RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Limbaugh to treatment center(35 posts)

Limbaugh to treatment centerClydeTri
Oct 10, 2003 11:25 AM
LIMBAUGH: 'I AM ADDICTED TO PRESCRIPTION PAIN MEDICATION'... 'WILL ENTER 30-DAY TREATMENT CENTER'... 'I TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR MY PROBLEM'... 'I WANT TO ASK FOR YOUR PRAYERS'...
complete story hereClydeTri
Oct 10, 2003 11:27 AM
Rush Limbaugh Statement on Prescription Pain Medication Stories
Friday October 10, 2:55 pm ET

NEW YORK, Oct. 10 /PRNewswire/ -- Rush Limbaugh today issued the following statement on his radio program:
"You know I have always tried to be honest with you and open about my life. So I need to tell you today that part of what you have heard and read is correct. I am addicted to prescription pain medication.

"I first started taking prescription painkillers some years ago when my doctor prescribed them to treat post surgical pain following spinal surgery. Unfortunately, the surgery was unsuccessful and I continued to have severe pain in my lower back and also in my neck due to herniated discs. I am still experiencing that pain. Rather than opt for additional surgery for these conditions, I chose to treat the pain with prescribed medication. This medication turned out to be highly addictive.

"Over the past several years I have tried to break my dependence on pain pills and, in fact, twice checked myself into medical facilities in an attempt to do so. I have recently agreed with my physician about the next steps.

"Immediately following this broadcast, I am checking myself into a treatment center for the next 30 days to once and for all break the hold this highly addictive medication has on me. The show will continue during this time, of course, with an array of guest hosts you have come to know and respect.

"I am not making any excuses. You know, over the years athletes and celebrities have emerged from treatment centers to great fanfare and praise for conquering great demons. They are said to be great role models and examples for others. Well, I am no role model. I refuse to let anyone think I am doing something great here, when there are people you never hear about, who face long odds and never resort to such escapes. They are the role models. I am no victim and do not portray myself as such. I take full responsibility for my problem.

"At the present time, the authorities are conducting an investigation, and I have been asked to limit my public comments until this investigation is complete. So I will only say that the stories you have read and heard contain inaccuracies and distortions, which I will clear up when I am free to speak about them.

"I deeply appreciate all your support over this last tumultuous week. It has sustained me. I ask now for your prayers. I look forward to resuming our excursion into broadcast excellence together."

For audio/video clip(s) of Rush Limbaugh's on-air statement, please go to www.rushlimbaugh.com and/or www.premieretalk.com.
We're pullin' for you, Rush. Get well soon! (nm)Dale Brigham
Oct 10, 2003 11:35 AM
back painDougSloan
Oct 10, 2003 11:43 AM
Anyone who has had back pain might understand.

I suspect there were only snippets of truth in the Enquirer story.

Doug
Sorry. No excuse.KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 12:41 PM
As one who had a herniated disk and couldn't even sit down before I was operated on; yes there is a lot of pain. However, that is no excuse for becoming addicted to painkillers.
It HAS to be a good excuse ...sacheson
Oct 10, 2003 1:59 PM
Rush is the voice of ultra conservatives. He has the correct party and religious affiliations, it must be a solid excuse. I mean, no Republican as die-hard as Rush would take prescription pain killers because they got a high out of it ... no way ... there's got to be some legitimate excuse for it.
Sorry. No excuse.Alpedhuez55
Oct 10, 2003 8:21 PM
People handle pain differently. I have had back and shoulder problems. When I was given a perscription for pain killers, they went unused. I can live with a lot of pain and prefer to be in control. Other people I know are dependent on pain killers for things that are not that major.

Good for him getting help, but he will lose credibility on some topics. I think he will come back pretty strong though.

Mike Y.
agree, but they are pretty easy to abuseColnagoFE
Oct 13, 2003 7:59 AM
When I broke my scapula I took Percocet which isn't nearly as strong as Vicodin or Oxycontin from what I hear. After being pleasantly stoned on them for a week I decided to not refill the perscription because I was getting to like them a little too much. I can see how someone in chronic pain with access to lots of pills could easily get addicted to them.
Vicodin heaing loss isn't so implausible nowMe Dot Org
Oct 10, 2003 3:11 PM
A few days ago when I postulated that Limbaugh's hearing loss might be related to Vicodin abuse, I was shot down for basing the theory on a tabloid report.

Now Rush has taken personal responsibility for his drug problem.

I'm sure the fact that he was outed publicly had no relationship to his having a "come to Jesus" about his drug problem.
Is back pain a load of B.S. ?critmass
Oct 13, 2003 9:35 PM
If, as he claims, he had unsuccessful spinal surgery in the 1990s, why did he take up golf in 1997?

Two links:

The first one is an interview he gave this year at a golf tournament. Note that he says there's nothing physically wrong with him. Also note that he says he took up golf in 1977.

