RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


WES STILL A LOBBYIST(48 posts)

WES STILL A LOBBYISTLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 7:58 AM
Hey Ed I think your man has quite a few problems other than looking like a weasel and being aloof. He is a weasel with a lot of problems that will come out in the wash!
http://www.nypost.com/news/nationalnews/6904.htm
Nypost.com .... sounds fair and balanced.............NOT..nmMR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 8:15 AM
Fine stick your head in the sand!! nmLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 8:18 AM
Actually if you cared to read it ...Live Steam
Oct 1, 2003 8:20 AM
it wasn't refuted by him or his spokesperson. But I guess that's irrelevant!
But has george ever refuted that he's a dope ????? nm.MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 8:26 AM
You're the f#$king dope. Let's see your diplomas dumbf#$k...No_sprint
Oct 1, 2003 8:34 AM
Our great leader has one from Yale and another from Harvard business school. Not at all internet diplomas. We've had this discussion in here before.

You're a moron.
If you have the correct connections, even a pot head....MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 8:39 AM
can graduate from Yale.
Ps. What was his GPA ????
those degrees bought and paid for by daddy bush (nm)ColnagoFE
Oct 1, 2003 8:42 AM
As opposed to most college degreesTJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 8:46 AM
Which are paid for entirely by the diligent students working long hours to pay for them. Right.
Hey, Hey.........I paid for 90% of mine.MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 8:55 AM
Confessions of a college Bum : Back in school, I was a lot like george. I was in the long term NBS program. (not being shot). Not having an important daddy, I couldn't get into the National Guard.
I really hate to admit this, but I really don't think that I'm any smarter than george.......The shame.........sorry, I had to get that off of my chest.
I paid for 100%, but I'm the only person I know who did (nm)TJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 8:58 AM
Good work ....nmMR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 9:02 AM
how?ColnagoFE
Oct 1, 2003 10:18 AM
I paid for a most of mine as well but never minded the occasional $10-20 my dad slipped me in the mail once in a while. Selling men's suits only paid so much. Did you have a high paying job?
I worked at a bike shopTJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 10:28 AM
And if that's not high paying, I don't know what is. But I also worked as a trader part time.
Still paying! Do grants knock me out of the box? Paid off underg128
Oct 1, 2003 10:34 AM
rad but still chipping away a post-grad note. What I know are very few who get through without borrowing.
I worked in a ski shopLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 10:36 AM
I actually got to touch Christy Brinkley's bare feet :O) She and then hubby came in on a Sunday afternoon. She was interested in buying Après ski boots and yours truly got to help her with the fitting. She was super. Billy was still and a$$ at the time - about 20 years ago. She was like the girl next door dressed in a Champion sweat suit and in pig tails. Ahhh, I still remember it like it was yesterday :O) This story always makes the Mrs. jealous :O)
Makes ME jealous! nmOldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 10:43 AM
90% of Idiots U. doesn't mean a darn thing. nmNo_sprint
Oct 1, 2003 9:00 AM
"I really don't think that I'm any smarter than george" DUHbic
Oct 1, 2003 6:14 PM
tell us something thats not so obvious.
How does a C-level student get into those schools?ColnagoFE
Oct 1, 2003 10:15 AM
I was disingenously suggesting he may have greased a few palms to get a C-level student into such historically good schools.
Affirmative action/Preferential admission policies. No secret128
Oct 1, 2003 10:27 AM
there. They don't have to bribe anyone really.

Wealthy donors and legacies get preferential admission.
It was a different eraTJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 10:30 AM
Mr. Bush had average grades at Andover, one of New England's more prestigious prep schools. The school I went to (another N.E. prep school) typically sent half of its class to Yale in the 1960's, and a "C" average was quite common. The yearbooks from that era have people bragging about the ONE "A" they got in four years.

