RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Good movie lately?(24 posts)

Good movie lately?moneyman
Oct 13, 2003 12:19 PM
hoo's request re: books got me thinking. My wife and I attend an art film series at a local theater. The last two films were "Whale Rider" and "Winged Migration." I highly recommend them both, especially "Winged Migration." The last "popular" movie I saw was "Freaky Friday" which, if you have teenage daughters, is waaaaaaay to true.

So....

Seen any good movies lately?

$$
DVD rental: The Recruitsacheson
Oct 13, 2003 12:44 PM
I thought it was pretty good ... but then again, I think anything Pacino is in is pretty good.

Netflix and a nicer than average home entertainment system has me converted, I don't think I've seen a movie in the theater for over a year.
Gangs of New YorkColnagoFE
Oct 13, 2003 1:00 PM
Just watched this one Hella violent, but a good epic story. Don't get this if anyone watching is squeamish about fight scenes. It's a bit long at 3+ hours so pick a night you can stay up later.
If your renting howz aboutlotterypick
Oct 13, 2003 1:59 PM
A Walk to Remember.
The Majestic.
IT could happen to you.
re: Good movie lately?BCtriguy1
Oct 13, 2003 2:38 PM
1) Confessions of a Dangerous Mind <-- amazing story, not a crazy action movie like the title implies

2) Momento. Good mind bender/mystery

3) Donny (possibly spelt Donney) Darko

4) Matchstick Men was alright... a nice story but left me a bit dissapointed at the end.

I LOVED Winged Migration!

If you're into the film festival stuff, check out:
1) Spellbound. It's an amazing documentry about kids from across America in this spelling competition. Sounds cheesy, but it's one of the best movies I saw this year.
2) Swimming Pool.
Spellbound and Swimming Poolmoneyman
Oct 13, 2003 2:46 PM
Are on our schedule. Spellbound is this Wednesday. Looking forward to it. Thanks.

$$
Let me know what you think!BCtriguy1
Oct 13, 2003 3:01 PM
Post a "movie report" or something.

I saw it a little while ago at my campus theatre and have just been raving about it to anyone who'll listen!
donnie darko was cool (nm)ColnagoFE
Oct 14, 2003 7:40 AM
A friend is recommending "Concert for George"The Walrus
Oct 13, 2003 3:11 PM
I haven't seen it yet, but current or former Beatle fans should catch it. I've gotten way behind in my film watching; the best thing I've watched lately (for the third time) is "King of Masks". If you're up for Chinese period films with subtitles, it's worth renting (sorry--no kung fu or megadeath shootouts in it).
Whale RiderPaulCL
Oct 13, 2003 5:01 PM
Sorry, just didn't get that one. I found it to be very slow. Maybe becuase I went with my children. But I did enjoy "Freaky Friday" with my daughters.

The good, the bad...

"Under the Tuscan Sky"...Tuscany, Diane Lane..need I say more?
"Unfaithful"..Diane Lane again. Didn't enjoy. Bothered me.
"Antwone Fisher" ..Denzel Washington. Great, great movie.
"Agent Cody Banks" my five yr old son LOVES this one. Not bad for Mom and Dad either.
Spirited Away, for family viewing.dr hoo
Oct 14, 2003 6:34 AM
Great flick. Amazing look and good story.

For the adult viewers I think Secretary is a good choice. A beautiful coming of age love story with an amazing opening sequence that works as a great hook. Don't rent it if you are running for political office. Or bothered by bondage. But if you get past that, the film is well worth the time.

Western double feature special: The Magnificent Seven, followed by The Seven Samurai (one of the greatest films ever made). You can't go wrong with Kurosawa.
loved spirited away...strange little cartoonColnagoFE
Oct 14, 2003 7:44 AM
Secretary was good though not great IMO. Seemed to drag a bit at times and had too much of a "hollywood" ending for my taste.
l didn't claim Secretary was great.dr hoo
Oct 15, 2003 5:52 AM
I said it was a nice coming of age love story. Sappy in a lot of ways. That is why I suggested it for moneyman, because he is a nice innocent soul who likes sappy things :)
Agree on Spirited Awaymickey-mac
Oct 15, 2003 6:00 AM
I bought it on DVD for my 6 year old daughter. She'd watch it every day if we left her. I enjoy watching it too. To borrow one of those Hollywood review cliches, it's visually stunning.
Don't overlook "Princess Mononoke"The Walrus
Oct 15, 2003 10:56 AM
...another animated flick by Miyazaki, which shares that fabulous quality of artwork. It might be a bit intense for a 6 yr old, though.
Thanks for the tipmickey-mac
Oct 15, 2003 8:05 PM
I'm going to find it and pre-screen it before determining whether it's appropriate for my daughter. She generally deals pretty well with scary/intense films and likes to discuss them openly. She's never had any bad dreams or other adverse reactions that seem to be related to scary movies.
My Neighbor Totorimickey-mac
Oct 15, 2003 8:29 PM
After reading that it's more appropriate for the younger crowd, I ordered this one for my daughter. It also gets rave reviews.

