RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Windows 98 memory problem(18 posts)

Windows 98 memory problemPaulCL
Sep 24, 2003 5:42 PM
Sorry, not a political question.

Our home computer has windows98. The computer is used by the whole family including the kids - ages 11,8,& 5.

Here's the problem. When I boot it up, I get four error messages that read "Memory violation in module kernel 132 in #### etc...." I click "OK" and everything seems OK. But the computer is slow, slow, slow.

Then, when I hit "Ctrl-Alt-Del" to get my taskbar up, I have over a dozen new entries. I don't know where they came from and I suspect these are the problem. The entries have 'names' such as: Rundll, WkCalrem, GMT, HPOFXM07 (5 of these in varying forms).

Any suggestions on what the problem is?? How to correct it?? We believe the root of the problem lies somewhere with the unsupervised hour my five year old spent with the computer a couple of days ago. He jammed up a couple of CDs in the drive only to yell for Daddy. Then the problems started...

Help....please.

Paul

PS. I am computer semi-literate, so be gentle with me. Thanks.
Hey PaulLive Steam
Sep 24, 2003 6:02 PM
I haven't used 98 in quite a while, but you could try a few things. First try starting up in Safe Mode. Then go to the "Temp" folder in the Windows directory and delete all of it's contents. Rundll is an ap that is required and should be running during any session. I believe it helps shut down Windows when you say so.

Do you have a Windos 98 disk? If so there may be a repair ap on it. It will self diagnose and patch and repair what it needs to do. I'll brainstorm a little to see if I come up with some other suggestions. Good luck!
try googledr hoo
Sep 25, 2003 4:23 AM
If you are computer semi-literate, try dumping search strings like - Memory violation in module kernel windows 98 - into google. That will help you learn.

But for now, in the great words of Bender, you are boned. You may be owned (in the hacking sense) as well, but you are most certainly boned.

Boot to safe mode, back up any critical data (letters, logs, pics, cookies from your browser if you care about them, etc.). Then reinstall your operating system from the original disk. 98 needs reinstalling every 6-12 months anyway. Any longer and things start to get shakier and shakier.

viva Tux!
re: Windows 98 memory problemmohair_chair
Sep 25, 2003 6:33 AM
This is bizarre, but it's not a memory problem. It's a memory violation problem, which basically means you are running buggy software that is calculating bogus memory addresses. Microsoft and Windows always gets blamed for this stuff, but it's not their fault.

The solution is to get rid of the buggy software. Don't delete rundll, wkcalrem, gmt, and hpofxm07 or you'll find Windows doesn't work anymore. Rundll is a key app used for all kinds of things, such as control panel. I'm not sure what the others are, but hpofxm07 sounds like an HP (printer?) driver. Don't delete kernel32.dll either. Kernel32 is basically the core module of Windows. Someone made a system call into kernel that caused it to crash, but Windows recovered and displayed the message you see. kernel32 isn't the problem.

It sounds like your kid managed to install or partially install something and possibly some files got moved around. You need to figure out what that was. Good luck with that! What you might do is stick those same CDs in and see what happens. Most CDs today will "autorun" and start an install program. Let it run to completion, then uninstall it. That might put things right.
Thanks. I'll try them all (nm)PaulCL
Sep 25, 2003 7:20 AM
Another questionPaulCL
Sep 26, 2003 8:10 AM
I went to "safe mode" and did what was suggested. Still didn't work.

Something else...just for the heck of it, I went under "accessories" to "system tools" and did a "disk defragmentation". I've done this a few times before -maybe once every 3-6 months. But, it won't work now. It goes to 5% complete then to zero. It does that for hours. I caught a glance at a message that said something to the effect "hardrive has changed..." or something like that. Sounds like I'm in deep sheet.
Uninstall the HP softwareKristin
Sep 26, 2003 9:25 AM
The HP file is for an HP fax (the one I suspect is sitting on your desk).

* Boot the PC and open Control Panel.
* Open Printers
* Disable the HP printer/fax
* Reboot
* Open Control Panel again
* Run "Add/Remove Programs"
* Locate and uninstall the HP fax software
* Reboot again
* Search the hard drive for "hpofxm07.exe" If you locate this file, remove it and the sub folder it resides in.
* Reinstall the software that came with the printer
* Re-enable the fax/printer

You should receive my bill in 3-5 business day. :-P
Don't send the bill quite yetPaulCL
Sep 26, 2003 1:14 PM
Kristin:

First of all thank you. Secondly, I found the problem and it wasn't/isn't the HP printer/fax. I installed long ago a Norton Internet Security system. You know - the type to block bad webpages from the kids, etc... While uninstalling programs to figure this problem out, I double clicked on the icon to open it to start the uninstall program. Guess what?? The "memory access violation....etc" screen popped up. This software has been the root of many previous problems.

Heres' my next dilemma - so get prepared to add onto your bill. The program is password protected before I can get to the unistall page. The password is to keep my kids from shutting it down then freely surfing the net. Well, I can't get to the page to type in a password. The "memory access viloation" screen pops up and I can't get around it?? what can I do?? Can I just go into Explorer and start deleting files?? It wont' let me remove the program from the add/remove command box.

