RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Backpackers, need your input. Would you buy this stove?(8 posts)

Backpackers, need your input. Would you buy this stove?Kristin
Aug 12, 2003 12:36 PM
This board gets much more traffic than Outdoor Review. I'll probably have better luck here. Thoughts on this stove?

It looks like a well built stove. I guess this guy makes them at home. No warrenty. I wonder if I could even sue him if it blew up. But its cheap and I like the design. :)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3622183735&category=27414&rd=1
re: Backpackers, need your input. Would you buy this stove?loki_1
Aug 12, 2003 1:52 PM
The stove is light, but depending on how much cooking you need to do, the fuel canisters can get heavy (and not always available). Would shipping it from GB to whereever you are add to the cost?

As an alternative (not neccessarily cheap), check out MSR Whisperlite and MSR SimmerLite. They run on white gas (ie coleman fuel). I have personally used the whisperlite and never had any problems with them.
Thanks!Kristin
Aug 12, 2003 2:17 PM
It was actually down to this one or a Coleman Xtreme on ebay. The Xtreme is selling for $45 buy it now. Pretty good price for a $60 stove. Also uses coleman fuel.
I'll second the MSR Whisperlite.Fr Ted Crilly
Aug 12, 2003 3:58 PM
I've had mine for about seven years and it's absolutely bombproof. Works as well as the day I got it, and never had a problem. The only down side of this stove is that, (like most similar stoves) there's no simmer capability. That's not a problem if all you're going to do is boil water for drinks and freeze dried meals, but if plan to use it for car camping and try and do a bit of proper cooking on it, then it may become annoying. In that case, go for the MSR Dragonfly.
Saw the Dragonfly last night. Twas love at first sightKristin
Aug 13, 2003 5:45 AM
I will have no other. But I must save my $$ for she is high maintenance.
Saw the Dragonfly last night. Twas love at first sightFr Ted Crilly
Aug 13, 2003 7:34 AM
You will feel so content and happy as you boil your water and cook your camp meals in a fraction of the time it takes others with their little gas stoves. When others come over to you as you're finishing your meal and ask if they can boil their water on your stove, you will know for certain that it worth spending those extra dollars on a quality product.
In the world of dehydrated foods..jtolleson
Aug 12, 2003 5:46 PM
a working stove makes the difference between eating or not, sometimes, and a breakdown means packing out early.

The MSR Whisperlite (a couple of different models are around) will NEVER leave you stranded. The few wearable parts (and they are very, very few) can be carried in a little do-it-yourself repair kit that is essentially idiot-proof. Even I can field service my MSR, if it ever needs it, which is almost never.

I simply could never recommend any other choice.
Stick with tried and true.Steve98501
Aug 13, 2003 4:15 PM
Kristin,

It might be a perfectly good stove, but I've not seen it anywhere, major outdoor suppliers specifically. Reliability is soooooo much more important than price, and there are many affordable models to choose from.

You need to choose what fuel to use, Coleman (white gas) or propane/butane. White gas is cheapest. Gas cartridges are convenient and almost fool-proof, but bulky and 10X more expensive.

The MSR Whisperlite is extremely popular, and contrary to to reviews in this thread, I've known at least 3 people who've had trouble making them operate while on the trail. It's always related to operator error; however, if you're prone to that ailment, it's a point to consider. The Coleman makes a Featherlite 400 that is very reliable, about $45, and simmers or blazes like Krakatoa. I'm partial to the obsolete Svea 123 by Optimus for its light weight and simplicity and effectiveness - but overpriced at $65.

There are lots of gas cartridge stoves that are extremely light. I use an MSR Pocket Rocket (3 ounces) that takes butane cartridges for lightweight trips where I want only to boil some water.

Lastly, if shipping isn't much, $16 is much to risk on a stove that might be a very good product, altho I think you usually get approximately what you pay for. You could buy it, use it, and give us a report.

Steve