RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Enjoy and twak amongst ya'selves:(28 posts)

Enjoy and twak amongst ya'selves:sn69
Oct 22, 2003 11:37 AM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=676&ncid=676&e=1&u=/usatoday/20031022/ts_usatoday/11915893

...Should be great fun watching the political banter go back and forth over this seemingly obvious issue.

Oh, and should you Righties and Lefties require a break from the heated debating, here's some other obvious but nonetheless contentious food for thought:
1. 10 speeds aren't necessary.
2. Most "aero" wheels aren't.
3. SUVs do no more harm to the environment than large, gas-guzzling sedans do.
4. OldEd is a redneck.
5. The Maylasian PM said some really bigotted sh!t.
6. The General said some really bigotted sh!t.
7. The Aryan Nation is back in Hayden, ID.
8. The Santa Annas are blowing in SoCal and my sinuses hurt.

Scott
"behinder"? nmAlex-in-Evanston
Oct 22, 2003 11:48 AM
Did he really use the word "behinder"?Tri_Rich
Oct 22, 2003 11:52 AM
as to the others

1. true
2. true
3. true
4. true but irrelevant
5. true
6. true (and stupid)
7. ????
8. true?
Did he really use the word "behinder"?sn69
Oct 22, 2003 12:09 PM
4. A lead-in to the next three, which focussed on the issue of bigotry that has several threads from earlier this week. I thought the comment on OldEd was fun/pertinent if, for no other reason, than there's some history behind it here (you'll have to go back at least a half year to find it). 7 was featured on CNN last night, specifically about their re-emergence in Idaho, which I thought made an interested contrast/comparison to the Maylasian PM's comments.

...Sort of a "you had to be there thing."

I'm headed back to the Slowtwitch forum for a bit to read more opinions about Saturday's race.
Scott
Good to see Reid all the way back....Tri_Rich
Oct 23, 2003 5:22 AM
Are you a triathlete or just curious?
never mind, I read message below...NMTri_Rich
Oct 23, 2003 5:25 AM
Who cares about that?mickey-mac
Oct 22, 2003 8:34 PM
Lawrence DeRita said "penetrating." Heh, heh.

1. How many speeds are necessary? I usually go anywhere from 0 to 45 on a typical ride.
2. I think that's spelled "arrow."
3. Plus the large gas-guzzling sedans look like motorcade cars when painted black and decorated with flags.
4. Anyone called OldEd has to be a redneck or a horse.
5. We just let the lower ranking government officials do that.
6. Well, at least our PM didn't say it.
7. I thought they were back in San Quentin.
8. Who cares about your sinuses? My hair looks great when the wind is blowing and the humidity is 1%.
You have hair?sn69
Oct 23, 2003 1:45 PM
For some reason I've always envisioned you bald. And short.

Now,...to get back to work, quietly humming "Me And My Arrow" by Harry Nilsson......
Jeez!mickey-mac
Oct 23, 2003 7:10 PM
What did I do or write to make you think I look like George Costanza? Actually I'm 6'2" and probably have just slightly less than the average amount of hair for a 40-year-old male. After two years of cutting my own hair with a #3 setting on the electric razor, I've been letting it grow for the past six weeks or so and am quite proud of my flowing locks. My hair actually touches the tops of my ears now.
Costanza? No, not really...you seem gainfully employedsn69
Oct 23, 2003 8:18 PM
I was envisioning something more like a cycling "Breakfast Club" Emelio Estevez with a buzz cut, some nice ink and a circa-1979 Elvis Costello 'tude tempered by your children, who, apparently, like to listen to Woodie Guthrie.

Dunno...had this funny image of a damn-the-man, power-to-the-people angry punker who grew up and had kids.... "Now eat your carob coated tofu while daddy listens to 'Toolin for Anus.'" Tonight I'll read some improv Henry Rollins prose before I tuck you in....

}:)

Of course, I'm 6'2", prematurely gray, and in possession of a splendiforously oversized honker and a large set of low-speed, high drag ears. But, I do, at least, still read as much Rollins as I can get my hands on.
OK, not as bad as it soundedmickey-mac
Oct 23, 2003 8:52 PM
I was never all that angry. When it came to Black Flag, I was more of a Keith Morris than a Henry Rollins kind of guy. In fact, I saw Black Flag many times but never saw them after Rollins started singing.

We have noses in common, but not ears. My old barber always used to laugh at my petite ears. He always gave me a discount because he didn't have to work around them. ;-)
OK, this thread is gettin' kinda' scary!!!!Live Steam
Oct 24, 2003 4:50 AM
You guys "envision" each other? And MM cuts his own hair? And discussing body parts? Is there something to the light-in-the-shorts tri-guy theory? I knew those Speedos spelled trouble!
Go read some Rollins, Steam. You'll understand. nmsn69
Oct 24, 2003 7:20 AM
Read Rollins?Live Steam
Oct 24, 2003 8:08 AM
I know he's like a new age Jim Morrison with head bangin' music. How does this cover the body parts thing and your "vision" of each other?

By the way, if ya' couldn't tell, I was just joshin' about the implications. Tri guys are OK :O)
Your Rollins comparison isn't too far off the mark, though.sn69
Oct 24, 2003 8:22 AM
He's a highly accomplished author and poet with several books and published journals to his credit. In fact--and I think you might appreciate this--he's also a very successful entrepenuer. He founded and currently runs not only a record label and distribution company, but also his own literary agency and publishing house.

