RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...(65 posts)

Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 12:53 PM
.. this site was heavily promoted yesterday, but hard to get into. The server has cooled off now, the smoke cleared from the room ...

I'm no great fan of the Sierra Club, but I believe Hummers are about the DUMMEST thing anybody could drive, and I'm dead against 'em.

http://www.hummerdinger.com/
re: Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...RockyHillClimber
Jul 30, 2003 1:31 PM
I think little tiny cars that offer little protection of surviving an accident are to dummest thing you can buy.
Typical owner ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 2:06 PM
... which I saw last week. Realtor. Showing somebody a townhouse. Black Hummer. With OnStar.

I'm thinking to myself, yeah ... we finally have a vehicle that says "I'm so stupid that I think folks will think I'm successful" even louder than a Cadillac.

The Hummer is the essence of conspicuous consumption. Not one in 100 is purchased for any good reason of need, and that includes the safety of mass. Lousy fuel mileage? Man, they HOPE you notice they have so much money they don't care! Overpriced? Certainly, and glad you noticed! And it has OnStar, because I really need all the help I can get and lock my keys in the thing all the time. And its black, so it will get to 140 F after about 5 minutes parked in the sun.

Is it safer? Not to anyone else driving a SANE vehicle, it isn't!
Typical owner ...RockyHillClimber
Jul 30, 2003 4:30 PM
What business of it is yours what she drives? We live in a free country, and if she can afford to put gas in it each week, that is her business, not yours. That is just like complaining about the rich doctor that buys the C40 and let's hang in his garage. It probably upsets a lot of you, but it isn't any of your business.
Until you're trying to negotiate the narrow roads ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 6:11 PM
... around here, and there's one coming toward you, and one right behind you, and no shoulder.

Or you're breathing code orange or code red air, wishing there were more bikes and fewer single-passenger behemoths on the road.

Or one of them comes up your driveway and cracks the asphalt.

Or you're trying to get into your car in the parking lot with a Hummer on one side and an Excursion on the other.
I think hummer owners are wannabes...MXL02
Jul 31, 2003 6:11 AM
My new ride is the ultimate SUV...and getting a parking space at the local Krogers is a breeze...really, I only needed it to transport my mountain bike and tandem-triple...honest. :-0
Or ... (forgot the most important thing) ...Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 5:57 AM
...you've got a nephew (great kid, by the way) over in Iraq, trying to solve problems in an area where all problems ultimately boil down to humanity's thirst for oil.

Jimmy is the one on the right.
Typical owner ...DustBowl
Jul 31, 2003 6:01 AM
Who said anything about the realator being a she?
If everyone drove little tiny cars, no problema. The logicalbill
Jul 30, 2003 2:13 PM
conclusion of your analysis is . . . well, I was going to say an M1 tank, but a Hummer will do.
Hummers are dumbers. They beat just about anything else out there for stoopid. I agree.
The boy in me is intrigued by anything that massive, seemingly utilitarian but ultimately useless, and foreboding, but, you know, we all have to grow up sometime. I can sort of understand women wanting to be surrounded by all that metal (and nothing makes me giggle more than looking out at the parking lot in front of the Starbucks and seeing all that metal -- aisles of metal -- to tote around one woman each and maybe a couple of little kids). Men, though? I actually have got laid in my lifetime, and no one to my knowledge has smirked, so I don't feel the need to prove things that way.
that would be _dumbest_, Einstein. Good thing GWB will wage warBergMann
Jul 30, 2003 5:20 PM
to protect the right of deep thinkers like yourself to buy cheap gasoline, and lots of it.

