RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


So Ed what did you think of ....(31 posts)

So Ed what did you think of ....Live Steam
Oct 27, 2003 12:01 PM
that DEAD-bait yesterday? That was one of the more commical ones I have seen in quite while. Clark looks like a dear in the headlights :O) Worse that Dan Quail LOL!! And did you get a load of your guy Sharpton? He looked like the kid that got invited to the birthday party, but was upset that he didn't get any cake because he was in the bathroom! Hahahaha!!
The fellas might as well go home and quitOldEdScott
Oct 27, 2003 12:18 PM
pissing away their hard-extorted money. Dr. Dean has this thing locked up
Man Kerry and Gephardt look like also-ransLive Steam
Oct 27, 2003 12:30 PM
I was kind of shocked. None of them could lay a glove on Dean. Well considering the Dumocrats want to make this election about the war, it's no surprise. They're all stuck in the same quagmire because they voted to support it and can't stop talking about it. Dean is the only viable contender that didn't really have to take a stance on the war prior to it's occurrence. Looks like he and Clark are going to try and stomach each other to form a ticket. In the end, I still don't think they will have enough oomph to get past Bush.
Agreed, and I think you have the ticket right.OldEdScott
Oct 27, 2003 12:34 PM
The question of who will be on top has been effectively decided, with ruthless, withering certainty, in just one month. Dean has certainly been formidable in dispatching the last challenge anyone could come up with to derail him.
Will the powers that be ...Live Steam
Oct 27, 2003 12:41 PM
torpedo Clark too, in order to put the witch on the ticket? Or she won't accept second billing? I figure Dean could have some mysterious heart ailment that no one knows about until after the election :O)
All I can say is ...OldEdScott
Oct 27, 2003 12:48 PM
stay tuned on Clark and the Witch. Weird stuff is going on that I can't get the straight poop on, but the Clintons are very definitely playing a very cagy and close-to-the-vest game here. They're certainly playing over my head.

If somehow it ends up a Witch-Doctor ticket, we'll know we're in the presence of pure political genius!
All I can say is ...No_sprint
Oct 27, 2003 1:05 PM
They are indeed at the pinnacle of playing games. They are politicians extraordinaire.

This is one incredible criticism.
It will never happenMR_GRUMPY
Oct 27, 2003 1:25 PM
Sure, she has a lot of plus numbers, but she has as many minus numbers as well. Too many minus numbers.
I agreejtolleson
Oct 27, 2003 2:59 PM
HC has some of the highest negatives of any national political figure, and unlike others with high negatives I don't think she has the powerful rank and file following of some of the more controversial folks on the right.

The Dems would be foolish to involve her in the ticket.
Hard for me to see, either. ButOldEdScott
Oct 28, 2003 6:45 AM
the Clintons are political sorcerers, and I would never presume to write them off.
their valueDougSloan
Oct 28, 2003 7:44 AM
Their continuing value to the Democratic party may be to make the other candidates look relatively acceptable. "Oh, well he's not Hillary; it could be worse!" ... "At least he keeps his d*%@ in his pants..." etc.

Doug
wellMJ
Oct 28, 2003 7:48 AM
dick in pants or an unjustified war - I guess what "could be worse" is a matter of perspective...
Hey MJ: Res ipsa loquitor.OldEdScott
Oct 28, 2003 7:58 AM
'The thing speaks for itself.'

I think it's abundantly clear that these folks are much more bothered by unzipped Democrat schlongs than by Republican imperial wars.

