RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Are you a metrosexual?(62 posts)

Are you a metrosexual?ColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 8:02 AM
Heard this term being bandied about recently. Refers to urban man that takes care of his looks in ways previously thought to be feminine. Things like eyebrow waxing, facials, shaving hair off legs/chest, working out to look good. I do the shaved legs thing and the working out. I've shaved my whole body before. Suppose I'd do the facials, waxing if I had the extra cash and time. Why should any of this have to do with sexuality? Most men just look better if they pay some attention to grooming and such, but I guess with anything you can take it too far.

http://www.wordspy.com/words/metrosexual.asp
no, but I know a few nmDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 8:07 AM
Flash mobbing??? What the.....Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 8:20 AM
http://www.wordspy.com/words/flashmob.asp
Weren't they all called "dorks" at one time?filtersweep
Sep 11, 2003 12:56 PM
-flash mobbers, that is...

Metrosexuality is obviously caused by all the estrogen bearing vinyl compounds in the environment...
It just doesn't seem right....MR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 8:35 AM
Men are not supposed to care about things like that. The natural order (at least when females are not around) is to burp and scratch, and to change their clothes when they get dirty. (When I say dirty, I mean dirty and smelly). If this keeps up, in another generation, all men will be sitting down to pee.
And then...Jon Billheimer
Sep 11, 2003 8:47 AM
...Betty Friedan, the George Bernard Shaw of the feminist set, will at last be happy, or at least not be so unhappy? Maybe.
AmenSpoiler
Sep 11, 2003 9:02 AM
A generation of men who wear deoderant BEFORE a workout.
A generation of cookie-cutter, cloned pukes who put blond highlights in their hair. Highlights? They wish to draw attention to the "highlights" in their mane? Scalp oil and acne are the only highlights real men need.

A generation of men who find themselves avoiding more and more activities because it might upset their appearance. They've evolved past being Mama's boyz. The new generation thinks of himself as his own mother. In stead of playing dress-up with dolls, he turns himself into the doll.

A generation of men who resort to slap-fights as part of a mutual agreement to "not leave any bruises."

A generation of men who truly take insults on their appearance to heart.

In short, a generation of swine.
I think there is a balanceColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 9:19 AM
I shower once a day, shave my legs once a week, use moisturizer and sunscreen, and dress myself tastefully without the aid of a woman, but I don't get that carried away with it. No need for men to be stinky, cheap beer swilling slobs with beer guts, greasy hair and ugly clothes either.
exactly - somewhere between cave man and prima donna nmDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 9:27 AM
Spoiler, aren't you being a tad harsh??PaulCL
Sep 11, 2003 9:26 AM
Just kidding. These metrosexual boys need a good a**whoopin to turn them back into real men.

Pedicures?? Manicures?? Hell, bite your nails like a real man! Facials? Why?? Go to a barbershop not a salon. Comb your hair once a day if it needs it or not. Wear clothes until your wife throws them away - never throw clothes away by yourself. An never shower BEFORE a workout. My wife does that and it baffles me everytime - makeup too.

These guys used to be called wimps, woosies, fops (from my Dad's day), pretty-boys...not gay, just not right.

Seriously, its' OK to be careful about your appearance. We all do. I do use deodorant before a workout 'cause I gotta keep the stank at bay. It sounds like these guys have gone overboard. Normal men will win out.

Paul

Just say NO to the girly men
Here's a questionSpoiler
Sep 11, 2003 10:03 AM
That's a good point. Real men do just enough to avoid offending the general population. Dandys and fancy-boys work at making themselves look better, better than other men and better than women. Real men do just enough to avoid looking goofier than they already do.

Real men find a semi-competant female hairdresser who insists on leaning over them while washing their hair. They learn to live with a less-than-perfect haircut.
OK, I admit it. I use a female hairdresserPaulCL
Sep 11, 2003 10:22 AM
Egads...am I a pretty boy?? Nope. She's hot. Every woman in her salon is hot. I'm usually the only guy there so I get a lot of attention. I love it. Oh yeah...great haircut too. But that's secondary.

I try to look good everyday. I really do. I keep my tie straight, keep my weight down, get my hair cut regularly, etc.. but I don't obsess over it. My 11 year old daughter obsesses over her clothes more than I.

FYI If you can't shop with your wife/girlfriend for clothes, do what I do. Sounds weird, but I look for the gay salesman. Seriously. I have a really hard time picking out what tie goes with what suit, shirt with pants, etc...So when I NEED clothes (I never 'want' to go shopping) and I'm without my wife, I go for the gay guy. I've done it a few times and they always pick out nice stuff. All it costs is time, money, swallowing of pride, and my phone number occasionally.... :) NOT.

