RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Why do Red Sox fans chant "Yankees Suck" when ......(16 posts)

Why do Red Sox fans chant "Yankees Suck" when ......Major Kong
Aug 20, 2003 8:15 PM
they're not playing the Yankees. Every time I've been at Fenway; whether its the A's(tonight), Twins, Indians or whomever they are playing I always hear it. If find it baffling and quite amusing because I'm a Yankee fan (I grew up closer to NYC than Boston. You don't hear Yankee fans at Yankee Stadium chanting "Red Sox Suck" when the Blue Jays are in town. What gives? Is the Curse of the Bambino? Jealousy? Inferiority complex? Do any of you Red Sox fans have any explanation?


A Real Yankee in Boston

p.s. I did take a little bit of delight in seeing them lose at Fenway tonight. 1918
re: Why do Red Sox fans chant "Yankees Suck" when ......Live Steam
Aug 21, 2003 5:06 AM
"Is the Curse of the Bambino? Jealousy? Inferiority complex?"

ALL OF THE ABOVE :O) 7 1/2 games up now! Bean Town bombouts may not even make it to the post season :O)
GO YANKS!
screw the yankees. go A's!!!rufus
Aug 21, 2003 6:15 AM
Because it's a truism, regardless of who is in town,TJeanloz
Aug 21, 2003 5:17 AM
The fact is that Red Sox fans appreciate good baseball, and last night was a good example of the home town team beaten fair and square. But regardless of who may be actually on the field, we are sure of one thing: the Yankees still suck. And no matter what may change, the Yankees will suck.

Furthermore, as a Red Sox season ticket holder, nothing annoys me more than Yankees fans at Fenway. You have your own ballpark, stay there. In fact, you aren't really welcome anywhere in the City of Boston.
Because...Crankist
Aug 21, 2003 6:03 AM
A team with fine heritage (like Cleveland), Boston are perennial losers yet deserve their own movie. Yes, I think another mean-spirited owner who undermines a surprising, collective effort will serve as a fine vehicle to display that big fantasy win against you-know-who...'caus it ain't gonna happen otherwise.
Please, we're no Cleveland Indians,TJeanloz
Aug 21, 2003 6:18 AM
The Red Sox have been more frustrating than a team like, say, the Tigers or Indians, because the owners have historically been pretty decent (excepting the period 1992-2001 after Jean Yawkey died and before the current ownership took the reins).

The Red Sox are frustrating not because they never win - but because they are consistently one of the top 10 teams in baseball and never win it all. Someday it will come.
Because it's a truism, regardless of who is in town,Major Kong
Aug 21, 2003 12:57 PM
As a taxpayer of Boston I can go where ever I want in the City that always Sleeps. In the six and half years I lived here I've come across quite a few Yankee fans, more than you could ever imagine.

Last night was a good game to watch and I do enjoy going to Fenway (I live a mile and a half away). The Sox should have won that game. They could be pretty scary if Little ever learns how to use his bullpen.

Yankee in Boston
You can go wherever you want...TJeanloz
Aug 21, 2003 1:20 PM
You're just not welcome. We tolerate you, but we don't have to like it. I agree that there are too many Yankee fans in Boston. We should erect a wall or something (something 37 feet tall and green maybe...).

The team seems to have all the pieces, they just can't manage to put them all together at the same time. If they ever do, it will be unbelievable. This batting order is ridiculous.
My best friend is a Sox fan. Can I stay?Major Kong
Aug 21, 2003 3:31 PM
What ails Pedro?

I think the Sox have a better team. I also think you are about if they manage to put it together. Watch out.

Andrew.
My best friend is a Sox fan. Can I stay?TJeanloz
Aug 22, 2003 4:45 AM
Pedro apparently has the "flu". Which in Dr. Bill Morgan (Red Sox team physician) terms, means a torn rotator cuff.

But who needs Pedro when you have Casey Fossum? Hey, he was the only guy to beat the A's this week...
re: Why do Red Sox fans chant "Yankees Suck" when ......Alpedhuez55
Aug 21, 2003 6:07 AM
THey will need to really pick it up the last month. THe scedule gets pretty easy for the Sox in September but they still have

In 1975 an umpire named Larry Barnett blew a call in the world series that cost the Sox a game. I was at a game about 3 years ago and Barrnett was one of the umpires. When they anounced his there was a strong chorus of boos in the crowd.

There is probably some jealousy. The way the leauge is set up, the Yankees have an unfair advantage. The Yankees spend more money because of the revenue they get off of their TV contracts. Smaller market teams cannot compete on the same level. Though the Sox are up there in the salary department as well, they just tend to make some bad choices on big contractrs.

Mike Y.
I agree it is unfair :O)Live Steam
Aug 21, 2003 8:10 PM
The Yankees have better management than the rest of the league. They negotiate better TV deals and as a result have more money to spend on home grown talent like Jeter, Williams, Rivera, Petite, Soriano, Posada, not to mention the valuable players they brought up through their superior farm system and used as trade bait for many other stars. Am I missing anyone or any thing? Yanks win one out of every four championships. Kind of like a national tradition :O)
Four truisms to remember about Boston-based sportseyebob
Aug 21, 2003 12:04 PM
1) The Yankees do suck.
2) Bobby Orr is the greatest hockey player ever (and the Canadiens suck as well [particularly when Roy played])
3) The Miami Dolphins also suck.
4) The LA Lakers can occassionally suck quite a bit too.

BT
At least we have some basketball superiorityTJeanloz
Aug 21, 2003 12:13 PM
The one shimmer of hope for Boston fans is that the Celtics have such an awesome history. Two "three-peats" by the Bulls? Yawn. Celtics won Nine in a row. Eleven out of twelve. 16 total championships. Lakers? Please.

The Celtics are the Yankees of basketball. Now if the new ownership could just go Steinbrenner on us, we'd be all set.
"Go Steinbrenner on us?" LOL!!!!!! (nm)eyebob
Aug 21, 2003 12:42 PM
re:We used to yell "Beat the Yank-me's"jrm
Aug 21, 2003 3:21 PM
When they played the Angels. I was a good laugh..