You's done convinced me!
I's gonna get me an armored truck!
re: Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...Creaky Carnivore
Jul 30, 2003 1:40 PM
Ha. Pretty funny. I have been muscled off the road twice in the last month while cycling by 2 different Hummers. Also, after parking my smallish '94 Nissan pickup next to one at Wallmart, I returned to find a note that read "nice job parking. we couldn't even open our doors". I checked my alignment in my parking spot. It was perfect. Apparently they will need their own parking lots soon as well.
Ford is discontinuing the Excursion ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 3:57 PM
... Evidently, it can't be parked or put in a garage either.
Has anyone noticed.......Creaky Carnivore
Jul 31, 2003 6:43 AM
that the mirrors on the excursion stick out to the side about 2 ft! Scares the hell out of me!
Nothing is dummer than a Hummer.purplepaul
Jul 30, 2003 2:59 PM
And nothing says, "I don't give a f*ck about you or anyone else" than a huge pile of metal rolling down the streets of Manhattan. There's a really trendy hotel up the block from me, and there's almost always one parked in front. I so want to key them, but I respect private property too much to do that. But, jeezus, what a show of narcissism.
what's wrong with...? oh, *that* kind of Hummer... ;-) nmDougSloan
Jul 30, 2003 3:07 PM
as much as a libertarian I am, I don't like themDougSloan
Jul 30, 2003 3:13 PM
I have to admit, while I believe that everyone should be permitted to drive what they way, when I see people driving these things on perfectly flat, smooth, dry valley roads, I have to think "disgusting, what a waste, idiot, etc." You know, they are a bit much. I could see a rancher in Alaska having one, but for most people, this is about as necessary as a dump truck.

Again, while I support the *right* to drive them, I would encourage people not to.

[insert cycling content now, or this discussion belongs in Non-Cycling...]

Doug
as much as a libertarian I am, I don't like themesg
Jul 30, 2003 3:27 PM
Hey chill guys. I have one. What's the big deal. I can afford it I love it! love to drive it(never off road) and love to look at it in the driveway. I thought this group would be more enlightened. Life's too short. Elliot
that's fineDougSloan
Jul 30, 2003 3:31 PM
Understand that I fully support your right to drive it. I just think it's sort of wasteful, sort of like leaving the windows open with the air conditioner running at home... Free country, though.

Doug
This is rediculous...noveread
Jul 31, 2003 6:39 AM
Okay Doug, you are definitely one of the most level-headed folks on the board, and Libertarian (you are a true libertarian? Cool!) or not, I got to call you on this one! :) But I'm adding this little smiley face in to make sure we all get my tone here as being on the fun side! Now.

Wasteful? A Hummer? Doug, how many bikes do you have in your shop (nice pics btw!)? Is it really necessary to have multiple bikes that cost as much as they do? Is it really necessary? Do you really need them? Are you aware that the manufacture of high-zoot bikes is not one of the most environmentally healthy endeavors?

Sheesh, I hate these discussions. And H-H, I'd have thought better of you to think that the Iraq war is all about oil. If you really thought that Iraq was about oil, which means control of the country, do you think the US would be letting the Shiites consolidate their control?

Guess this whole post needs to be moved to the non-cycling board.

Noveread
The Empty Wrapper
matter of degreeDougSloan
Jul 31, 2003 6:48 AM
Sure, everyone is wasteful in some respect. That doesn't make it excuseable or that anything goes, though.

Keep in mind that I fully support the rights of people to drive these things, have 15 bikes, run the air conditioning with the windows open, whatever. However, that doesn't mean no one can comment on their opinion of doing so. I believe in the power of *persuasion*, but not *control*.

I agree that the thread has only incidental cycling content and probably should be in Non-cycling.

Doug
And my apologies for posting it on General.Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 7:04 AM
Non-cycling really IS a better spot for it. I didn't think the original post would do more than get some people to glance at the parody and giggle a bit.

To me, the cycling connection is pretty apparent: the Hummer is the very antithesis of the cycling mentality, and that kind of excess bore directly on Kristin's post about finding bike routes to avoid traffic.

But it quickly got out of hand.

As far as tromping on people's freedoms go, heck, we're not going to pass any legislation in this forum. Might change a few attitudes, tho. The neat thing about freedom of expression is, the Hummer owners are free to express themselves with their wallets, and the rest of us are free to laugh our asses off and tell them what we REALLY think.
Very true. nmnoveread
Jul 31, 2003 8:09 AM
no problem; I let it develop, but went non-cycling direction nmDougSloan
Jul 31, 2003 8:23 AM
matter of degreenoveread
Jul 31, 2003 8:08 AM
True, it is a matter of degree, and I am not trying to support the Hummer (do love that word though, heh-heh) owners here, and perhaps I'm being a bit too picky, but, a matter of degree? Aren't you a lawyer Doug? At what point of degree does something become wrong?