Paul
OK, I admit it. I use a female hairdresserClydeTri
Sep 11, 2003 10:32 AM
I thought the PC police types tell us we cant tell which men are gay and which arent? Duh, its often quite easy to distinguish within seconds...
"gay-dar"PaulCL
Sep 11, 2003 10:45 AM
A former co-worker of mine who, at age 50 with three sons and a wife, decided he was gay - always used the term "gaydar". He said he could pick out gay guys from miles around. YECH! Him to run after, the rest of us to avoid like the plague.

Screw the PC types, its' not offensive to be able to recognize if someone is gay, straight, white, black, hispanic, etc...it's just a statement of fact. In fact, I told one salesman that I picked him to help me select my clothes over a saleswoman. I didn't tell him why, but he guessed immediately. He was not offended, just happy that I chose him to get the commission from the sale.
LIke Dennis Miller said....ClydeTri
Sep 11, 2003 10:52 AM
the other week Dennis Miller in his segment of Hannity and Colmes said that noticing that 17 or so of the 9/11 hijackers were Saudi's was not profiling, but being "minimally observant"....
ever watch Will and Grace?DougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 11:07 AM
Unless this show is un-PC and I don't know it, the show capitalizes on the differences between "gay" behavior and straight. In fact, it darn near celebrates the differences. A good education, too.

Doug
I hate to inform you Paul, but if you have gaydar.... nmKristin
Sep 11, 2003 11:10 AM
I don't....I said my associate had itPaulCL
Sep 11, 2003 11:39 AM
My joke about him using "gaydar" to search and us avoid is me remembering an episode when he went out to lunch with a group of us. He seemingly pointed out 1/2 the men in the restuarant as gay...maybe the waiters..but the rest was just wishful thinking on his part. He gave us all the creeps. That was the last time he went to lunch with us. He was no more or less crude than some guy ogling every female in the restuarant and subsequently making an ass of himself.
Not a whoopin'............just two weeks out campingMR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 10:21 AM
without hot showers, without flush toilets, without females, without electricty, and with lots of chips, lots of beer, lots of Slim Jim's, and the ability to buy lots of ice.
Pretty soon these "fancy boys" will be burping and passing gas with the best of 'em.
Oh no. I just got back from a 2 week camping tripKristin
Sep 11, 2003 11:12 AM
But there were women there, so I guess I'm okay. :-)
Tell us, do women burp when they are alone with otherMR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 11:50 AM
women? ? The world wants to know..........
Yes, but we giggle and say, "Excuse me," after the deed. nmKristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:11 PM
Once I was traveling in a van with mixed company. I was working on a farm for a year and we returning from a road trip. We passed a noxious bog and I commented that it smelled like some nasty farts. The guys were all like, "Hey, she talks like us. We should have her re-assigned to the slaughter yard." I was like, "What? You've never heard a girl say the 'f' word before?" And they were all like, "Nuh uhhhh. Girls don't talk like that." So I said, "Hey, you're laundry smells like some nasty farts too. The slaughter yard would be a pleasant change." (Just so you understand, this was kind of a communal, self-supporting farm that believed in specific gender rolls. One was assigned various duties that fit within those rolls. At that time I was the laundry girl. Took my nose 2 years to recover.)
Hey !! you said ....nm........That's cheating............nmMR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 12:26 PM
From some of your other stories, you might have been lucky to be there in the laundry.
Jest keepin' ya on yer tows. nmKristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:28 PM
I didn't lie this time. ;-) Hey, what other stories?
nmMR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 12:44 PM
You said something about the women who worked out in the fields with the men, sometimes had "Trouble."
Oh. Yeah. That was the "other" farm...actually a shubbery.Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:49 PM
The communal farm was a sort of Christian ministry. Don't laugh. It was a little strange, but I learned a lot that year and I think every young person should go somewhere new and do manual labor for a period of time. Builds character. As it was, I never slaughtered an animal, but I've gutted a chicken. There's a plesant thought as you head out for dinner.
Chicken guts....................yum......nm (really)MR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 1:00 PM
panty wastes (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 10:27 AM
panty wastes - what's the origin of this term?PaulCL
Sep 11, 2003 10:36 AM
Do these guys "waste panties?"
Actually I think it's "panty waists"ColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 12:08 PM
And it refers to "girly men" who might as well be wearing panties instead of real men underwear.
Sigh. So close, yet so far.Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:12 PM
The true definition seems to be lost on the men here. The women know what it means. I will refrain from elaborating.
all are missing the pointDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 1:10 PM
It's a combination of "pantywaist Liberal" and Liberals "wasting" money; thus, "pantywaste". Notice the different spellings. The next level of "pantywaste-dom" is "bleeding pantywaste", but we won't go there.