Comparing that high school experience to the current grade-inflated era, or even public schools of that period, is impossible.
Sad that most (mean) of us are no longer good enough. nm128
Oct 1, 2003 10:39 AM
Just for comparison,TJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 10:51 AM
Mr. Gore went to St. Albans, a Washington D.C. school of similar stature (GWB had two brothers go there), and apparently graduated 25th in his class of 51 in 1965, which was almost certainly not much better than a C+ or B- average.

And he managed to go where? Harvard?

One of the ironies of the current campaign that is circulating among the New York social set is that the Deans are much more "old money" than the Bushes, and that the two families have much more in common than they have in difference.
The Cabots speak only to the Lodges128
Oct 1, 2003 11:11 AM
I don't think party affiliation is an admissions requirement, just money. The older the better.

You make the point- that the grades don't matter (at least a C of course), the pre-requisite is status.

Just about all Washington politicians are hard core money and legacies from the same educational conveyor belt. I too find they all have more in common than in difference: a grip on power.

My favorite part is when they take off the tie, put on a blue Oxford and roll up their sleevs on the campaign trail. Authentic.
Doug, this message is a direct, personal attackOldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 8:48 AM
("You're a moron") and should be deleted at once.
I think it's funny.....................nmMR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 9:00 AM
Me too, butOldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 9:04 AM
Rule are Rules and -- you know us liberals -- I like to see them enforced evenhandedly. Of course, Doug might think Truth is an absolute defense in cases like this, so non-right-wingers are fair game to be called morons!
Yes, some people have thin skins...........Not Me....nmMR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 9:07 AM
LOLOLOL!!!! So are you! nmNo_sprint
Oct 1, 2003 9:02 AM
Ever heard of a legacy? -nmfiltersweep
Oct 1, 2003 9:17 AM
Yellow journalism! Yellow journalism! ThatOldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 8:33 AM
yellow rag Post! Yellow Journalism! :0)

Isn't that the proper way to respond to news stories whose politics you disagree with, Steam?
Is the Post that bad ?MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 8:46 AM
The Chicago Tribune used to be a Republican paper, until the SunTimes went really wacky. Now they are just a little to the right.
Welcome back Dad!Live Steam
Oct 1, 2003 8:49 AM
Congratulations!! I hope you behaved yourself :O) See all the fun you have been missing around here?

Yellow journalism. He was given a chance to respond, but didn't. His aide did say it was in the process, though. I am sure it was just an oversight or something :O) I guess he is new to this "political game" and didn't understand the conflict of interest or ethical issues :O)
See post below re: wedding.OldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 8:57 AM
Yellow journalism! I'm supposed to believe this rag?? Yellow journailsm, yellow journalism! This yellow rag reporter claims to have given him a chance to respond?? Biased yellow media always says that! Yellow journalism, yellow journalism!

Hey, this style of debate is fun!
It's not an op-edTJeanloz
Oct 1, 2003 8:45 AM
Let's be reasonable here. The Post, which is often good for some laughs, has presented what appear to be facts. If Mr. Clark remains a registered lobbyist, that is a fact. It is also probably worth noting his business ties, considering the amount of criticism leveled at the administration for theirs.