His spoken word shows range from hysterical comedy to scathing social commentary.
I did some research including ...Live Steam
Oct 24, 2003 9:05 AM
downloading an MP3 and visiting his web site. He is a busy guy. He writes a newsletter if you don't already subscribe to it. That's kinda' neat. You get a pretty good perspective about his nature from reading it. I downloaded "Liar". Not bad :O)
I'd recommend "Do I Come Here Often,"sn69
Oct 24, 2003 9:22 AM
A series of journal entries published as a book. It also includes a lengthy interview with Jerry Lee Lewis that's really interesting.

If you want to get depressed, read his earliest stuff from when he had just joined Black Flag and lived in a garden shed. Whoof...talk about suffering for one's art.
Most "aero" wheels aren't?Live Steam
Oct 22, 2003 11:56 AM
Now I resent that! :O) Oh the memo? Is it a surprise? No. This terrorist laden World didn't evolve that way over night and I don't think it will go away that way either. I have stated previously that inaction lead us to where we are today. The inaction was perceived as non-committal, indifferent and fearful.

The ways of the World are working against one another. Technology has provided us with immediate access to information and to one another, yet there are those that perceive this as a threat. In one instance we can have a true global community and in another it threatens the existence of certain long established cultures.

What Rummy is saying, and Bush has stated it in as many words, we are in for a long haul on many fronts. He said it in his address to the Nation after 9/11. Most everyone was ready for it then. I guess the wound was very fresh in everyone's mind. As the weeks, months and years pass from that date, many forget the gut-wrenching feeling they had. That is until the next event occurs. Hopefully there is no next time!
You said "community"!! Ha Haaaaa. nm128
Oct 22, 2003 12:02 PM
Sounds too liberal, huh? nmLive Steam
Oct 22, 2003 12:06 PM
community doesn't, global community does.dr hoo
Oct 23, 2003 3:59 AM
A true conservative praises the local community.

But "global community" is a crypto-marxist phrase designed to worm its way into the thought processes of the masses. Clearly it is working. It is good to see progress being made by the evil trotskyites linguists out there!

BTW Steam, I signed you up for the Wobblie newsletter. Enjoy!
So now I'm an anarchist?Live Steam
Oct 23, 2003 5:18 AM
That's not exactly what I had in mind when I referenced "global community". Would you prefer global economy? Global community only suggests that we now have access to one another, like here on this forum, almost instantaneously. Therefore events that you are experiencing can be relayed contemporaneously, no matter where you are on the globe. Time and travel is less of a constraining factor. Less gets lost in the translation.

I'll leave the commie thing to MJ :O) Peace!
Aero wheels, hidden agendum and coming out.sn69
Oct 22, 2003 7:11 PM
I admit it: I'M A TRI GEEK, I'M A TRI GEEK, I'M A TRI GEEK! I've owned two 650-wheeled bikes. I ride with my saddle slammed forward. I have clip-ons permanently affixed to my rig. I covet Zipps and HEDs and Lews. I wear Rip n Hammer and DeSoto clothing. I blew the innagural IM California getting loaded on Sierra Nevada at the pre-race expo the day before.

Sigh.

Damn, I feel so liberated for having admitted that (tears of joy streaming down my cheeks and sh!t). ...If only Shiela Taormina, Karen Smyers (fellow beer drinker) or Wndy Ingraham were here--I'd lay a big wet one on their kissers (and then my bride would box me about my ears and nose).

Crap, now I'll probably be banished to the wasteland of the tri board, and I doubt you, OldEd, Czar and the rest of the roadie gang will come visit.

Mahalo y'all,
Scott
As long as you don't wear ...Live Steam
Oct 23, 2003 4:56 AM
your Speedos while riding a pink Centurion, I'm OK with it. Hey everyone likes Hed :O)

What kind of splits do you do?
Depends on the distancesn69
Oct 23, 2003 9:19 AM
At my fitness peak 2.5 years ago before my "sabbatacle" in NOLA, I was posting 5-5.5 hour half IMs and 2.3 hour Olympics. My two full, completed IMs were death marches, with good swims (55 minutes) and decent bike legs (6.5 hours) leading to hobbling, pukey waddles--14 hours total. Yikes.

I promise, no speedos and no pink Centurions.
re: Enjoy and twak amongst ya'selves:Sintesi
Oct 22, 2003 6:44 PM
I fear for your nasal passages. Buy a humidifier.
Yeah, w/ a Jewish schnoz like this combined with global proxysn69
Oct 22, 2003 7:00 PM
one simply HAS to be careful, lest I inhale any of the pixie fumes that jacka@@ Maylasian PM has been snorting.

Where the sh!t have you been lately?! Haven't heard from you in a while, nor have we heard much from our favorite Bay Area leftie, Czar....

Scott, proxy master of the universe
Disagree with (1)OldEdScott
Oct 23, 2003 9:19 AM
Ten speeds ARE necessary, because ... wait a minute, you meant 10 speeds in BACK.

As for the rest, all true, including your reference to my ethnicity. I would have responded sooner, but like all my redneck brothers this time of year (just after harvest, just before deer season) I've been immersed in re-reading Proust.