Doug
I think that is old, real old. 150 to 200 years old.MR_GRUMPY
Sep 11, 2003 12:34 PM
It's a little like the old saying "He don't know S%&t from Shinola." Not a lot of people know that Shinola was a popular brand of brown shoe polish at the turn of the last (1899) century.
Nope. Think more literally.Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:53 PM
I'm not helping you guys with this anymore. If you can't figure it out...
man...i didnt need that image in my head...thanks kristin! ;( (nColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 1:18 PM
Here's a couple guessesSpoiler
Sep 11, 2003 4:33 PM
panty waste, like toxic waste, a waste byproduct of panties?
but my money is on "pantywaists", like bonehead or sneakerfoot or condomc*ck. In short, men who wear panties around their waists.
I don't like them,TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 10:45 AM
This new term is ridiculous, but the group of people who fall under the description annoy the hell out of me. Actually, not them so much, but the effect they have on society.

Nice mens clothing has been usurped by gay / metrosexual community, to the point that it's very difficult to get a high end, conservative suit (shirt, tie, etc.). All of the top producers, who built their reputation on classic styling, have hired designers and are putting out gawdawful designs that I would never wear. The Neiman Marcus menswear department in Boston is so flamingly homosexual that I can't find a damn thing to wear. And the salespeople are also flaming - I wouldn't trust a 26 year old man who tells me a suit makes me look "hot"; I'd rather have it be the 90 year old guy with a tape measure around his neck who says I look "sharp".

A side effect of this is that these companies have grown exponentially with this trend, and have completely changed from a service perspective. I realize they're catering to their new customer base, but they've left behind their old customers. I just want well made clothing in the best fabrics - I don't want whatever the gay community has determined is "in" this fall.
I hear youDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 10:57 AM
Just try to find a 2 button suit with split vent in solid blue. You would think any men's store would have racks of them. I could not find even one. When I appear in court I want my clothing to be totally unnoticeable, good or bad. Not trendy, not flashy, but still professional. The real world isn't "LA Law."

Men's Warehouse isn't bad, but still 90% of their suits are too "stylish". Polo is still fairly traditional.

Doug
Try Sids, Newton Centre or Armani, on Newbury.128
Sep 11, 2003 11:28 AM
Even Filenes. They had the old-guy with the tape last I was there. There's a place out across from the Chestnut hill mall too, a wholesale place...ummmm.

How did you end up at Needless Markup?? That place practically caters to the haute couture, gone-later-that same-day set.

Fyi, Armani has a line called 'Mani' I have two of them. Excellent and less pricey than the main line.

And for God's sake subscribe to GQ!
Mr. Sid is my main man...TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 11:47 AM
When I first moved to Boston, I lived in Newton Center, and Mr. Sid's is undoubtedly the best men's clothing store in the area. Zegna on Newbury does a pretty good job of balancing class and gay. Should you ever find yourself in the area, Yale Genton in West Springfield is also quite good. Filenes doesn't have anything high-end enough for my taste (I'll admit to being snobby about clothing). I've seen the place across from the mall, but never been in.

I tend to shop at the Needless Markup out of habit, because the one in Denver (where I used to live) has about the best menswear department I've ever seen. Very good clothing, awesome staff. Complete opposite from the Boston store.
southwick, corbin, or if you have the $ just go customColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 12:16 PM
traditional clothing is out there, you just have to know where to look. my dad (resembles the tape measure wearing guy mentioned) has a clothing store in iowa and if you tried to sell the gay fashion there you'd be quickly out of biz.
Custom doesn't have access to the best fabrics,TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 12:24 PM
It's a pretty tough world out there actually. I have a couple of Zegna custom suits, but in general, most custom shops don't have access to the top fabrics. It's also hard to find a tailor who really knows what he's doing. Most custom tailors are used to making suits for guys who can't fit into an off-the-rack suit (those of odd proportions) and don't really have the eye for detail that I would prefer. I'm talking about wanting the Richard Sachs of suits.

Shirts are a little easier to get custom these days. There are actually quite a few good semi-custom shirtmakers out there (particularly in London).
Listen to us! Are we Cosmosexmen? Break out the Glenffiddich! nm128
Sep 11, 2003 12:32 PM
What, because I once flew to London soley to buy shirts? (nm)TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 12:37 PM
Back when there was a nice arbitrage opportunity with Thomas Pink shirts...
that is sounding awfully metro...(nm)DougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 12:40 PM
It was just cheaper...TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 12:51 PM
If you're going to buy 10 shirts @ $150, or you could by the same 10 shirts for 75 Pounds in England, and the exchange rate is just right, it's cheaper to buy a plane ticket and buy the shirts in London.

