RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


politics? just a cult of personality?(12 posts)

politics? just a cult of personality?ColnagoFE
Oct 8, 2003 6:52 AM
i mean jesse the body ventura? now ahnold? is fame the only qualification for getting elected these days? god forbid you actually get elected on your political stand.
Personality, money, stand on issues, in that order. nmOldEdScott
Oct 8, 2003 6:55 AM
fewDougSloan
Oct 8, 2003 7:00 AM
You've only cited 2 examples out of thousands of people elected to office.

I think their fame certainly helped, but also I think many people really do agree with them on the issues.

Doug
issues?Duane Gran
Oct 9, 2003 8:25 AM
I think their fame certainly helped, but also I think many people really do agree with them on the issues.

In the case of Arnold, I'm curious what issues he stands for? From what I have heard he claims that he won't raise taxes and in fact will eliminate the car tax. Given the California budget crisis it seems to me that it can be addressed in three ways:


  1. raise taxes
  2. decrease services
  3. economic improvement to increase tax revenue


Everybody wants the third case, but barring that a politician has to take a stand for one or both of the first two. From what I've seen, Arnold has dodged this fundamental issue. What issues does Arnold align himself with that someone could agree or disagree with? He ran a campaign on "terminate Davis".
don't forget Gopher from Love Boatmohair_chair
Oct 8, 2003 7:22 AM
The cult of personality around Fred Grandy swept him off the fake high seas and right into Congress! Who will play Fred in "The Fred Grandy Story?"

Your reasoning is actually absurd, since your sample is only two. Look at who else was running. Gary Coleman is famous, and he only got 0.1% of the vote (which is about 11,999 votes to many). Hell, a porn star got 10,000 votes. And what did fame do for Gallagher? 4,000 votes. He should have busted more fruit.
but none of those other candidatesrufus
Oct 8, 2003 7:55 AM
had the political machine backing them like ahnold did, lending his campaign the legitimacy that the others didn't.
neither did arnoldmohair_chair
Oct 8, 2003 8:29 AM
Arnold jumped into this thing alone and by surprise. The Republican party didn't form a bandwagon until almost the last week, after Uberroth, Issa, and Simon dropped out, McClintock couldn't win, Huffington dropped out, and Bustamente started polling badly. Even then, Republican backing was luke warm. It could hardly be called a machine, and even the Republican party had no idea he would do so well. There's a lot of shock and awe around the state.

It is fair to say that Arnold had more backing than Gary Coleman, but doesn't that help prove the cult of personality claim false? Coleman might even have a more recognizable face than Arnold, and it didn't seem to gain him much backing.
what chu talkin bout willis?ColnagoFE
Oct 8, 2003 8:45 AM
how many voted did gary coleman get anyway? can you imagine his campaign? "what chu talkin bout davis?"
0.2%mohair_chair
Oct 8, 2003 8:56 AM
According to the current vote counts, which will probably go up as absentee ballots are counted, Gary Coleman got 12,443 votes. He is sandwiched between Hustler publisher Larry Flynt (15,010) and porn star Mary Carey (Mary Cook, 9,716), which is a frightening image.

All of them beat "comedian" Gallagher (4,742). In last place is George Schwartzman, with 10 votes. Arnold got 3,552,787.
i think cult of personality within reason.rufus
Oct 8, 2003 2:37 PM
i don't think anyone would be electing heidi fleiss or tom arnold for any office. but if it's someone famous, seems reasonably bright, not too out there, and they're a shoe-in.

besides, arnold had warren buffett, and whoever that california congressman was(what's his name, dreier?) pushing him out there, and those two had the political contacts to grease the rails for arnie in a way that other famous names didn't.
stars are starsSao
Oct 8, 2003 8:05 AM
Stars are always going to garner all the headlines and press regardless of how many votes they get. It's easy to see an Arnold and think that fame is all that people look for anymore when really it's their fame and exposure that amplify something anecdotal rather than a trend.

In this case, the trend was that people hated Gray Davis a lot more than anybody thought. Arnold took the middle ground and walked away with the win.

Despite his political inexperience, I think that people have the sense that they "know" more about Arnold than the other longtime pols. Way more than Bustamante for sure.
He's just an actor!?!?!?!? LOLbic
Oct 8, 2003 5:00 PM
Have any of you listened to Arnold. Checked his success's not only on film but in business and working with people from all parties and countries? As I said when he first got into the race. Please, continue to underestimate the guy. He ran on a conservative fiscal policy and did not even bring up any other issue's.