RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I notice in Ann Coulters new book 'Treason'(27 posts)

I notice in Ann Coulters new book 'Treason'OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 5:12 AM
that Joe McCarthy was actually a great American patriot who did the Right Thing, and his reputation has been unfairly maligned and his actions distorted by Liberals, who are, in Ann's formulation, all guilty of treason by virtue of consistently giving aid and comfort to America's enemies.

Can I assume the consensus of this board is that Ann's right on the money in these assertions?
I ordered the book but haven't received it ...Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 5:41 AM
from Amazon. I think it is unfair to ask that question without seeing her reasoning and exactly what she wrote. For all we know this is just your misinterpretation of what she wrote. This is a typical pot shot sound bit taken at conservatives, by the left.
OK Steam --OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 7:18 AM
You worry that this is a 'misrepresentation' and call it a 'potshot.' Does that mean you do NOT agree with the sentiments expressed?

IF -- and I know I'm a Liberal, so this is a big IF -- IF those sentences are a fair presentation of what Ann Coulter says in her book, do you agree or not?

Hell, forget the book. Just take what I wrote about McCarthy and the treason of all liberals and agree or disagree.
OK Steam --Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 8:00 AM
For the time during which Joe McCarthy was Senator and serving as Chairman of the Committee on Government Operations, communism was a real and relevant threat to the US. It was not a "perceived" threat. He initiated the investigation because he believed, as many Americans did, that our own money was being used against us in a subversive manner and that communists had infiltrated our government at many levels. During McCarthy's entire career - 1947 to 1958 no American citizen was interrogated without benefit of legal counsel, no one was arrested or detained without due process, and no one went to jail without a trial.

With the opening of the KGB archives and the release of the Verona intercepts - decoded Soviet KGB correspondence - it has been proved that McCarthy was absolutely right about the extensive Soviet penetration of the US government in all the most sensitive areas. It was a danger to America. According to the KGB archives their were 221 Russian agents in the Roosevelt administration. In hindsight McCarthy was proved correct that the communist party in the US was an arm of Soviet intelligence and that the Soviet Union considered the US as their main enemy. The liberal critics in academe and the mainstream media, who denied there was communist subversion or made excuses for it, were proved absolutely wrong! This should have discredited the liberals. However ,because the left had no answer or could effectively rebut what McCarthy posed, they engaged in personal destruction - they smeared and demonized McCarthy because he was right and they had nothing to rebut his facts. Nothing has changed in this regard even today.

Many of our nobel, elder news anchormen and a few of our statesmen are proud communists. Just ask them. So if you haven't figured out from my response how I feel about what Ann wrote without actually reading it, well, I can't help you any more :O)
How about treason? Am I in a state of treason by virtue ofOldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 8:01 AM
being a liberal?
Depends upon ........Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 8:08 AM
what means you choose to display your liberalism and to what end. If you want to dismantle our accepted form of government, then yes you are a treasonist. If you aid and abet known enemies of the state, then yes you are a treasonist. If you try to "subvert" our efforts while engaged in battle, yes I believe you are a treasonist. The time to disent is before swords are drawn. The time to unite, no matter our differences, is after the first shot are fired. That is the edict that got this country through two world wars.
Wow.OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 8:10 AM
That's it? Wow?Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 8:18 AM
Did I miss something? As I stated, I didn't get a chance to read the book, so I do not know what he general point she was making.

The points I made in my post I truly believe. We must first and foremost protect our form of governance. When engaged with an enemy, the motives of those who would have us change our course are not always clear. Reference FDR for that one :O)
Guess I better prepare for theOldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 8:36 AM
internment camps then. If political disagreement with the State is treason, I and a lot of other former Americans are in trouble.
Why do you liberals alway go so far off into ....Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 8:58 AM
LEFT FIELD? I didn't say you need to be detained - yet :O) I mean, come on! I did not say that. It is obviously a hypothetical, but if you are planning on overthrowing our form of government, then we should keep an eye on you :O)
Is working to elect a Democrat, thereby unseating Bush,OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 9:05 AM
'planning to overthrow the government?' Or is that still OK?

Maybe not.

Ann says (I'll defer till you read it to believe me or not) that every liberal, every Democrat, now and for the last 50-plus years, is and has been in a state of treason. Your definition above clearly places me and most of my political allies in a state of treason. The penalty for treason is imprisonment or death. How's that ME being in left field?

In your America, political dissent, if it wanders off the limits of what is acceptable to you and your people -- if it dares criticize, say, the war policy of a Republican president -- is TREASON. You said it, Ann says it, and it is not the America I know.