I really just did it to irritate the salespeople in Boston, who I had a discussion with about the pricing imparity (to which they responded: "well if you want to go to London, we aren't going to stop you").
Okay. First. There are these two great inventions...Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 12:57 PM
"The Internet" and "Internation Shipping" You can even get it next day now.

Second. What does an orchard owner need with 10 $150-a-piece shirts? Did you say our last name was Kennedy? Is your orchard located in a vineyard?
That was the bastard of the deal...TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 1:04 PM
It remains to this day for Thos. Pink: pricing for the entire world is keyed to the High Street price in GBP, EXCEPT for the United States. Shipments to the US get billed at the US retail price of $150 regardless of whether you order them from Britain or otherwise. Also, you would have to pay duty on the shirts if they were shipped, but not if you brought them back in your luggage.

I'm a simple man. I just have good taste in clothing. And other things. For the record, I do not own an orchard, my parents do.
Okay, I'll admit, its not a bad looking shirt. nmKristin
Sep 11, 2003 1:15 PM
But your look is a little metro.Kristin
Sep 11, 2003 1:18 PM
Then again, you must dress for the role you want. If you want to be CEO of an investment firm, you're gonna have to be a little metrosexual.
Their new fall line is unwearable,TJeanloz
Sep 12, 2003 5:23 AM
Pink is the prime offender in the market expansion problem. Used to be that they had nice, conservative shirts. They came in one model (cut-away collar, french cuffs) take-it-or-leave-it. Only conservative colors. And they had one store.

Now they're selling boxer shorts, socks, all kinds of shirts. They have a new shirt cut that they call "slim" a.k.a. gay / metro. The fall line is all kinds of "fashionable" stripes, none of which I could ever wear without being the butt of office jokes. And these new products have squeezed out the traditional shirt that they were so good at making.
have you tried Robert Talbott shirts?ColnagoFE
Sep 12, 2003 7:22 AM
Pretty classic styling and great quality fabrics...about the same price range as Pink...$120-150.

http://hansensclothing.com/SearchResult.aspx?CategoryID=4&Manufacturer=3&KeyWords=medium%20spread&All=True
I have a coupleTJeanloz
Sep 12, 2003 7:35 AM
Robert Talbott used to be a big sponsor of the Sea Otter Classic (they might still be), and I actually visited their factory (that's not really the right word) in the Monterrey area and had them make me some custom shirts, which, of course, no longer fit.

Pretty nice shirts, but a little harder to come by on the east coast.
That was the bastard of the deal...Spoiler
Sep 11, 2003 7:28 PM
Unless you stop off for a quickie with a Manchester working girl, this level is crossing over into "Fancy Boy" territory.
I think you are missing the pointDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 1:04 PM
The point is that only "metro" guys buy $150 shirts in the first place, much less would ever travel to buy them. My "expensive" shirts are mail order from Brooks Brothers, and are off the rack plain old button down cotton. YOur messages following your initial post on this topic are sort of moving in the opposite direction of your first impression you gave. Flying to London to buy shirts and buying $2000 (or more) custom suits are evidence of "metro-ness", even if the ultimate result is conventional styling, I'd say.

Now, I would fly to Italy for a good deal on a custom C40, if the opportunity arose, but that's completely different, right?

Doug
I disagree,TJeanloz
Sep 11, 2003 1:11 PM
Well dressed men have always purchased nice clothing. The difference, in my opinion, is the % of income and effort put into looking good. The "metro" way of life dedicates a huge portion of their income (to the point of being in debt) to clothing and other items; the worst kind of American conspicuous consumption. The "metro" guy agonizes over whether he can afford the $400 Brioni shirt that he desparately wants, and gets inherent pleasure in shopping for these things.

I walk into a store, and know exactly what I want, it just happens to usually cost more. I'm not at all obsessed with looking good - it would be impossible, given my ugliness.
ok, you have suitably deprecated yourself ;-) nmDougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 1:14 PM
Oh. Puleeeeze. Enough with the false modesty!! nmKristin
Sep 12, 2003 5:46 AM
that would make us "cyclesexual" i guess ;) (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 1:27 PM
guilty (nm)DougSloan
Sep 11, 2003 7:56 PM
yeah tailoring is a dying artformColnagoFE
Sep 11, 2003 1:24 PM
my grandfather was a tailor--his father (immigrant from norway) taught him...we have pictures of his store with all the tailors sitting crosslegged on a table stiching up new suits by hand. my dad always regretted not learning how himself. when i was a kid my dad would take me to new york to buy cloth for the suits. pretty cool walking around looking at all the bolts of cloth and picking them for suits to be made up later. right now he employs a 65+ year old tailor (immigrant from Poland BTW). You just can't find many younger people with the skill needed to do anything beyond simple pant and sleeve alterations.
They're all a bunch a f@ggots. n/tspankdoggie
Sep 11, 2003 12:04 PM