RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


MY two favorite movie lines(24 posts)

MY two favorite movie lineslotterypick
Aug 14, 2003 11:56 AM
"It's good to be the king" and

"At least I got that going for me".

Yours?
re: MY two favorite movie linessn69
Aug 14, 2003 12:07 PM
"I do have a test today, that wasn't bullsh!t. It's on European socialism. I mean really, what's the point? I'm not European, I don't plan on being European, so who gives a crap if they're socialists? They could be fascist anarchists, it still wouldn't change the fact that I don't own a car."

"It's not that I condone facism, or any isms for that matter. Isms in my opinion are not good. A person should not believe in an ism he should believe in himself. I quote John Lennon. "I don't believe in Beatles I just believe in me." A good point there, after all he was the walrus, I could be the walrus, I'd still have to bum rides off of people."
re: MY two favorite movie linesColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2003 12:21 PM
Bob Slydell: If you would, would you walk us through a typical day, for you?
Peter Gibbons: Yeah.
Bob Slydell: Great.
Peter Gibbons: Well, I generally come in at least fifteen minutes late, ah, I use the side door--that way Lumbergh can't see me, heh--after that I sorta space out for an hour.
Bob Porter: Da-uh? Space out?
Peter Gibbons: Yeah, I just stare at my desk, but it looks like I'm working. I do that for probably another hour after lunch too, I'd say in a given week I probably only do about fifteen minutes of real, actual, work.

--------------------------------------------------

Bob Slydell: I'd like to move us right to Peter Gibbons. We had a chance to meet this young man, and boy that's just a straight shooter with upper management written all over him.
What movie?!? (sounds like my company!) nmRhodyRider
Aug 15, 2003 6:13 AM
Office Space...a must see for any corporate slave nmColnagoFE
Aug 15, 2003 6:40 AM
Rented & watched it Sat. evening - laughed our arses off. nmRhodyRider
Aug 18, 2003 5:16 AM
"Michael ..... Bolton! Hey are you related to that singer guy?"El Guapo
Aug 15, 2003 7:11 AM
"Sounds like someone's gotta case of the Mondays" nmEl Guapo
Aug 15, 2003 7:12 AM
people skills...ColnagoFE
Aug 15, 2003 8:41 AM
Tom Smykowski: Well look, I already told you! I deal with the g0ddamn customers so the engineers don't have to! I have people skills! I am good at dealing with people! Can't you understand that?! What the hell is wrong with you people?!
re: MY two favorite movie linesmohair_chair
Aug 14, 2003 12:33 PM
"I don't want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don't want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don't want to do that."

"So what Jefferson was saying was "Hey! You know, we left this England place because it was bogus. So if we don't get some cool rules ourselves, pronto, we'll just be bogus too." Yeah? "

"Please Joel, do what they say, just get off the babysitter."

"I don't know if there is anything wrong because I don't know how other people are."

"F--k me? F--k you! F--k you and this whole city and everyone in it. F--k the panhandlers, grubbing for money, and smiling at me behind my back. F--k squeegee men dirtying up the clean windshield of my car. Get a F--king job! F--k the Sikhs and the Pakistanis bombing down the avenues in decrepit cabs, curry steaming out their pores and stinking up my day. Terrorists in F--king training. Slow the F--k down! F--k the Chelsea boys with their waxed chests and pumped up biceps. Going down on each other in my parks and on my piers, jingling their dicks on my Channel 35. F--k the Korean grocers with their pyramids of overpriced fruit and their tulips and roses wrapped in plastic. Ten years in the country, still no speaky English? F--k the Russians in Brighton Beach. Mobster thugs sitting in cafés, sipping tea in little glasses, sugar cubes between their teeth. Wheelin' and dealin' and schemin'. Go back where you F--king came from! F--k the black-hatted Chassidim, strolling up and down 47th street in their dirty gabardine with their dandruff. Selling South African apartheid diamonds!F--k the Wall Street brokers. Self-styled masters of the universe. Michael Douglas, Gordon Gecko wannabe mother F--kers, figuring out new ways to rob hard working people blind. Send those Enron A--sholes to jail for F--king life! You think Bush and Cheney didn't know about that s--t? Give me a F--king break! Tyco! Inclone! Adelphia! Worldcom! F--k the Puerto Ricans. 20 to a car, swelling up the welfare rolls, worst F--kin' parade in the city. And don't even get me started on the Dom-in-i-cans, because they make the Puerto Ricans look good. F--k the Bensonhurst Italians with their palmaded hair, their nylon warm-up suits, and their St. Anthony medallions. Swinging their, Jason Giambi, Louisville slugger, baseball bats, trying to audition for the Sopranos. F--k the Upper East Side wives with their Armani scarves and their fifty-dollar Balducci artichokes. Overfed faces getting pulled and lifted and stretched, all taut and shiny. You're not fooling anybody, sweetheart! F--k the uptown brothers. They never pass the ball, they don't want to play defense, they take fives steps on every lay-up to the hoop. And then they want to turn around and blame everything on the white man. Slavery ended one hundred and thirty seven years ago. Move the F--k on! F--k the corrupt cops with their anus violating plungers and their 41 shots, standing behind a blue wall of silence. You betray our trust! F--k the priests who put their hands down some innocent child's pants. F--k the church that protects them, delivering us into evil. And while you're at it, F--k JC! He got off easy! A day on the cross, a weekend in hell, and all the hallelujahs of the legioned angels for eternity! Try seven years in F--kin' Otisville, Jay! F--k Osama Bin Laden, Alqueda, and backward-ass, cave-dwelling, fundamentalist A--holes everywhere. On the names of innocent thousands murdered, I pray you spend the rest of eternity with your seventy-two whores roasting in a jet-fueled fire in hell. You towel headed camel jockeys can kiss my royal, Irish ass!"
re: MY two favorite movie linesSpoiler
Aug 14, 2003 1:23 PM
Alex: Oh bliss! Bliss and heaven! Oh, it was gorgeousness and gorgeousity made flesh. It was like a bird of rarest-spun heaven metal or like silvery wine flowing in a spaceship, gravity all nonsense now. As I slooshied, I knew such lovely pictures!