Okay, yes, you got me, I'm playing devil's advocate here but for some reason, I JUST CAN'T HELP IT TODAY!!!

Maintaining that you have the right to an opinion that allows someone to do something but doesn't mean you have to like it, is fine. But to discuss/argue this issue on a message board means that it is more than just merely an opinion, but rather a postion that your opinion is how it should be!

Just my opinion! Ha-ha!

Oh, I've GOT to get out on the bike tonight. To bad once again I'll be out the back like...

Noveread
...The [an] Empty Wrapper
Iraq is about a lot of things ...Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 7:17 AM
... but do you seriously believe that whole mess is not keyed, one way or another, on oil?

Saddam Hussein used oil wealth to build up the 4th largest army on the planet. He used that army to take Kuwait ... any guess as to why? He had avowed to take over the entire Middle East. The rest of the civilized world envisioned what would happen with a personality like that with all that oil wealth, wisely decided to pre-empt the third world war, and put him back in his place.

Now we're just finishing what we should have done 12 years ago. But do you think we'd have done it if oil were not so important? Look at our response in Liberia, a country we CREATED!

Bottom line: if everybody over here rode bikes, and conserved energy in other activities, we'd need about half the oil we do now. That would rather greatly reduce the cash flow in a region where that cash tends to get used for mischeif.
Iraq is about a lot of things ...noveread
Jul 31, 2003 8:12 AM
No, I am not so naive to think the situation in Iraq does not involve oil. It is a piece of the puzzle. But do I think it is central to the puzzle? No, I do not.

Noveread
The Empty Wrapper
Iraq is about a lot of things ...Live Steam
Jul 31, 2003 3:18 PM
"Bottom line: if everybody over here rode bikes, and conserved energy in other activities, we'd need about half the oil we do now. That would rather greatly reduce the cash flow in a region where that cash tends to get used for mischief."

Unfortunately this sentiment would put a lot of local people out of work and reduce their cash flow tremendously. There has to be some answer as to how to wean us off fossil fuels, but I don't think that answer is near.

That said I also believe in an individuals right to choose as long as they are within the law and not hurting someone else. Cars have gone through fads since their inception. I suspect this is just one of those fads. I drive a Tahoe. Many times I am the only passenger, however many times it is used for moving loads of lumber, furniture, stone, bikes and what ever. I would not like to be told that I have no right to own and drive it. I pay for it's fuel and maintenance and I should not be denied that right.
You've opened up a whole new area of discussion here.Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 4:57 PM
What you are saying is very much correct and very important. Getting pretty off-topic from a Hummer discussion, though, so I'm going to start a new topic above called "Alternative Energy Sources". Please chime in.
seriously, why do you love it? I can tell you why I love mybill
Jul 30, 2003 3:38 PM
little car -- maneuverable, easy to park, easy on gas, and no more than I need. It's still more than I need, I guess, in terms of design and performance (BMW 318, 1991 -- not exactly a big deal, but a nice enough little car that still looks good, handles real well, and is hardly a dog performer).
You?
huh?DougSloan
Jul 30, 2003 3:42 PM
I pictured you as a Gerry Spence clone driving a pickup. ;-)

Doug
If you ever saw me, you would know that that is really, reallybill
Jul 30, 2003 4:03 PM
funny. I'm 5'8", dark, sort of compact, and I do not wear leather fringe jackets or talk way down low. I do, however, enjoy the sound of my own voice, so maybe there's something there.
seriously, why do you love it? I can tell you why I love myesg
Jul 30, 2003 4:16 PM
Bill, I also have a BMW 95 325 and have chrysler minivan. Have four kids and need room for kids, etc. Sometimes I like tight, small car feel and sometimes I like to have "King of the Road" feel. If had to give up one of the three vehicles it would be Hummer though. Still don't knock if if you haven't tried it. Must be more Hummer owners out there. On Hummer board there are many cyclists.
seriously, why do you love it? I can tell you why I love mymcteague
Jul 31, 2003 4:38 AM
It is a free country, well, sort of free anyway. You cannot yell "FIRE" in a crowded theater. Your freedom to swing your fist stops where my face begins. There are many trade offs to living in a free society. Huge vehicles with no real purpose, I don't count ego gratification, are a waste of resources. They are too wide for existing roads, block the view of most other travellers, and just burn too much gas. I never, ever, see any mud on Hummers or most SUVs for that matter. I just don't get them. Vans have more room if that is what you need. It's a bit like wearing crampons for your city walk. Sure its a free country but doing so would pretty much label you an idiot as well as endangering the feet of those around you. Now, how do I bring this back to cycling? What would you think of someone riding a full-on downhill bike at the local crit? Well, that is what most think of Hummer drivers I would think.