The second is to another interview from this year that says he's been playing for only six years, then mentions a handful of tournaments he's been in.

http://www.asapsports.com/golf/2003celebrity/071703RL.html

http://www.golfserv.com/gdc/news/article.asp?id=15650
andcritmass
Oct 13, 2003 9:49 PM
The real cost of Dubya's lies and misadventures
As of 10/13/03: 384 grieving families
Total U.S. wounded since March 20th: 1831

10/13/03 Centcom: Confirms death
BAGHDAD, Iraq – One 4th Infantry Division soldier was killed and two were wounded in at attack at approximately 11:15 a.m. on Oct. 13.

10/13/03 Centcom: Confirms Death
TIKRIT, Iraq – One 4th Infantry Division soldier was killed when a rocket propelled grenade struck a Bradley vehicle in Tikrit at approximately 1:15 p.m. on Oct. 13.

10/13/03 Centcom: 1 Death Confirmed
One 1st Armored Division soldier was killed and another was wounded when their M2 Bradley vehicle struck a mine northwest of Bayji at approximately 7:45 p.m. Oct. 12.
Show biz, politics, and nothing personal.OldEdScott
Oct 13, 2003 5:35 AM
Among political pros, it's axiomatic (and necessary) that politics is never personal. You mangle someone bloody all day long, then when work is over you punch the time clock and have a beer or six. Courtroom attorneys, of whom there are more on this board that political pros, I'm sure understand.

In show biz, what you see is rarely what you get. You get a PERFORMANCE. Arnold S. in real life isn't the Terminator. Rush Limbaugh in real life isn't Rush Limbaugh.

Plus, if we (the Left) take the Right to task for its indisputable hypocrisy on so many things, how can WE be hypocrites on this? It has long been our position that drug abuse is not a moral failure, and that anyone who wants treatment should get it and be supported in that struggle. However annoying Rush's politics (and regardless of whatever he's said about drug abuse in the past), I think we need to be consistent.

He's an American and a patriot (as anyone is who chooses to participate in the civic/political life of this country IS, Ms. Coulter notwithstanding) and there's going to be plenty of time (and plenty of REAL issues) down the road to resume mangling him bloody. You may have noticed a very muted or Rush-supportive reaction to this among Democrat pols. That's where the party is, and where it should be, and we all wish him well.
Good stuff. nmNo_sprint
Oct 13, 2003 8:54 AM
Limbaabaa is just another junkiecritmass
Oct 13, 2003 9:24 PM
Those of us who see drugs as a medical and societal problem should treat our "enemies" regarding this issue the same as we treat all drug addicts.

We live in a society where parents and doctors start school kids on mind and mood-altering drugs at early ages, Addiction will probably continue to be a problem and probably increase in severity as a societal problem over the next years and decades.

For me, even though I think him a buffoon, this is about a legal problem for Limbaabaa Like I said below maybe this will educate a few people about the problems we have with our insane drug laws.
In the state of Florida the penalties for possessing certain drugs are based on the weight of those drugs.

OxyContin is listed as a Schedule II narcotic.

Limbaugh is alleged to have possessed as many as 1000 tablets of OxyContin on several occasions. OxyContin is manufactured in 10 mg 20 mg 40 mg 80 mg and 160 mg tablets. One thousand tablets at the smallest 10 mg dosage would contain 10 grams of oxycodone. One thousand tablets at the greatest 160 mg dosage would yield 160 grams of oxycodone. Either amount would make Limbaugh subject to the Florida law regarding "Trafficking in illegal drugs."

Note that the statutes do not contain any provisions for personal use. Note also the mandatory minimums below.

Florida Statutes
893.135 Trafficking; mandatory sentences;
(c)1. Any person who knowingly sells, purchases, manufactures, delivers, or brings into this state, or who is knowingly in actual or constructive possession of, 4 grams or more of oxycodone, or 4 grams or more of any mixture containing any such substance, but less than 30 kilograms of such substance or mixture, commits a felony of the first degree, which felony shall be known as "trafficking in illegal drugs," punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. If the quantity involved:
a. Is 4 grams or more, but less than 14 grams, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 3 years, and the defendant shall be ordered to pay a fine of $50,000.
b. Is 14 grams or more, but less than 28 grams, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 15 years, and the defendant shall be ordered to pay a fine of $100,000.
c. Is 28 grams or more, but less than 30 kilograms, such person shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 25 calendar years and pay a fine of $500,000.
good wordsDougSloan
Oct 15, 2003 6:20 AM
You earn extra humanity points, scoring 1 free pass for me to shut up and concede any argument you want; cash in at any time. ;-)

Doug
Go Rush Go!!!PseuZQ
Oct 10, 2003 11:45 AM
I am *so* not a Rush Limbaugh Fan. But this is good news.

