RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


any thoughts on the Gray Davis recall election?(19 posts)

any thoughts on the Gray Davis recall election?DougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 8:45 AM
Going to happen, October 7. Two questions, vote him out yes or no, and if yes, who to replace. I think the first question is easy, but no idea who to take over. Not sure I'd even want to inherit his mess.

Any thoughts?

Doug
scapegoatgtx
Jul 25, 2003 9:23 AM
seems like people are always ready to blame someone else for their own problems. Maybe I haven't kept up with California's issues since I moved out of a state a few yyears ago, but is Davis corrupt? How exactly is he to blame for the current state of affairs? And I find it rather odd that everyone seems ready to vote in a guy with no political experience who got famous by wearing body lotion and a Speedo (not that there's anything wrong with that).
see what happens when dems. run the show!! (NM)bic
Jul 26, 2003 4:24 PM
Might be goot timing to promote the T3 DVD ;-)Alpedhuez55
Jul 25, 2003 9:28 AM
Are they still talking about Arnold running? He is the only member of the Kennedy kanl worth his weight in Irish Whiskey ;-) It sounds like things are a mess there. If the Republicans fielded a decent candidate last year, they probably would have won.

Mike Y.
Too much Darrell Issa in there for me...cory
Jul 25, 2003 9:31 AM
I'm not a Gray fan, but I prefer any Democrat to either Simon or Issa so I'd probably vote to keep him in. Ahhnuld is a joke (maybe not; he could surprise me), and who knows what Riordan will do, or if he'll live long enough to do it?
The mechanics and politics of the recall bother me a lot, though. Davis inherited a mess from Wilson, and the nationwide recession would have slammed ANY governor--he's getting the blame for a lot of things for which he's not responsible. Energy dereg, for instance (a TERRIBLE idea, the way it was done), was a Republican deal, but Davis suffered the fallout.
Even with that, the drive wasn't going anywhere until Issa put in the $1.5 million or whatever it was to keep it alive. This isn't a spontaneous outpouring of public opinion, it's a carefully orchestrated political coup. THAT concerns me, because if it's successful, it's going to open a big box o' problems all over the country.
Wall Street's reactiontorquer
Jul 25, 2003 12:39 PM
Well, actually Standard & Poor's reaction, whereever they are located:

From the NY Times' front page this morning:

"In a sign of the real-world impact of California's upheaval, the bond-rating house Standard & Poor's today downgraded California debt three notches, to BBB, the lowest of any state and just two grades above junk-bond status. The company said that 'with political focus on the recall, the prospects for meaningfull structural budget reform resulting from any enacted budget are diminished.'
The office of Phil Angelides, the state treasurer, estimated tonight that the downgrade could cost the state an additional $1 billion in borrowing costs over the next 30 years."

Talk about return on investment! Issa bankrolls the recall drive for a few million (I guess bussing in out-of-state signature collectors is cheap, as well as effective, if not strictly legal), and winds up costing the state $30-$50 million in special election costs, plus another $30 million per year in interest. (Lots more will happen to effect bond rates in the next 30 years to confidently predict costs over that period, but it does make for a nice round, and memorable, number.)

Whatever the actual cost, the Repubicuns have succeeded in "starving the beast" enough to at least close a few more soup kitchens. Good job!
bond rating already in the crapperDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 1:14 PM
The state is already nearly bankrupt.

It's over $35 billion in the hole, and Davis proposes a budget that *increases* the budget $5 billion. Huh?

Davis and allies here cannot get a grip on spending. I am personally aware of public employee salaries and spending that would be shocking to anyone with any sense of fiscal responsibility; that mulitiplied by a million is the main problem.

Davis has no one to blame but himself. Still, I'd not want to take over his mess.

Doug
re: $40 Million dollars of tax payers money for what?jrm
Jul 25, 2003 1:11 PM
A california republican party poster child goverenor. Who will most likey be a lame duck anyway. Regardless of waht party he comes from he's still going to be saddled with the same shlt. And worse yet controlled by a democratic lead house and senate. What good is this doing for anyone other than the minority republican party in california then waisting their tax payers money.

If a budget is passed before the recall election i think that will show voters what this whole recall really is, a vendetta.
The principle of Conservative Virtue. (nm)czardonic
Jul 25, 2003 3:29 PM
What a focking waist of money (nm)jrm
Jul 25, 2003 4:03 PM
unless a tightwad gets in and saves billions nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 5:16 PM
Hoping for a non-GOP candidate, I see. (nm)czardonic
Jul 25, 2003 5:22 PM
Wouldnt that be great? Nmjrm
Jul 26, 2003 7:46 AM
any tightwad is ok with me; know any? nmDougSloan
Jul 28, 2003 9:58 AM
Sure, plenty of tightwad CANDIDATES. Very fewOldEdScott
Jul 28, 2003 10:21 AM
tightwads in office. Of either party.
sort of points out the problem, huh? nmDougSloan
Jul 28, 2003 10:22 AM
No doubt, especially in California. nmNo_sprint
Jul 28, 2003 11:33 AM
Looks like,- - Make way for Arnold nmrwbadley
Jul 25, 2003 3:31 PM
latest -- probably notDougSloan
Jul 29, 2003 7:44 AM
http://www.bayarea.com/mld/cctimes/6408160.htm