Tim McTeague
seriously, why do you love it? I can tell you why I love mybill
Jul 30, 2003 3:57 PM
little car -- maneuverable, easy to park, easy on gas, and no more than I need. It's still more than I need, I guess, in terms of design and performance (BMW 318, 1991 -- not exactly a big deal, but a nice enough little car that still looks good, handles real well, and is hardly a dog performer).
You?
We have one out my way that periodically runs meOldEdScott
Jul 31, 2003 5:43 AM
off the road (our 'major artery' out there is 13 feet wide, so the Hummer barely fits, and he ain't stoppin or slowin down for no bike.) But the odd thing is, instead of getting p!ssed like I usually do, I always laugh my ass off. It's so ... RIDICULOUS looking ... this giant mass of metal rolling down the road with this little geeky guy all proud of himself and jacked up on newfound testosterone driving it! It's so absurd I just burst out laughing at the whole spectacle. Kinda sad too. That rolling hulk is IT for that fellow. Can't be anything else.
Elliot. Do you everKristin
Jul 31, 2003 6:10 AM
When you are following a driver who is going only 5 MPH over the speed limit on a one lane highway and you can't pass them, do you drive up on thier tail in an attempt to intimidate them into going faster?
It's not the driver, it's the SUV, the driver has no control. nmnoveread
Jul 31, 2003 6:42 AM
as much as a libertarian I am, I don't like themKvonnah
Jul 30, 2003 3:30 PM
Here is some cycling content for you Doug. I would like to thank all the Bicycle commuters on this board for helping to do our part. Each one of us commuting 10-15+ mi each way every day is making up for all the useless consumption and massive emissions put out by these ridiculous vehicles.

Of course, it takes 100 of us a year to equal 1/2 a tank of gas consumed by 1 Hummer :-)
as much as a libertarian I am, I don't like themesg
Jul 30, 2003 3:52 PM
not the best analogy but similar to frames. Don't generalize Hummah Hah. I bought my Hummer to impress no one but me. I bet this is similar to those who get high end frames/wheels but don't really need them. They get blamed for trying to impress others. Doubt it. If it makes you feel good go for it. As for the consumption issue/emissions spare me please. Elliot
Whatever. Tastes vary. But for me, apart from my taste for notdjg
Jul 31, 2003 6:47 AM
intimidating other drivers and not burning the most fuel absolutely possible, I have to say that the idea that somebody might like one of these things is completely inacessible. It's sort of like seeing some extremely alternative sexual more depicted on HBO or something (on MTV, I once caught part of a show depicting folks who claimed to like it mostly or perhaps only when dressed as giant stuffed animals--no lie)--you know, I understand as an abstract proposition that tastes vary, but I just don't get it.

With the bigger and bigger trucks out there I do, however, believe that there ought to be some serious consideration of alternate licensing regimes. Even if we just take the safety issue and leave the rest aside, it seems to me that many people are out there driving vehicles that they haven't a clue how to handle. And I'm not sure that having passed a 5 minute road test at the age of 16 in a GMC pacer ought to be license for driving a fundamentally different vehicle. When I'm on the bike I give any super-SUV thing a REAL wide berth.
Maybe we could simply make them ...Humma Hah
Jul 30, 2003 3:59 PM
... run with a lead and chase vehicle with flashing orange lights and big banners reading:

CAUTIION - WIDE VEHICLE
(with idiot at wheel)
Maybe we could simply make them ...esg
Jul 30, 2003 4:01 PM
Hummah, as a long time lurker on this board I am losing respect for you real fast. Elliot.
Can't take the heat?.... ;->4bykn
Jul 30, 2003 4:48 PM
C'mon, Hummah is probably the most all-round respected guy(or gal) here.
Can't take the heat?.... ;->esg
Jul 30, 2003 4:56 PM
You're right just I'm in a bad mood today. I really hate intolerance. Elliot
Hate intolerance? You're in the wrong part of town, buddy!torquer
Jul 31, 2003 6:33 AM
Actually, the non-cycling disscussions are worse.