Wow, what a bottom -- being outed by the National Enquirer. He should thank God for that rag. It may have saved his life.
good point nmDougSloan
Oct 10, 2003 11:47 AM
I'm sorry. All I can do is go;KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 12:13 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! As the favorite book of the right wing says; "pride goeth before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall". Really, I'm glad the guy is getting help, but if anyone deserved this, it was Rush. C'mon; flame away!
Just wondering...No_sprint
Oct 10, 2003 12:45 PM
Why did he *deserve* this?

I don't get the laughter or humor either...
because ...sacheson
Oct 10, 2003 1:56 PM
... he has historically taken great pride in exposing peoples' weaknesses, and using those weaknesses to challenge their integrity on his highly one-sided soap box.

Rush should have learned the addage years ago: 'those in glass houses ...'

Admit it, if some liberal leader (Clinton, maybe?) came out with the same confession, you'd be taking equal shots against them.

Personally, I hope he's strong enough to overcome it - and I hope this realization will aid him in being a little more accepting of those reputations he loves to soil so much.
Well, I'll tell you why;KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 5:20 PM
Rush seems to enjoy deriding others (who aren't ultra-conservative) and don't share his views, etc, etc. He had it coming.If this were say, some "liberal" talk show host or personality, you can bet your last dime that good 'ol Rusty be all over it like a fly on poop.
How often do you listen?No_sprint
Oct 13, 2003 7:15 AM
and he is surely not the only person from either side of the MOR line who picks apart others. I guess there are a lot of people out there who have it coming.

So, how often do you listen? Must be pretty often to be able to form such a strong opinion.
Clearly, you are a Limbaugnabee...miposy
Oct 13, 2003 4:26 PM
Rush is reaping what he has sown. As so many before him, liberal and conservative, it is pretty clear that all the hate he was spewing towards other "imperfect" human beings could have just as easily been hatred towards himself.

Limbaugh earned this, and as he has never shown compassion to the people he likes to attack, nor a balanced point of view towards human failings, the last thing he deserves is sympathy or pity.

"Pride goeth before a fall." Limbaugh just got a lot older before learning this than is normal.
Umm, NEVER?!KG 361
Oct 13, 2003 6:35 PM
Not never-I have heard him more times than I would like but not by choice. I heard enough to know that he is a self-righteous hypocritical bigot with little toerance for anyone else who doesn't share his rather narrow view of the world. Strong opinion? You bet. That seems to be OK if you are of like mind with him; apparantly not OK if you disagree.
Well, you having not listened to the show, ever...No_sprint
Oct 14, 2003 7:43 AM
makes you incapable of making any sort of intelligent judgement. Getting a biased snippet here and there from haters skews your non-intelligence even further. Secondly, he is an entertainer putting on a show. He knows his niche.

Such a strong opinion of hate from someone who has never listened... What a moron! LOL
Shouldn't you read his post before replying? (nm)DJB
Oct 14, 2003 10:29 AM
Speaking of MORONS, read my post.KG 361
Oct 14, 2003 4:06 PM
I heard way too much of Rush as my red-necked carpenters put up my front porch with him babbling in the background. I have also heard him other times, but why would I listen if I didn't have to? Do you listen to things that you find irritating and go against almost everything you believe in? I really don't hate the guy-I hate no one. I really do hope that he gets help, but he does have it coming to him.
It's all Bill Clintons faultMR_GRUMPY
Oct 10, 2003 12:56 PM
Without Bill Clinton, Rush was in constant pain.
On the other hand, maybe God just hit the "smite" button.
Everything, ultimately, is Clinton's fault =)KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 5:24 PM
Or so they would like us to believe. Really, though, a little bj in the oval office PALES in comparisn to starting a war to find weapons that don't exist.
No flames here...Cory
Oct 10, 2003 7:51 PM
I'm with you. He's been a self-righteous moralizing jackass for years. How sorry can I be that he's revealed as a hypocrite?
Here's where it starts to get interesting.Spoke Wrench
Oct 11, 2003 4:42 AM
If Rush gets serious about working the steps, there will be some major changes in his personality.
My thoughts exactly. (nm)PseuZQ
Oct 11, 2003 11:39 AM
We should not forget our own valuescritmass
Oct 12, 2003 10:24 AM
http://www.alternet.org/story.html?StoryID=16923

Let's hope this experience opens his eyes to the unjust plight of thousands of nonviolent drug offenders behind bars in this country.

BUT THEN
andcritmass
Oct 12, 2003 10:28 AM
The real cost of Dubya's lies and misadventures
As of 10/12/03: 381 grieving families
Total U.S. wounded since March 20th: 1807

10/12/03 Centcom: Roadside bomb wounds three U.S. soldiers
$30 million "house"filtersweep
Oct 13, 2003 5:24 AM
I only trust millionaires... not that it is a big deal in this day and age when everyone is a millionaire-

What a joke-

The silver lining, of course, is knowing how miserable he is... no need to wait for him to burn in hell when he's already going through this. Sorry- I have no sympathy for this guy.