Mark "Rent-boy" Renton: [narrating] Choose life. Choose a job. Choose a career. Choose a family. Choose a focking big television. Choose washing machines, cars, compact disc players and electrical tin openers. Choose good health, low cholesterol, and dental insurance. Choose fixed interest mortgage repayments. Choose a starter home. Choose your friends. Choose leisurewear and matching fabrics. Choose DIY and wondering who the fock you are on a Sunday morning. Choose sitting on that couch watching mind-numbing, spirit crushing game shows, stuffing junk food into your mouth. Choose rotting away at the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home, nothing more than an embarrassment to the selfish, focked up brats you spawned to replace yourself. Choose a future. Choose life... But why would I want to do a thing like that? I chose not to choose life. I chose somethin' else. And the reasons? There are no reasons. Who needs reasons when you've got heroin?
Lieutenant Colonel Kilgore: You either surf or you fight. (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2003 2:16 PM
re: MY two favorite movie linesSao
Aug 14, 2003 2:21 PM
Robert Mitchum in Out of the Past:

"My name is Jeff Markam, and I haven't talked to anybody who hasn't tried to sell me something for ten days. If I don't talk I think. It's too late in life for me to start thinking. I could go down to the cliff and look at the sea like a good tourist, but it's no good if there isn't somebody you can turn to and say, 'Nice view, huh.' The same with the churches, the relics, the moonlight or a Cuba Libre. Nothing in the world is any good unless you can share it."

Christopher Walken in Dead Zone (not a great movie, but a great line) when responding to the cop's suggestion that his ability to see into the future is a blessing:

"You know what God did for me? He threw an 18-wheeled truck at me, bounced me into nowhere for five years. When I woke up, my job was gone, my girl was gone, my legs are practically useless. Bless me? God's been a real sport to me."
Why are mine one liners, can you guesslotterypick
Aug 14, 2003 2:36 PM
this one.

Say it!...Say it!
Why are mine one liners, can you guessJS Haiku Shop
Aug 15, 2003 6:37 AM
beetlejuice! beetlejuice! beetlejuice! ?
Officer & a gentleman ? (nm)BIGBOB
Aug 15, 2003 9:16 AM
Oh, King eh? Well I didn't vote for ya...rwbadley
Aug 14, 2003 4:13 PM
'At least I got that going for me'. Bill Murray, out of Caddyshack. Priceless movie. Ted Knight is really hysterical and the rest of the cast just amazing here. I have quoted (and misquoted) so many lines from Caddyshack, Monty Pythons' Holy Grail, The Blues Bros., Animal House. All the moldy oldie hit one liners.

'We're on a Mission from God' (Blues Bros)

'We all need a good spanking! (spank ME, spank ME!) Oh! and then, the Oral Sex!' also; 'It's just a flesh wound!' (Holy Grail)

Miss it Noonan, Miss it! and 'I'll give you Asthma' (Caddyshack)

'Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor?' (Animal house)
Good sources53T
Aug 14, 2003 5:04 PM
Animal House and Apocalypse Now are both great sources for great lines, although Fast Times at Ridgmemont High seems to be over-represented in this thread (hmmmm)

Some of Mine:

"My advice to you is to start drinking heavily"

If I say it's safe to surf this beach, it's safe to surf this beach. God damn it, I'll surf."