On the other hand, better that we get our bile out here, rather than keying/running-off-the-road/shooting the objects of our disgust.
Hummer driversgregario
Jul 31, 2003 4:19 AM
Personally I think Hummer drivers are idiots that are compensating for something (low self esteem?) or are crying for attention or are latent homosexuals. There I said it and I don't care if I offended you. Personally I drive a mini-van with the rear rows of seats removed to haul the tandem and singles. If I didn't have a tandem I'd probably be driving a VW Golf or a Pontiac Vibe. Maybe someday they will make a hybrid that I put my 62cm bike inside or even the tandem. I even consider myself a Republican on most issues except when it comes to the environment. That also means being responsible for your actions and using common sense. I don't see much common sense or responsibility in driving a Hummer to pick the kids up from soccer practice especially when they could BIKE to practice.

I find it funny that when guys drive "hot" or impressive cars (BMW's, Porsches, Hummers) they seem to attract the most interest from OTHER guys.
Maybe we could simply make them ...lemmy999
Jul 31, 2003 12:21 PM
I like your idea. I laugh at the people that drive the H2 and Excursions, etc. Because you know they think they think they are really cool in their big SUV and the envy of all around them.

What is next for the big SUV crowd with small d*ck syndrome? Are they going to start driving 18 wheelers? Or maybe a big motorhome....
I once proposed in jest, a 10-wheeler ...Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 12:43 PM
A big semi tractor, one of those sumbitches with the apartment on the back, with the sleeper box converted with seats, windows, and a tailgate. I figured it would already be 8-wheel drive (maybe we could add a transfer case and front differential and drive the front wheels, too), and would have great towing capacity. Fuel mileage would be around 2 mpg. It would be billed as the world's biggest SUV, except, of course, that it would be neither sporty nor useful.

Imagine my horror when someone here immediately posted a picture of exactly what I'd described. Somebody had already built one! |:-0
Up at Lake Tahoe...rwbadley
Jul 30, 2003 5:00 PM
I was in an area of 'Money' homes, doing some business. One of the clients had these in the garage: A convertable '69 Chevelle, a new Viper, a 7 series Beemer, and an H2 Hummer. I have to admit that the Hummer and BMW were least of the cars I looked at. The Hummer mostly incited waves of disgust. They did have four bikes in the garage. (bike related post ;-) They looked unused.

I wholeheartedly support a person's right to do with their wealth as they see fit, but I also think that if stuff like this weren't built, nobody would miss it.

Do we really need to think up more ways to use resources at a faster rate than we already do?

RW
The H2 must be a vanity object ...PaulNYC
Jul 30, 2003 5:20 PM
The H2 is no where near as rugged as the H1. The H2 is a gussied up chevy. The H1 can go offroad. The H2 can go offroad and get stuck.

If people say they buy it for themselves, then it is to support some image they have of themselves.
re: Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...Jock McScot
Jul 30, 2003 7:16 PM
Its interesting that the few Hummer owners on here will defend themselves against the vanity charges, but ignore the enviromental concernces.

I don't care if you want to pose. I do however care if it contributes in a big way to my air to become less breathable and generally helps screw up the world around me.

Then again, as long as you can afford it... [sigh]
re: Sierra Club parody of the Hummer ...lemmy999
Jul 31, 2003 4:49 AM
Hummers are getting so popular because of the big tax break you get when you buy a vehicle over 6,000 lbs. The tax break is for self employed people. The tax break was there for people like farmers to buy farm equipment or a small company to buy some big delivery truck or piece of machinery. However with the H2 you 25,000 of the money you spend on one is tax free. And GWB recently was trying to increase this figure 3 times (I think he succeeded). It is basically our government subsidising stupid people buying stupid vehicles like this.
Problem might resolve itself.Alex-in-Evanston
Jul 31, 2003 6:29 AM
GM is going to "pass" a brick as the warranty claims begin to mount as these vehicles age. They are the worst rated automobiles on the road for reported problems.

