RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


now this is scary.(15 posts)

now this is scary.rufus
Sep 29, 2003 3:49 PM
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=story&cid=536&ncid=536&e=3&u=/ap/20030923/ap_on_go_pr_wh/bush_interview

WASHINGTON - President Bush (news - web sites) says he is paying virtually no attention to the Democratic race for his job, even as the candidates sharpen their criticism of his performance.

"Well, occasionally it blips on my radar screen, but not nearly as much as you would think. I've got a job to do. I'm occupied," Bush said in a taped interview telecast Monday night on the Fox Broadcast Network.

"Their slogan is, 'Vote for me, I don't like George Bush,'" Bush said. "The American people are going to make that ultimate judgment as to whether or not I ought to be re-elected."

The president's 2004 campaign has been humming for months. He has raised more than $65 million at 21 fund-raising events since June for a Republican nomination for which he faces no opponent. His campaign offices employ dozens of people.

Bush said he insulates himself from the "opinions" that seep into news coverage by getting his news from his own aides. He said he scans headlines, but rarely reads news stories.

"I appreciate people's opinions, but I'm more interested in news," the president said. "And the best way to get the news is from objective sources, and the most objective sources I have are people on my staff who tell me what's happening in the world."


The interview was conducted Sunday and aired on the eve of Bush's address to the United Nations (news - web sites).

The president also dismissed critics who accuse the administration of poor postwar planning for Iraq (news - web sites).

"Obviously, I think they're going badly for the soldiers who lost their lives, and I weep for that person and their family. But no, I think we're making good progress," he said.

He said he had warned Americans on May 1 that Iraq remained a "dangerous" place, yet he maintained that his administration had not underestimated the postwar violence.

Turning to other topics, Bush stood strongly behind Federal Communications Commission (news - web sites) chairman Michael Powell on new media ownership rules that ease decades-old ownership restrictions.

The new rules touched off a firestorm of criticism from lawmakers of both parties, and Congress is now weighing repealing them.

"I support what Michael Powell did. He took a long, deliberative process," Bush said. But he was noncommittal on whether he would veto such repeal legislation.
Now can someone explain "objective" to little Georgie?Spoiler
Sep 29, 2003 4:39 PM
Objective-"Uninfluenced by emotion, surmise, or personal prejudice."

Why shouldn't he rely on them? He pays them a lot of money to remain objective.
I don't think it is an objectivity issue so much.dr hoo
Sep 30, 2003 4:02 AM
Yeah, bush doesn't know the meaning of the word, and I am sure his aides are picking which facts and which people's statements are "important" enough to tell him about.

I think the big problem is not the quality of information provided (which would be an objectivity issue) but rather groupthink (where counter proposals / devil's advocates / alternative hypotheses are not considered).

The "Righteous" are prone to this. So was kennedy, with the original groupthink study coming on his watch. But come to think of it, kennedy was kind of righteous too!
What are you libs smoking?53T
Sep 30, 2003 7:17 AM
GWB refers to his staff as objective, since he is comparing them to the news outlets and Democrat candidates. You have to learn to read in context. They actualy test that on the SAT's.

You couldn't possibly be arguing that the TV news is more objective than ________ (fill in the blank).
he is not comparing.rufus
Sep 30, 2003 8:01 AM
he is saying that his conservative staffers present him with objective information. his conservative staffers are no more, nor any less objective than news media.

btw, there are conservative news outlets, and liberal. you could probably call neither of them objective. just as you can't call conservative staffers objective.

i guess bill clinton's staff was objective as well. or is objectivity the sole domain of the right?
I can't accept that53T
Oct 1, 2003 7:50 AM
There is no way that I will accept that a White House staffer (I know two personally) is not 10X more objective than a TV news anchor/reporter/writer/producer. Staffers (Dem or Rep) are professional people involved in policy development and other important matters. TV news people are entertainers, trained monkeys with too much makeup, business school dropouts. To equate the two is just plain ignorant.
we're not talking tv news.rufus
Oct 1, 2003 8:35 AM
we're talking print media. and yes, they may present their own biases too. but i can't accept that you don't see that a staff from the conservative political spectrum won't interpret news from a conservative viewpoint, and disregard any news that emanates from sources that reflect differently.

sounds like rummy's pentagon and their iraq intelligence info. reject anything that doesn't conform to their political outlook, play up the news that supports their view. and blindly accept anything that ahmed chalabi and the INC tells them at face value. don't question, don't look deeper, don't try to disprove. just accept.
Interesting that you call me "lib" when...dr hoo
Sep 30, 2003 10:52 AM
... I am merely pointing out a well established aspect of organizational dynamics. Groupthink. It applies to the current administration. There are well established methods of avoiding it. They don't use those methods.

I think spys are needed. I want our spys to be nasty and effective. Keeping spys secrets is necessary. Revealing identies is serious business.

Funny, that doesn't sound "lib" to me.
You forgot rule #1MR_GRUMPY
Sep 30, 2003 11:17 AM
<<<<<< George can do no wrong >>>>>>
Do you mean Curious George?Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 11:24 AM
http://home.nyc.rr.com/jadedem/gw1.html
Awe Kristin, that one really hurt :O( nmLive Steam
Sep 30, 2003 11:44 AM
I know, I'm sorry. The wound isn't fatal I hope. nmKristin
Sep 30, 2003 11:51 AM
I'll survive, but it sullied my vision of you :O( nmLive Steam
Sep 30, 2003 12:04 PM
You had a vision of me?Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 12:13 PM
I hope, at least, that I was hot and dressed like a podium girl!
>;O) nmLive Steam
Sep 30, 2003 12:18 PM