RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I need help from you bit heads.(7 posts)

I need help from you bit heads.Kristin
Sep 16, 2003 2:29 PM
I'm building a PC. I can do this. I have the training and experience. Currently, a person can upgrade their PC nicely for under $300, if they know where to shop. The problem I'm experiencing is the flood of new manufacturers out there. (I supose that most these items are being assembled in India, leaving thousands of us poor American SOB's out of work.) Anyway. How do I tell who's good and who's not? Are there any rating sites online for motherboard, RAM and power supply makers? I don't want to get just anything. I'm not sure going strickly by price will assure I have a strong product. Any suggestions?

The word on the street so far is that Soyo can be trusted. So I will probably use a KT133 for my motherboard with an AMD 1.5-1.67 processor. Also, does the type of grease you use make a big difference? None of this was covered in my A+ certification for some reason. I can build it, I just don't know what the hell to buy. See, I can say hell. No lightening bol... !pzzzzzt! :-)
re: www.computingreview.comjrm
Sep 16, 2003 3:25 PM
just an idea. i foudn that upgrading the inerds is pretty easy. But as my self made PC aged i found more shortcomings of my choice to do it myself.

I have since bought only the CPU's from Dell. Its a pretty deal in that you cam build it piecemeal and it has a warrenty and service agreement. Also, i can trade up in the future. For me at least it was worth the investment.
Can't help with recommendations on parts...The Walrus
Sep 16, 2003 6:25 PM
...but my PC guru, my bro-in-law, builds his own machines (as well as for friends) and as a supply source recommends ZipZoomFly.com, formerly Googlegear.com. Here's a link to their info page: http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Service/Press_release_09-15-2003.jsp > For whatever this is worth....
Excellent! Your link lead me to the site I was hoping forKristin
Sep 17, 2003 7:29 AM
Anandtech.com. They have really great info, reviews, excellent staff, pricewatcher utility and forums. I hate to say it but computingreview.com has nothing on these guys. Unless they do something really BIG, then thier only going to be a money pit. Anyway, if you have any questions about building PC's, this is the place to go. Sorry consumerreview.com.
don't skimp on the power supply!dr hoo
Sep 17, 2003 5:33 AM
Dirty power is not worth the $10 you will save.

I find that http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/index.html/ is a good source for this kind of information. Simplified, but still with enough technical details to satisfy the geek in me.
Is it cost effective to upgrade a PC?Ace Rimmer
Sep 17, 2003 9:49 AM
Considering how cheap Walmart is selling them.
Well, lets see:Kristin
Sep 17, 2003 11:18 AM
Walmart is selling the a Microtel. It includes:

AMD Athlon XP 2200+ processor with 3DNow! technology
266/200 MHz frontside bus
128 MB DDR memory, expandable to 2 GB
266 MHz memory speed
40 GB Ultra-ATA 100 hard drive, 5400 rpm (total accessible capacity varies depending on operating environment)
52x24x52 CD-RW drive
3.5-inch floppy disk drive
Integrated graphics with up to 32 MB shared video memory
Integrated AC97 Soft Audio
Integrated 10/100 Ethernet connection
56 Kbps modem
ATX mid-tower case (19"D x 7.87"W x 16.8"H)
Available drive bays: two 5.25-inch external, one 3.5-inch external
Available slots: 2 PCI and 1 AGP 4x
Serial port
Parallel port
6 USB 2.0 ports
104-key keyboard
2-button mouse with wheel
Audio port (line-in, line-out, mic-in)
Stereo speakers
1-year warranty, return to Microtel
Operating system is not included
Cost: $398
Plus another 128 MB RAM $40
al Cost: $438

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?product_id=2292478&cat=86796&type=19&dept=3944&path=0%3A3944%3A3951%3A41937%3A86796

To build my own system:

Soyo KT333 MB: $76
AMD Athlon XP 2200+: $63
Shim: $10
Corsair PC2700 512 MB: $83
Case: $60
Power Supply: $60
Miscellaneous: $20
12GB 5400 Hard Drive: $0 (Enough for my needs and I already own it.)
52/40/52 CDRW: $0 (Already own it...paid $29.)
Floppy: $0
Graphics Card: $0
Cables: $0
Modem: $0
NIC: $0
Keyboard: $0
Mouse: $0
Speakers: $0
Total Cost: $372

Yep, its cheaper to build my own. Of course if I had to pay someone to put it together for me, it wouldn't be worth it. But since I'm doing the labor myself and I have the time to shop around, then it is definately cheaper. And if I build it myself, then I also have control of what brands I use. I also keep my skills sharp.