Although, at $60,000? they just might have enough wiggle room.

Alex
Problem might resolve itself.Jusme
Jul 31, 2003 6:45 AM
Hey for the $55,000 the things cost you could buy the nicest bike out there and have enough left over for a billboard in Times Square that says "I'm a d*ck"

If Escalades, Hummers, et al got 60 MPG I would still hate them for the shining displays of excess, self absorption and obliviousness to others they represent. Around here apparently the yellow letters in front of stores say 'SUV parking'. I've been misreading the words as 'fire lane'. I hate when they park beside me and I can't see to back out of a space, I hate the way they drift over into my lane because they can't see the Saturn wwwaayyyy down here closer to the road. I hate the way SUV's are carelessly driven as if the driver has the attitude of " everybody will get out of my way or I'll win the collision".

BTW it's the ubiquitous behemoths I rail against, not the Liberty, Forrester, CRV types.

It's cool to bash SUV's and now it's cool to bash the bashers. But die, Navigator, die.
I drive an H3JS Haiku Shop
Jul 31, 2003 6:52 AM
Wrong. You drive an orange shoe box.Fender
Jul 31, 2003 7:23 AM
just kidding. I'm looking into getting one of those myself.
The Moderator has low tolerance todaygregario
Jul 31, 2003 10:05 AM
My message was deleted because I called Hummer drivers idiots and latent homosexuals? Wow, that's pretty blatant censorship. I didn't even swear, I swear!
I'd invite all to weigh in on the propriety of your comments nmDougSloan
Jul 31, 2003 3:20 PM
They can't when you delete them.gregario
Jul 31, 2003 4:04 PM
Jeez Doug, Lighten up![:)

If I can remember correctly I said that Hummer drivers were compensating for something, needed attention....oh yeah, idiots, and jokingly said they were possibly latent homosexuals. No one rejected any of that before you deleted it and it was on there a while. So I guess the others passed judgment when they still had time.

I was parodying Hummer drivers. Get it?
Ain't slander or libel if it is true ...Humma Hah
Jul 31, 2003 6:25 PM
Comments about folks being idiots for driving a Hummer may or may not be true, but you could probably make a pretty good argument FOR it ... as we have been. The consensus in this forum seems to be that the thesis is, at least to some degree, self-proving. In any case, folks call each other idiots with such great frequency that it is merely an impolite, not obscene, expletive, and easy to ignore.

Comments as to the choice of a Hummer reflecting their sexual orientation, on the other hand, are exceedingly dubious, and far more charged with emotion than challenging their mental capacity. One might wish to be prepared to prove it in court before one levels such assertions.

Comments as to the relationship of their choice of vehicle to a compensation for size deficit of their sex organ might be an interesting scientific study.

Skill at zinging without actually saying so outright is a skill that takes some development. I'm still working on it.
Hell, I'm offended, Doug, at your automatic assumption thatOldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 6:36 AM
calling someone a homosexual is an insult! Very non-PC of you.
ok, then, you latent-heteroDougSloan
Aug 1, 2003 6:49 AM
When the term is intentionally used derisely, true or not, it becomes an insult, doesn't it?
I'm gonna sic Hitlery and the Dumocrats on you! nmOldEdScott
Aug 1, 2003 6:52 AM
I assume you speak tongue firmly in cheekjtolleson
Jul 31, 2003 9:17 PM
my first reaction is that the thread belong over here. You've had almost universal support in ragging on Hummer drivers. I don't recall your comment about the possible sexual orientation of Hummer owners, but relax.
The real ticker is the tax deductionmichaelcford
Jul 31, 2003 9:13 PM
Why do you see so many of these turkeys ?

because there is a large tax deduction for them because there over 6,0000 pounds.

it was a loop hole for farm equipment, and now we have to pay for these turkeys with our tax money.

errrrrr, I gut upset everytime I think about it