RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Live Steam--What's Wrong With These Pictures?(12 posts)

Live Steam--What's Wrong With These Pictures?The Walrus
Aug 31, 2003 7:01 PM
This looks very promising--a pair of well-used but presentable F7s making their way out of the Fillmore station...

src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/FillmoreF7Post.jpg">

...but then there's the
i other
end--from the sublime to the ridiculous...

src="http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/FillmoreThomasPost.jpg">

Some people have no shame....
Well, so much for using Kristin's procedure...The Walrus
Aug 31, 2003 7:04 PM
Let's do this the old-fashioned way--

Here's the head-end...
...and the hideous conclusion...The Walrus
Aug 31, 2003 7:08 PM
...I'll be having nightmares for a week.
Isn't that Thomas? He's famous! cool pic.......nmrwbadley
Sep 1, 2003 7:55 AM
Isn't that Thomas? He's famous! cool pic.......nmmickey-mac
Sep 1, 2003 2:16 PM
A woman I work with flew from California to Maryland with her four year old son a few years ago just to see that damn thing because it wasn't going to be on the west coast. I grew up in a railroad family and love trains, but I can't imagine dropping $2000 to $3000 to my son can see Thomas. Besides, I can still get my kids on a working freight train until my dad retires.
Your kids can ride on freights, eh? Adopt me! Please! (nm)The Walrus
Sep 1, 2003 5:55 PM
Yepmickey-mac
Sep 1, 2003 9:27 PM
I grew up on them, blowing whistles through crossing in the Long Beach Harbor, L.A. Harbor, Colton, and Orange County. My dad plans to hang it up by the end of the year, so I need to get the kids out a few times before he's done.

Nice shots, by the way. I represented Metrolink in a case related to an injury at the Fillmore station 8 or 9 years ago and another one that happened near the old depot at the Santa Susana Pass in '95 or '96. Ventura County is great railroading country.
Choo choo!!!!Live Steam
Sep 1, 2003 2:06 PM
Hey Thomas starts kids on their life long love affair with trains. Their ain't nothin' wrong with that :O)
Choo choo!!!!boyd2
Sep 2, 2003 7:52 AM
My wife and I took the kids out to see Thomas in Strausburg PA a few months ago. Our 3.5 yr old was out of her mind when we went on a ride. So Happy!
Well, so much for using Kristin's procedure...PiedmontRider
Sep 9, 2003 3:53 AM
Hey Walrus!
Do you know the heritage of those F-units? There are two painted in pristine Reading paint up the road from me. The classic lines are always great to see.
Thanks!
Tell me more :O)Live Steam
Sep 9, 2003 5:23 AM
Where are you located? What would you like to know about them?

These two were produced by EMD (Electro-Motive Division, General Motors Corp). They are classified as F7 freight haulers and produced in the late 40's and early 50's. They were common to most RR. They were actually used for both freight and passenger service. These are two "A" units. The "A" unit as opposed to a "B" unit has a cab with controls from where an engineer can operate the engine. The "B" unit would be flat at both ends (without a cab) and would be "lashed" to an "A" unit. It would then be controlled remotely from the cab of the lead unit. This would provide the additional power needed to move a heavier train than just the "A" unit could do so on it's own. It was commonn to see them in ABBA configurations for really heavy trains.

Tell me more about the Reading engines and where they are located. :O)
Will do!PiedmontRider
Sep 11, 2003 3:26 AM
I live in the northern end of Wilmington, DE. The Reading F's (both A units) are located in Pocopson, PA. I am not sure of the owner of the engines but they reside on a siding on the Brandywine Valley Railway which links CSX at Wilsmere, DE with NS at Coatesville, PA.

http://domino-hq01.cn.ca/IT/Shortlines/SL_Static.nsf/0/AA93D1194C79D98D86256A92006C0E88?OpenDocument

http://www.jim-frizzell.com/brandywine_valley_rail_yard.htm

The road units are usaually the black GP-9s (7?, 18?, #?) in twos or threes. They primarily haul scrap metal one way and finished products the other.

The siding is behind a True Value(?) hardware store along the Brandywine Creek. The F's are about 15 miles north of where I live, it is a beautiful ride!
This might help:
http://www.jim-frizzell.com/brandywine_valley_railroad_pocopson_.htm

I recall several years ago there were 2 ALCO RS-3s sitting on the siding where the SW and U-boat are now.

I like to try to figure out who originally owned the diesels and that prompted the original question about the F's of Walrus's post. Are they CN+W? or maybe SP? Just curious.
-Pied