"Hey Harrington, you're wifes a dike"

"Hi, I'm Artie Fufkin, Polymer Records."
Hey RW, I knew great minds think alike or maybe ...Live Steam
Aug 18, 2003 5:26 AM
we're just mindless :O) I love Caddyshack. A true "mindless" comedy classic. No thinking required - just some good laughs. I had to watch it last night after reading your post :O)

TY: You take drugs, Danny?
DANNY: Every day.
TY: Then what's your problem?

TY: I was born to love you. I was born to lick your face. I was born to rub you. But you were born to rub me first.

TY: You're rather attractive for a beautiful girl with a great body.

DR. BEEPER: I thought you'd be the man to beat this year.
TY: I guess you'll just have to keep beating yourself.

TY: A flute with no holes is not a flute. A donut with no holes is a danish.

CARL: This crowd has grown deadly silent, a Cinderella story outta' nowhere. Former greenskeeper and now about to become the masters champion.

CARL: It's in the hole!!

CARL: This is a hybrid ... of bluegrass, Kentucky bluegrass, featherbed bent and northern California sensemilia. The amazing stuff about this, is that you can play 36 holes on it in the afternoon, take it home and just get stoned to the bejeezus-belt that night on the stuff.

CARL: They're like the vietcong...varmintcong. So what you got to do...you got to fall back on superior firepower and superior intelligence. And that's all she wrote.

CARL: I smell varmint poontang, and the only good varmint poontang is dead varmint poontang, I think.

AL: Oh, this your wife, huh? A lovely lady. Hey baby, you must have been something before electricity.

AL: Your a lot of woman, you know that? Yeah, wanna make 14 dollars the hard way.

CADDY: Would you like to have your driver?
AL: No, he's not my type.
warning adult contentJS Haiku Shop
Aug 15, 2003 6:36 AM
"Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets."

"Listen, you f*ckers, you screwheads. Here is a man who would not take it anymore. A man who stood up against the scum, the c***s, the dogs, the filth, the sh*t. Here is a man who stood up. "

"You talkin' to me? You talkin' to me? You talkin' to me? Then who the hell else are you talkin' to? You talkin' to me? Well I'm the only one here. Who do you think you're talking to?"

"Each night when I return the cab to the garage, I have to clean the *** off the back seat. Some nights, I clean off the blood."

taxi driver: one of the finest movies of all time. deniro in his element.
"One of these days I gotta get myself organizized"--Travis (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 15, 2003 8:44 AM
"I picked the wrong day to stop sniffing glue."El Guapo
Aug 15, 2003 7:08 AM
Gotta love the Airplane movies:

"Can I have your attention please. Don't be alarmed, but there is a passenger on this plane who has a bomb ... and we're out of coffee."

"A hospital! What is it?"
"It's a large building with doctors in it, but that's not important right now."

"Of course I'm serious. And stop calling me surely."

"Hey, you're Karim Abdul Jabar."
"No I'm not kid. I'm Terrance Murdock and I'm the copilot of this plane."
"I picked the wrong day to stop sniffing glue."empacher6seat
Aug 15, 2003 12:51 PM
"I think you're the greatest, but my dad says you don't work hard enough at defence"
"The hell I don't!"

Ahhhh gotta love airplane

"Give me ham on five, hold the mayo!"

"No wonder you're upset. She's lovely! And a darling figure! Subtle, pouting breasts... firm thighs... it's a shame you two don't get along!"

"Joey, have you ever been in a Turkish prison?"

"This guy's all over the place! 10,000 feet, 15,000 feet... what an a$$hole!"
good stuffDougSloan
Aug 18, 2003 7:17 AM
Could go on forever. Caddyshack and Animal House alone could fill pages.

Jim Lovell (Tom Hanks): Houston, we have a problem. (Modified at my house to: "Houston, we have a [dirty] diaper."

"...and then, depression set in." Stripes (another one full of quotes)

Elwood Blues: It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses.

Elwood Blues: It's got a cop motor: a 440 cubic inch plant. It's got cop tires, cop suspension, cop shocks. It's a model made before catalytic converters so it'll run good on regular gas. What do you say, is this the new Bluesmobile, or what?

William Wallace: Men don't follow titles, they follow courage.

One of the most memorable of all time:

Harry Callahan: I know what you're thinking: "Did he fire six shots, or only five?" Well, to tell you the truth in all this excitement, I've kinda lost track myself. But, being this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: "Do I feel lucky?" Well, do ya punk?

Ferris Bueller: Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

Cameron Frye: Ferris, my father loves this car more than life itself.
Ferris Bueller: A man with priorities so far out of whack doesn't deserve such a fine automobile.

Randolph Duke: Mother always said you were greedy.
Mortimer Duke: She meant it as a complement.

Dean Vernon Wormer: Fat, drunk, and stupid is no way to go through life, son.