RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


On McNabb, Rush may be right...(22 posts)

On McNabb, Rush may be right...Captain Morgan
Oct 2, 2003 5:07 AM
...but he's wrong on this one.

I was watching this weekend when he made his remarks about McNabb. He said he was given too much credit because the media wants to make a black quarterback look good. This is one of the silliest things I have heard.

First, what is "the media"? There are thousands of sportscasters, writers, talk show hosts, etc. Does Rush think they had a combined secret meeting in order to discuss black QB's? Or perhaps they jut did it the old fashioned way -- word of mouth? "pssst. let's make McNabb look good because he's black. pass the word."

Fact is, McNabb had the 3rd best QB rating in 2001. As far as I know, this is a statistical measure, and a person's height, weight, and color are not factors in the calculation.

With over a half dozen starting QB's as well as black coaches, I thought that this was no longer an issue.
why was Rush hired for that slot?ClydeTri
Oct 2, 2003 5:33 AM
They wanted a Howard Cosell type, somebody to make statements that would make people sit up, think, disagree, it makes for ratings..well, he did what they wanted, said something Politically Incorrect, not racist, then they gave in to the heat of the press.
Yup, "the media" definately needs a black QB to do well128
Oct 2, 2003 5:39 AM
that way all those liberals, dispelling centuries of conservative conviction to the contrary, can shout "See! Black
men really ARE good at sports"
??????

Exactly why, do "the media" need this??

There are what, 7,8 starting QB's in the league already fulfilling 'the media's' need. And McNabb has arguably just changed the game of football as his mobility has forced the defense to reinvent the fn wheel.

Sure the hairtrigger PC set get amped at anything 'raced', and their response will be as reckless as Limbaughs comment and the anticipated conservative defense of it, irregardless McNabb is no liberal patsy and Rush has not been paying attention to the NFL.
Rush just resigned. (nm)PaulCL
Oct 2, 2003 5:57 AM
and Mickey Mouse just called him into the office. Hmm. nm128
Oct 2, 2003 6:31 AM
hypocrisyDougSloan
Oct 2, 2003 6:37 AM
There is hyprocrisy at play here, as normal.

The "media" has at least reported over the last 20 years that there were too few black quarterbacks and black coaches. It's been a huge issue at times, and there may have even been a lawsuit or two at times concerning the coaches. No doubt whatsoever it's been made an issue.

Now, when someone mentions the fact that one quarterback has been hyped because he's black, all the sudden it's an evil thing to say.

Which way do you want it? Do we want race to be an issue or not? Is it only off limits for some?

We ALL know what's really going on here:

1. No one can comment on race, except those promoting or defending minorities.

2. Some speakers could get away with what was said; if it were anyone but a conservative, it would have been ignored, or they would have given some half-hearted apology and it would have been forgotten.

3. Everything Rush Limbaugh says, particularly outside his own program, will be scrutinized for any non-PC content, and the slightest opportunity for criticism will be exploited beyond reason to do anything to demonize him.

Yes, Rush should have known all the above and refrained from ever mentioning race. Right or wrong, the double-standard strictly applies to him. But, he's neven been one to pull punches, and I doubt he was hired simply because he knew something about football.

Doug
Mr. Big Mouth may be in troubleMR_GRUMPY
Oct 2, 2003 6:48 AM
Maybe yes, maybe no, but there have been allegations of drug use. I heard on the radio, this AM, that his housekeeper claims to have been supplying him with pain killers, for quite some time.
Like I said... Too early to tell.
much ado about nothingColnagoFE
Oct 2, 2003 7:21 AM
I don't like Rush but I think it's crazy that everytime someone mentions race as a factor in anything--no matter how innocuous--that they are automatically branded a racist. I think the media does like to champion minority successes. Nothing wrong with it, but then again nothing wrong with someone calling them on it either. Now if the personmaking this statement about McNabb was black and not white and conservative like Rush this may have never become a news item.
PredictableAlex-in-Evanston
Oct 2, 2003 8:29 AM
Take him away from an audience self-selected because of shared caveman opinions and put him in front of a more demographically diverse one (albeit almost entirely male), and bingo. I'm surprised it took two months.

Explain it any way you like, but the bottom line is he claimed McNabb wouldn't be similarly valued if he were white. It is OFFENSIVE & WRONG to tell someone they are actually not as accomplished (in spite of evidence to the contrary) and have been lauded as such only because they are BLACK.

To have the temerity then to claim that the hubub caused by his piggish statements means he must have been right, defies explanation.

Alex
affirmative action?DougSloan
Oct 2, 2003 9:08 AM
"It is OFFENSIVE & WRONG to tell someone they are actually not as accomplished (in spite of evidence to the contrary) and have been lauded as such only because they are BLACK."

That's precisely what affirmative action is.

Doug
lots of scholarships race-based as well (nm)ColnagoFE
Oct 2, 2003 9:19 AM
BolognaAlex-in-Evanston
Oct 2, 2003 9:57 AM
Affirmative action does not brand the recipient as less accomplished, it affirms the fact that they had less opportunity.

Alex
It would have more effecy as" BALONEY"! nmLive Steam
Oct 2, 2003 10:09 AM
...not to mention the EFFICACY as well! (nm)The Walrus
Oct 2, 2003 6:58 PM
Yeah a typo with double the "effect" :O) (nm)Live Steam
Oct 3, 2003 4:16 AM
Broad brushAlex-in-Evanston
Oct 2, 2003 10:48 AM
I shouldn't have made a broad characterization of his listnership. I apologize.

Alex
Rush is the ultimate trollmohair_chair
Oct 2, 2003 8:41 AM
Rush thrives on the wake he leaves, not the splash he made. Getting all this attention has given him new life, I'm sure. What would be great is if no one paid any attention to him, but few can resist the troll.

I'm not a huge football fan, but off the top of my head, I can think of two QBs, Vick and McNair, who brought a lot of excitement into the NFL last year. But I guess Vick, for all his talent, is just a media creation. He's just a black Steve Young, right Rush?
Rush is a blowhardStarliner
Oct 2, 2003 10:21 AM
If you're going to make a controversial statement about anything, you've got to immediately support it with objective evidence and data (stats, etc.), otherwise you're toast.

McNabb is a good looking, well spoken, commercially marketable athlete who, despite throwing to a cast of undistinguished receivers, has managed to have both a high QB rating and taken his team to the playoffs the last few years.

I don't think Rush had solid evidence to back up his statement. I'm not surprised; he's made a career at being lazy with his info. It might work with his usual syncophantic audience, but not when he encounters a brighter, more objective audience. Kind of like what happened with Dr Laura when she crashed and burned in prime time.
White athletes over-rated, If African raced bikes Lance losesContinental
Oct 2, 2003 12:20 PM
It's the great-white-hope athletes who are over-rated. It's obvious that athletes of African descent are superior to athletes of European descent. So White society either creates games where African minorities don't have access to play, like tennis, golf, and cycling, or the media over-hypes marginally successful white athletes. If Cycling were an accessible sport it would be dominated by athletes of African descent, just like marathons, track and field events, and basketball are. We wouldn't even know Lance Armstrong's name.
Big time TROLL here!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nmLive Steam
Oct 2, 2003 6:34 PM
White athletes over-rated, but not Lance...lyleseven
Oct 5, 2003 5:28 PM
I thorougly agree with your statement that the great white hope athletes are over-rated. But your statement about cycling is way off base, certainly as to Lance and a lot of European cyclists. Lance is an unusual combination of both physical and mental toughness and his commitment to training is second to no one's.
now *that* sounds racist nmDougSloan
Oct 6, 2003 8:01 PM