosphere in which good accidents happened.

My friend Tim Page, great combat photog (Google him), called his work 'snaps,' as in snapshots. He didn't take it too seriously (except in his own deliciously mad head). And he had hundreds of the most amazing 'accidents.'
Thanks.KG 361
Nov 3, 2003 8:56 PM
I'll let her take the cam to more games etc. We'll see if any more "accidents" occur. It really startled me when I saw the pics; I couldn't believe how good they were. The beauty of the digital is that if they're good, I can print them. If not, hit the old "trash" button, and I haven't wasted a dime =)