RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Adultry punishable by death(13 posts)

Adultry punishable by deathCaptain Morgan
Sep 25, 2003 5:35 AM
I read a disturbing article regarding Islamic law in Nigeria. Apparently women and men who have sex out of marriage are punished by burying them up to the neck and then stoning them to death.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,98270,00.html

Good thing it is a peaceful religion. I dread to think what the punishment would have been if it were not such a peaceful religion.
re: Adultry punishable by deathMR_GRUMPY
Sep 25, 2003 5:41 AM
He's off the hook, because he denied he was the father. She got pregnant, so she has to die.
so, is your point ...sacheson
Sep 25, 2003 6:19 AM
... that this is a disgusting display of power by this court citing Islamic Law as its reasoning?

That Islamics are disgusting people because this can happen?

Yeah, this is vile, but I hardly think you can generalize a religion from this one article ... from Fox News nonetheless!
the savages aren't so savage ...sacheson
Sep 25, 2003 6:43 AM
http://abcnews.go.com/wire/World/ap20030925_660.html
your info. is out of dateMJ
Sep 25, 2003 6:40 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/africa/09/25/nigeria.stoning/index.html
Yes, but Ashcroft is thinking of using stoning as aMR_GRUMPY
Sep 25, 2003 7:10 AM
punishment for women who have had abortions.
but it's just a difference of opinion!! - nmMJ
Sep 25, 2003 7:23 AM
Contrast in cultures moreso than religionsn69
Sep 25, 2003 7:22 AM
While Shariah law dictates behavior standards and punitive codes based on one interpretation of Islam, H's Code outdates the rise of Muhammed within the region. It's part of the lifestyle in the Middle East. If you thought this case was disturbing, don't ever venture near "chop-chop" square on punishment day in Riyadh.

...Then again, a great many countries and cultures think that we're barbaric for the death penalty.
But, do you notice that it is always women that pay..MR_GRUMPY
Sep 25, 2003 7:57 AM
for "sexual crimes." Whether it's "honor killings" or the social stigma of having an abortion.
A Generalization.Jon Billheimer
Sep 25, 2003 8:16 AM
Yes, I do think Islamic countries are barbaric when it comes to human rights, including the treatment of wo men. Regardless of how you want to dissect religion from culture from a functional point of view it's all pretty much the same. In my opinion Islam is not a very enlightened religion. Does that make me a bigot? Probably. But there's an abundance of data to back up my opinion.

This news item has been circulating now for about a year--on non-FOX media outlets. The fact is even in countries, such as Pakistan, where honour killings are nominally against the law, they are practiced with regularity with little or no consequences for the perpetrators. This information has appeared regularly in the Canadian press. And I have spoken to both East Indians and Pakistanis who back this up.
Nah, it's made the main stream media here too.sn69
Sep 25, 2003 8:49 AM
In fact, both Frontline and 60-Minutes have run stories about honor killings. The shocking monthly activities in chop-chop, however, have yet to make the media by my recollection.
No - certainly not in the USA <nm>Starliner
Sep 25, 2003 9:39 AM
Let's not forget that Jews and Christians believe in the same...Matno
Oct 1, 2003 3:27 AM
law. At least at one point, the God of the Old Testament (who I submit is the same God who lives today) commanded stoning for those taken in adultery. While I fully agree that it is wrong for a woman to be punished for adultery while her "partner in crime" goes free, I can't deny the seriousness of adultery. It is not just something that gets us in trouble if we get caught. It is a serious sin. To many people (including me), it is second only to murder in seriousness. Our current society (i.e. prime time television) has gotten so far away from that principle that it is truly shocking to see the casual attitude toward extra-marital sex. Our society as a whole would be tremendously better off if such things were eliminated. Of course, the only real way to eliminate adultery is by individuals deciding they're not going to do it. That means you're pretty much limited to deciding that you personally are not going to "partake."