To each his own, eh?
ya, good thing no Democrats supported the war nmDougSloan
Oct 28, 2003 8:00 AM
No Democrat who'll be on the ballot next November! nmOldEdScott
Oct 28, 2003 8:10 AM
That leaves out both Clark and the witch, besides ...Live Steam
Oct 28, 2003 8:36 AM
I think Clark is endorsing Bush again! LOL!!!
That leaves out both Clark and the witch, besides ...No_sprint
Oct 28, 2003 8:44 AM
and it further alienates them from the masses. Good. Take your chances... We shall see. I say shut up and put up. Let 'er ride.
Hey anybody ever notice how much more ...Live Steam
Oct 28, 2003 8:50 AM
of a rabid, partizen Conservative No_sprint is than me? No offense No_sprint. Just an idle observation :O) Go get 'em!
It is all relative...No_sprint
Oct 28, 2003 9:00 AM
You can compare me with many and I'm a solid MOR, fiscal conservative. Actually that is the case with most. There are some completely out of this world posters here though that just make me appear that much further to the right.

On balance, I take all the facts into consideration, am not driven by hate, clouded by emotion, wrapped up in imagination to the point where I can convince myself of something that's not and on the warpath to bash.

I've always wondered what the conspiracy theory boys have come up with during the preceeding administration. That must make the current wild ideas look rather insignificant! I actually don't want to hear it, or perhaps their response might be that all the conspiracies only happen when a Republican is in office.

:)
you want conspiracy?rufus
Oct 28, 2003 3:30 PM
visit The Project for the New American Century's website. look at the names of the people involved. and then read their policy positions for the future of the middle east and what america should do. and then notice how many of thoise people are high administration officials or advisors.

looks suspiciously like what this administration is doing right now. hell, they wrote it right there for everyone to see. how can anyone even question why we're there after reading that? in a way, it's a good thing that iraq didn't turn out to be as easy as they all thought, or we'd have been on to iran and syria by now. hell, rummy was even laying the groundwork for that action in his press conferences during the military action in iraq.
Not an Imperial war...,MR_GRUMPY
Oct 28, 2003 9:29 AM
Just a stupid one. A stupid war that is draining billions and billions of dollars out of the U.S. that could be well spent right here.
Only in your opinion...No_sprint
Oct 28, 2003 12:17 PM
and not the opinion of a massive 70% of the population that support the effort, though presently some chickens could have changed their mind. I can't think of a time where so many people were on the same page. I can't think of a time where any president held 70% of the popular vote in an election.
Say, What !!MR_GRUMPY
Oct 28, 2003 12:32 PM
Huh.......... 70% of what population ???????
I don't know about 70%TJeanloz
Oct 28, 2003 12:44 PM
But www.pollingreport.com aggregates polling information, and the positive answers beat the negatives in every poll - though some (mostly the "Do you approve or disapprove of the way George W. Bush is handling the situation in Iraq?" questions) are getting reasonably close. Certainly, at times over the summer, and even as recently as last month, approval was in the 70%'s in some polls.

The Iraq adventure does have the majority of popular support by virtually every measure.
LOL My apologies... 73% reported support, CNN poll...No_sprint
Oct 28, 2003 12:51 PM
and 86% polled thought things were going well. July 1 article. Being that CNN is so darn liberal, those numbers are likely higher. You're a serious minority my friend.
I wonder if they had a poll that asked if.........MR_GRUMPY
Oct 28, 2003 1:18 PM
1) we should continue to spend all this money in Iraq
2) george is doing a good job as President
3) george's great plan is in the dumpster.
They pretty much did,TJeanloz
Oct 28, 2003 1:35 PM
And much to the consternation of the Left, the answer to #2 is a majority "yes", though the answer to #1 is usually "no".

I'm pretty sure #3 has never been asked.
49% approveMR_GRUMPY
Oct 28, 2003 2:13 PM
It's just one poll, but I wonder what the total numbers are?

http://www.stamfordadvocate.com/news/local/state/hc-20185920.apds.m0668.bc-ct--presoct20,0,5790095.story?coll=hc-headlines-local-wire
another one says 53%MR_GRUMPY
Oct 28, 2003 2:23 PM
53% = not good

http://www.pollingreport.com/BushJob.htm
53%, not good, but not bad,TJeanloz
Oct 28, 2003 2:28 PM
Mr. Clinton saw 53% approval ratings a few times in his career.
What total numbers? (nm)TJeanloz
Oct 28, 2003 2:25 PM