The problem I see with this is that it takes an important plank out of the attack on the President. Kerry and Dean are getting some milage out of attacking what they see as profiteering for Bush's cronies. But Mr. Clark, who still sits on the board of this Company, would look a little foolish leveling the same charge - since he's clearly leveraging his military contacts to get this Company contracts (nothing wrong with that IMHO).
re: LIVE STEAM STILL SHOUTINGLeonnard
Oct 1, 2003 11:43 AM
Between the shouting, the overuse of the forced laugh "LOL", daily NYPost updates, and the elementary school name calling (Dumocrats), you're sounding more like a repeating parrot than anything else.
Well boo hooLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 12:15 PM
I guess I am not a sophisticated as you - Loennard :O) I think we all sometimes take this place too seriously - me included, but the boorishness you accuse me of displaying is a common trait among the liberal genre. I guess you have no problems when people like Martin Sheen show up at a rally pinned to a cross like Jesus? Or respect people like Mike Farrell when he calls Bush a Nazi. That wasn't too over the top, hey? Double standards are what your type are all about!
uuuhhh dudeLeonnard
Oct 1, 2003 12:30 PM
I'm a republican who thinks Bush is the wrong man for the job. Our party deserves better qualified, smarter, and better informed leadership. Dumb leaders lead dumb followers.
OK Leonnard with two "Ns", what makes you ...Live Steam
Oct 1, 2003 12:48 PM
a Republican? Saying you are one here on an Internet message board, to make some sort of point, doesn't make you one. Who is the "right man for the job" in your humble opinion? Oh, also, why don't you also tell us why Bush is the "wrong man for the job"! I don't remember ever hearing from you previously, so I need to be enlightened about your politics :O)
I bow down to your superior RepublicanismLeonnard
Oct 1, 2003 1:14 PM
You're confusing blind support for Bush and being a Republican. Real Republicans know the difference.
As a Republican, I support a strong national defense, lead by an effective statesman. Bush ain't cuttin' it.
As a Republican, I think the government should keep their hands out of our private lives. The Patriot Act is a lame excuse for Gov. to snoop.
As a Republican, I oppose abortion, gay marriages, and affirmative action. Bush can't come up with qualified nominees for courts who share my views. He's holding the party back.
You still didn't answer the questionsLive Steam
Oct 1, 2003 2:26 PM
Who do you support if not Bush? You spoke the strick conservative party line so let me guess - Pat Buchanan!

I was a registered Dumocrat for my entire voting career until this past year. I posted that tidbit here before. I registered as a Dem because I was asked to do so by a local stumping for some office, while sitting in a bar celebrating my 18 birthday. I never switched thinking that my being registered as a Dem and voting Republican was somehow sending a message. Boy was I wrong. The only Dumocrat I ever voted for was Koch. I recently sent in my change of party form. Now I am legit :O)

Oh by the way my support for Bush is not blind. I happen to agree with most of his agenda. As for court appointees, Bush has been stonewalled by the Dumocrats on that. Maybe you can come in with a real right wing conservative nominee and get it past their filibuster.

I am just playing around with you here because you don't even sound like a Republican.
Maybe he shouts because he is deaf to the truth.......nmMR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 12:39 PM
I don't think a liberal would know the truth if ...Live Steam
Oct 1, 2003 12:52 PM
it bit them in the a$$. They are so use to switching their positions and obfuscating, that I don't think it's possible for them to really know what they stand for or what the truth of the matter is. The Wilson case proves this very clearly. Let's see how many Dumocrats want to keep playing that tune when the truth does come out. I think a few of them already figured it out and that is why they already are trying to distance themselves from the story.
Liberals only "think" that they know the truth, while.....MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 1:13 PM
rightes know that the truth has been handed down to them, direct from god. Since the truth has come from god, anything and everything is permissible to defend that truth.
Lemme just say I'm a DumocratOldEdScott
Oct 1, 2003 3:29 PM
for Steam. At least he has a sense of humor, unlike most right wing ideologues, and unlike the gang of unprincipled thugs that has lately seized the White House like a cheap Third World junta.

I bet he'll come visit me in Treason Camp, too. Steam's a stand up guy.

:O) !!

By the way, if I were going to be a Republican, I'd be a Buchananite. Tells you something, eh?
If I was a filthy Republican, I'd be for McCain. Stand up guy..MR_GRUMPY
Oct 1, 2003 5:49 PM
At least one of you gets it :O)Live Steam
Oct 1, 2003 6:47 PM
and doesn't take everything so seriously. Buchanan? Dear lord you really go for the extremes. But from the sound of it you believe that the Bushies are more extreme than Heir Patrick? Well I guess he's as close to a cracka as you'll find in Washington. Thanks for the kind words :O)