Why am I nuts to fear camps? I would be nuts NOT to.
I can't wait to read her book. It sounds very interesting :O)Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 9:17 AM
I have to believe that your or the DNCs interpretation of what she wrote is way off in "left field". I don't believe that supporting a different candidate is subversive and I doubt that she does either. I know what she dislikes about the left though. It is the half truths and misinformation that is spouted by the liberal media and the talking heads from the left. She sees it as undermining the public trust. I must say I agree with her. This whole WMD is a great example. Everyone wants to call Bush a liar,but their only evidence of that is lack of evidence that they are in Iraq. Not very compelling from my perspective especially since everyone I listed from the left in a prior post was privy to the same information and made the same assessments. The left rely on the stupidity of the American people too. This is another problem she has with how the left responds to issues. Your group understands that most Americans are tied up in their own little lives to really pay attention. They will hear sound bites and take it for gospel. Hey Ed, don't worry. I'll come visit you :O)
As a matter of fact ...Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 9:21 AM
I almost made a visit to a federal prison in Kentucky when my old boss was interned there. Loena Helmsley. Remember her? She was moved to Danbury before I made the trek.
Come on down. Bring your bike.OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 9:28 AM
I'll rip your legs off in the knobs of Kentucky (knobs are quasi-mountains, not too tall but very steep), then fill you with good Bourbon to ease your pain, and while you're in a suggestible state, I'll fill your head with treasonous liberalism.

Next thing you know, you'll be sending letters to Ann saying it was all a mistake, PLEASE let a good conservative boy out of the camp!
How about treason? Am I in a state of treason...Matno
Jul 8, 2003 1:41 PM
There is no law against having an opinion (nor should there be). Where "political" actions become treason is when they are performed by public officials, AND they directly contradict or circumvent the Constitution. Unfortunately, there has been much of this in the last few decades, and not just from liberals. Need I remind you that this country still fits the definition of a republic, and is not (yet) subject to whims - even if they are the whims of the majority. (That's the major flaw underlying the entire concept of a Democratic party). Under the Clinton administration, I heard a state dept. official at the U.N. decry the Constitution as a "parochialism" that needs to be abolished. Coming from a public official, THAT fits my definition of treason.

I must say that I agree with most of what Steam said about McCarthy. (And I do like Ann Coulter). The only thing I take issue with is his implication that communism is no longer a real threat. Much of the world is still communist, and you can bet that their goals of subversion, insurgence, and espionage are not much different than they always have been. The only difference now is that we let them in the front door and grant them "most favored nation" trade status... Am I being paranoid? Sure. Is that paranoia unfounded? No way. I just recognize that we have the most freedoms and the best system of gov't the world has ever known (in spite of it's weaknesses), and I think it's a good idea to protect it, don't you?
Did I say it is no longer a threat?Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 2:13 PM
If I did or it came out that way, I certainly didn't mean it that way. I couldn't agree with you more that we now let everyone in the front door and hand them a key to boot. Look at what happened under Clinton at Los Alamos. Look at how his administration handled security clearances at sensitive locations. They banned differential IDs. The brilliant thought behind this idea was that the display of special clearance IDs created an envy factor. How idiotic, reckless and irresponsible was that? I would still like to know why Dr. Lee needed to make all of those backup copies of his HD and where the tapes are now. This whole debacle was mishandled by the last administration. The enablers are still the liberal media and their team of lawyers who believe they are acting in the best interests of the American people. I believe that many of them are actually acting in their own best interests and couldn't care what the ramifications of their actions are.
Oh, I forgot to add that it is ...Live Steam
Jul 8, 2003 5:52 AM
nice to see you supporting Ann and her finances by purchasing one of her books :O) I wouldn't purchase the Witch's book even if I needed it to keep the lid to my coffin propped open :O)
Didn't buy it. The DNC sent it to me.OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 5:57 AM
We're finding it VERY interesting.
Well then it's nice of them to support Ann :O) nmLive Steam
Jul 8, 2003 6:07 AM
Just like the RNC bought the Witch's book.OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 6:21 AM
It's normal. Gotta keep up with enemy communications.
Heard about this book on Rush L the other dayColnagoFE
Jul 8, 2003 6:19 AM
Driving back from my dad's place in Iowa (across the wastelands of Nebraska via I-80) I managed to get one radio talk station that featured our good friend Rush Limbaugh. He was ranting about how Hillary was pissed off because AC's book was higher on the Amazon rating scale than hers. Why this was a big deal he never really expounded on. I guess that his core dittohead audience hated Hillary enough for any bashing to be sufficient. And yes...good ole Rush backed up Ann by saying that the "liberal media" had caused poor Joe to fall into disrepute and Ann was finally setting the record straight. Who will be the next McCarthy? This time instead of communists it'll be terrorist supporters.
Haven't read it yet. It's on the way. nmNo_sprint
Jul 8, 2003 9:26 AM
WSJ's Opinion Journal weighs in.czardonic
Jul 8, 2003 9:57 AM
http://www.opinionjournal.com/medialog/?id=110003713
Obviously, a pinko has moled her wayOldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 10:04 AM
onto the staff of the WSJ OJ. Don't worry. We know what to do with Her Kind.
By the way, welcome back, czar ...OldEdScott
Jul 8, 2003 10:08 AM
The reactionaries have almost overrun me in your absence. Almost. But I'm weary, and can use the reinforcement!
"Sideshow" Ann's latest should provide a respite.czardonic
Jul 8, 2003 10:36 AM
They'll have their wagons circled around her for a while yet.
"Sideshow" Ann's latest should provide a respite.Jon Billheimer
Jul 8, 2003 8:03 PM
Every time I think the American extreme right wing can't get any nuttier I'm proven wrong!