On the subject of completely different Japanese films, you seen Ichi the Killer, the Happiness of the Katakari, or Battle Royale? They're all interesting and disturbing in a uniquely Japanese way. The Japanese actor who plays the former teacher and organizer of Battle Royale really nails the role. Ichi is interesting but most certainly not for the faint of heart.
If you want to be really sad...dr hoo
Oct 16, 2003 4:27 AM
... watch "Grave of the Fireflies". It's about 2 japanese orphans at the end of WWII. Beautiful, well crafted, and about the biggest downer movie EVER.
Thanks for the tip--I'll check it outThe Walrus
Oct 16, 2003 11:06 AM
I love depressing movies; two of my favorites were "To Live" and "Xiu-Xiu the Sent-Down Girl", both Chinese films of the last 5 or 10 years. I recommended "Xiu-Xiu" to a friend who cursed me and said she felt like committing suicide after watching it--now
i that's
an endorsement!
Haven't seen any recent Japanese films...The Walrus
Oct 16, 2003 10:44 AM
...I'm more familiar with Kurosawa or Ichikawa or Imamura--ever see Kon Ichikawa's "The Makioka Sisters"? It's a chick flick, but it might be the most beautifully filmed work I've ever watched, and I saw it about a dozen times at the Monica theater--I'd just sit back and let that visual splendor wash over me for a couple hours. Never even heard of Ichi the Killer, though I'm a big fan of Zatoichi, the blind swordsman (did you ever go to those yearly samurai movie festivals at the Monica back in the 80s?)
No Samurai flicksmickey-mac
Oct 16, 2003 7:07 PM
I was spending my time at the Whisky, the Starwood, and other clubs rather than the Monica in the early '80s. Honestly, I've never caught any samurai flicks. Ichi is one of the most violent and disturbing movies I've seen. Although the violence is somewhat cartoonish and funny at times, the violence against woman portrayed in the film is hard to watch. The Happiness of the Katakari is sort of a twisted Japanese version of the Sound of Music. The Katakaris by a chateau in the Japanese Alps. One by one, their guests start to die. Fearing that publicity of the deaths will kill business, they haul the corpses out into the forest for crude burials. The wacky part is that the characters burst into song and the most inappropriate times. It's a bit self-involved but fun nonetheless.
Bowling for ColumbineStarliner
Oct 15, 2003 9:44 PM
I'd be interested in hearing an honest critique of this film from you.

I just saw "The Italian Job" and found it entertaining as an action movie. A good cast, what violence there was was appropriate to the story and not overdone, no graphic or gratuitous sex.

"Mulholland Drive" is a strange, surrealistic story which I wouldn't recommend to anybody east of the Sierra Nevada mountains unless you have a seriously artistic bent. I had to see it twice to figure the whole thing out. But when I did, I realized I had just watched a brilliant film.
Bowling for ColumbineBCtriguy1
Oct 15, 2003 10:25 PM
I have absolutely no idea what happened during mulholland drive. I think I actually knew less about the movie AFTER I watched it...

I'm very eager to watch it again though.
Mulholland DriveStarliner
Oct 16, 2003 8:52 AM
If you want some help in figuring it out, I'd be happy to help. I don't want to spoil the fun of self-discovery so I won't say much now except that much of the movie is a dream-like flashback woven into reality, with the transitions only visible when you understand what the whole thing is about. It's important to know from whose point of view you are seeing things - a clue for me which I picked up the second viewing was understanding the absolutely very first scene of the movie in which you, the movie viewer, see what seems to be a blurry image of a pillow coming closer and closer until it faded into blackness, and then cuts into the limousine sequence where the movie really kicks off. When I first saw the movie, I went into it thinking I was going to see a murder mystery. I thought that first scene was about someone getting smothered to death, so I prepared myself to find out who and why and so on as the movie progressed. But instead, the movie just took off in its own direction from there and it became easy to get lost in all the imagery and seemingly disconnected scenes.

The second time I saw it, I realized what the pillow scene was really about; which character it was tied to; and what it meant. That gave sense to what followed, and the movie became for me what I consider a real masterpiece of cinematic art.