RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Do Californians look this stupid from farther away?(7 posts)

Do Californians look this stupid from farther away?Cory
Oct 10, 2003 8:24 AM
I grew up there, and live right across the border in Reno, so I have trouble drawing back to take a wider view. Granting that Gray Davis did a pretty marginal job, it still seems obvious that he inherited a huge mess from Pete Wilson (including the energy deregulation that brought Davis down), then got hammered by the national economy. The recall was dead until Darrell Issa bought it. Now California's elected a guy with no experience, who wouldn't discuss his ideas or positions before the election, who's advised by that very same Pete Wilson, and who seems to be saying he can cut $8 billion from the budget without making any cuts.
Mass hysteria? Star worship? A sound political decision? How does it look from east of Boise?
Way crazyMR_GRUMPY
Oct 10, 2003 9:06 AM
I really loved it when he said that if things were not done his way, he'd "Take It To The People."
I seem to remember another person that was from his homeland, that said the same thing about 70 years ago.
(yes, this is a low blow, but it's still funny )
re: The worst of it is that were being sold outjrm
Oct 10, 2003 4:41 PM
to the bush administration. Yup GW is going to be calling arnolds shots for 3 years as long as GW can take california in 04'.
You got the best of the Kennedy ClanAlpedhuez55
Oct 10, 2003 7:37 PM
You got the pick if the Kennedy family. Give Arnold a chance. He cannot do much worse than Davis.

As for making 8 billion in cuts without making any cuts, it is just a budget freeze. If California is like other states they fudge their numbers. If they ask for a 10% increase and only get a 6% increase, they claim it is a 4% cut. I do not know the specifics, but I assume that his how he intends to cut without cutting.

I think the the budgets would be smaller if the politicians and media would define an increase as an increase instead of playing these numbers games. If Corpoate CEOs were to play those kinds of games with their figures, the same politicians and media would be calling for them to be thrown in jail.

Mike Y.
What about Joe? He's a pretty stand-up guy....eyebob
Oct 13, 2003 8:01 AM
(insert drunk Ted Kennedy reference here) don't you think? If you ask me, he's the next Kennedy to make an impact on the National level (should he choose to of course.)

PS You're right about the increase/cut issue. I hate it when either side uses it. It's crap.

BT

PPS Had any of those yummy cider doughnuts that are available up here these days?
What about Joe? He's a pretty stand-up guy....Alpedhuez55
Oct 13, 2003 9:54 AM
Hi BT, I actually used to work in a building where Joe K. had his office. He is a pretty nice guy. My city was almost placed in his district. During this time, I ran into him on the elevator and asked him if he new what was going on. He said there was a plan on the table that would put Medford into his district and then said he hoped he would have my support. I told him that I would work hard to make sure he lost. He smiled and came up and talked to me the next couple of times he saw me.

I do not think he has much too look forward to politically though. Maybe he would have ran for Gov last time around if he had any real plans for the future. My guess is he is waiting for his uncle to either retire or expire and he will run for senate. He is I guess a little better than Ted since he only paralized somone in his driving accident ;) And of course Joe K. also set his son on fire once using fireworks.

He has done good work with Citizen energy and his drug program. Maybe if a Dem wins the White House they would consider him for a Cabinet position. I would still go with Arnold over Joe K though.

I have not had any of those cider donuts. I am trying to avoid that stuff. I did have some apples my sister picked last week though.

Mike Y.
from far away all you see is L.A.dr hoo
Oct 11, 2003 4:01 AM
And in Los Angeles the lead on the local news is often the newest plastic surgery technique. When I lived there they came out with Botox, which was covered in the news for DAYS.

Crazy? Botulism injections?

Naahhhhh.