RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I think I'll keep my shaved head . . .(11 posts)

I think I'll keep my shaved head . . .ms
Oct 1, 2003 10:31 AM
I have the double-whammy when it comes to hair -- male pattern baldness and the remaining hairs are prematurely gray (actually white). Three years ago I decided that shaving my head or keeping my remaining hairs cut very short was the best solution to my problems. Although I hate to admit it, I am envious of my peers that have lots of hair. In a weak moment, I sometimes wonder whether I should do something about it. Well, today I got the confirmation again that I want to keep my shaved head.

A college classmate was in town for a meeting and we had lunch today. He is (or was) as hair challenged as I am. When I saw him the last time, three years ago, he had a "system" -- in other words, a toupee that somehow was attached to his head. It did not look as bad as some hair pieces (He boasted that he spent thousands of dollars on the "system"), but I wasn't inspired to run out and get one. Today, he was sporting a "scalp reduction" and newly transplanted hair on his head. It was an improvement over the "system" but it still looked bad (and this was a good transplant, no obvious plugs or rows of hair that look like planted crops). There may be solutions for male pattern baldness that work. But, if my friend is any indication, the successful solutions are few and far between.

Male pattern baldness -- it is no fun, but the cures appear to be worse than the problem.
Low maintenance-filtersweep
Oct 1, 2003 10:40 AM
I like being able to go to the gym before or during work and NEVER having to deal with wet hair when I return (or bed-head in the early mornings). Bald is practical.
You mean head shaved! : ) LOL!128
Oct 1, 2003 11:23 AM
No offense intended. And I'm faaar from the grammar police. A mistake we can all make. Good one!

I think like 90% black guys look good shaved, maybe 30% white guys. I don't know why I see it that way....
Whatever , , ,ms
Oct 1, 2003 1:18 PM
as my 14 year old daughter would say.

I fall into the latter category of head shavers; I hope that I don't fall into your 70% group. But, even if I do, I think that I would look worse if I took one of the alternative paths -- comb-over, toupee, transplanted stands of hair, "scalp reduction" (the thought of that one gives me chills) . . . Someone repeated to me a comment from one of the late night talk show hosts (I can't remember which one) to the effect that black men with shaved heads look cool and white men with shaved heads look like they have cancer. I'll still keep my shaved head/head shaved.
I'm sure you look fine128
Oct 2, 2003 5:05 AM
Lots of white guys look good smooth. I agree that any of the alternative paths are worse. Talk about chills, don't they implant 'snaps' as a 'system' anchor. Uh.

Imagine the madness when a pill is invented that reverses the process!

Till then, stay fit, dress comfortable, and keep it short. (coloring optional)
As my hairline receeds...biknben
Oct 1, 2003 11:57 AM
Over the years, my forehead has gotten bigger and bigger. My hair has gotten thinner too. Keeping the hair short seems to disguise the problem. With short hair you see the scalp anyway. People don't think I'm balding. They assume the exposed scalp is just the haircut.

When people see older pics of me, I get those "Holy Sh!t" comments as people realize the secret I'm hiding. If my hair was long I'd look like George Castanza (sp?) from Seinfeld.

Short hair makes everything so easy. It's so low maint. I grew up with frustrating wavy hair that always looked bad. I wish I had cut it short a long time ago.

Short hair makes everything so easy. It's so low maint. I grew up with frustrating wavy hair that always looked bad. I wish I had cut it short a long time ago.
I like a man with a closely shaved headKristin
Oct 1, 2003 12:09 PM
Take heart. There are women who find it sexy. There's nothing hotter than a guy decked out in team gear, cranking on a nice bike, sportin' shaved legs, a shaved head and perhaps a little chin hair. Yummy.
Barber ...! :O) nmLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 12:54 PM
I like girls with shaved heads. Remember the first Star TrekOldEdScott
Oct 2, 2003 5:12 AM
movie? Persis Khambatta?
You've got to have the right face to pull that offKristin
Oct 2, 2003 6:23 AM
Demi is pretty hot by most peoples standards, but she didn't do as well with this look.
She'd look better w/out the stubble. nmOldEdScott
Oct 2, 2003 6:31 AM