Short of shooting the computer out of frustration, I'm out of ideas.

So, please help me out and jack up that bill.

Thanks.Paul
Hmmm. This is becoming more complexKristin
Sep 26, 2003 2:02 PM
The mem access violation is a system fault. Based on your first message, its hard to tell what is causing it because the exe that conflicted with kernel32 are both system resources. The Norton program is hindering you, but probably not causing the problem. Is there a way you can boot up and disable the Norton software before you do anything else? This may be a situation where you have to reboot several times in order to get anything done. How long after start-up can you work in Windows before it crashes?? I'll check my email later tonight and look for replies. Its raining, so I don't have anything better to do. 7 days now since I've ridden!!!
My machine doesn't crashPaulCL
Sep 26, 2003 3:14 PM
Its' just VERY slow and I get these messages upon booting up. I can work within windows for a while before it gets sooooo slow that I shut it down.

How about I re-install the Norton program over the top of the current program?? That way I may be able to get into the program, uninstall it, burn it, and get a new "net nanny" program.

Can I boot up and disable the program? Nope. It protects itself from disabling without a password so that a child won't do it to disable the program.
Don't you know the password??Kristin
Sep 26, 2003 8:24 PM
What I meant was to boot up and then immediately, before things get sloooooow, disable the Norton app so that it won't get in your way. That way you can uninstall the printer driver. Based on what you've said already, I would suspect the fax driver first, not the Norton software. It sounds as if that is doing exactly what it was designed to do.
Yes I doPaulCL
Sep 27, 2003 5:37 AM
I did as you suggest with the fax driver but the problem persists. I was able to erase some of the components of the Norton software, then re-install over the top, then uninstall. This helped somewhat - two of the five error messages ceased appearing.

The problem with the NOrton was not losing the password, but the memory problem not allowing me to get to the point to enter the password.

I'm slowing winning this war....I think
Paul is there anything on the HD ...Live Steam
Sep 26, 2003 5:47 PM
that is very important to you? If not, put it out of it's misery and format the drive and start over. That is a lot simpler than troubleshooting. If there is data you want to save, go back to safe mode and retrieve it and then reformat the drive and re-install everything. If you choose this method I would suggest that you partition the drive and then make your default drive for all your important data, the "D" drive.

I learned the hard way, without an external backup drive, storing all information and data on the same drive as the operating system, is a recipe for trouble and heartache. I always partition my drive and save all data, work and files to the secondary drive. I realize that if the drive fails, I'll more than likely lose that stuff too, but failures are less likely than a virus or similar trouble you are having. I also back up my stuff to disks now which gives me more comfort. Just call me CONSERVATIVE I guess :O)
Paul is there anything on the HD ...PaulCL
Sep 26, 2003 6:19 PM
That's a problem. I have the HP System recovery cd which contains "a backup copy of all originally installed software..." That's the good part - I'm assuming this includes Windows 98. The bad part is that "can ONLY be used with an HP Pavilion PC" I had to replace the motherboard a year or so ago. The HD is original.

I only have a C drive, no D.
Paul is there anything on the HD ...Live Steam
Sep 26, 2003 7:27 PM
You have as many drives as you need once you re-format the HD. When doing so, the process will ask you if you want to create a partition. You will answer yes and the process will create the D drive for you. If you need help on the formatting, let me know. I am not certain if the disk containing the operating system and software will work with the new mother board. It may look for something that identifies it with the hardware to prevent piracy. But I don't know. It still should work. You could also just try to re-install Windows over the existing. It's worth a try if, as I said, you download anything that is important to you.

I have been able to use apps off of a system disk that came with the Sony Vio I purchase a few years ago. I installed XP and it didn't want to let me use the apps off of the disk. It was a pain in the a$$ because I had to search the disk for the apps rather than just use the install feature because I kept getting a message that it could only be use with the computer it came with. That was total BS. I paid for the software when I bought the machine. Now I have a new operating system and I can't use the apps? They make it real difficult because of piracy I guess. I think it's worth a try to over write what you have first. Let me know how it goes and good luck.
Bill
Paul is there anything on the HD ...Live Steam
Sep 26, 2003 7:36 PM
Another thought. Maybe you already thought of this, but contact Norton :O) I am sure they can walk you through disabling it if that indeed is the culprit. If you knew how to find the entries in the registery, you could probably prevent it from loading prior to windows. That is probably how it works. On second thought, try using msconfig. Maybe ther is an entry for it there. To use msconfig, go to the Start menu and then to Run. In the box type "msconfig" (without the quotes). A new screen will pop. Click the tab that says "Startup". You will then see a screen that shows everything that loads when the system is booted. Look for an entry that may be for the Norton Nanny and uncheck the box. This may just do it for you. Good luck :O)
Paul try the "msconfig" option above, first! nmLive Steam
Sep 27, 2003 5:40 AM
Tried itPaulCL
Sep 27, 2003 9:49 AM
I just got a message "memory access violation in module kernel 132....." Same sheet different day.

Somehow, my number of "memory access...etc.." messages received upon rebooting has dropped from about 7 to only 3? And the computer is running at normal speed. We'll see how long it lasts.

Paul