RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


RIP, Gregory Peck (nm)(10 posts)

RIP, Gregory Peck (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jun 12, 2003 12:03 PM
great actor.....ClydeTri
Jun 12, 2003 1:15 PM
very few of the actors of my youth still alive...I find myself watching a movie of 1960s vintage and realizing most everybody in the movie is gone. Watched Grumpier Old Men the other week again, Jack Lemmon, Walter Matthau, Burgess Meredith all gone, and that movie is not that old, albeit they were old when that movie came out....tempus fugit..
re: RIP, Gregory Peck (nm)El Guapo
Jun 12, 2003 1:36 PM
He will always be Atticus Finch to me. He always carried himself with such honor and respect. Truly a sad loss. But he left one H&** of a legacy! I think I'll watch "To Kill a Mockingbird" again this evening. Godspeed Mr. Peck.
David Brinkley, too nmDougSloan
Jun 12, 2003 2:26 PM
The Big Country, To Kill a Mockingbird...PdxMark
Jun 12, 2003 2:36 PM
Indelible images of reserved strength & character. Archetypes to live up to.
why do lawyers seem so much better in the movies? nmDougSloan
Jun 12, 2003 2:57 PM
Legal Affairs article on the topic. . .czardonic
Jun 12, 2003 4:42 PM
. . .http://www.legalaffairs.org/issues/March-April-2003/review_marapr03_keefe.html
where do I start?mohair_chair
Jun 12, 2003 3:17 PM
Peck was the man. He was a superb actor who usually played decent guys and by all accounts, was pretty much the same in real life as well.

When he realized how great and captivating Audrey Hepburn was while shooting "Roman Holiday," he insisted the unknown Hepburn share top billing with him. How many stars have ever done that? Peck was a huge star at the time.

Off the top of my head, I'd recommend three films to rent for this weekend:

Twelve O'Clock High
Roman Holiday
To Kill A Mockingbird

The original Cape Fear. The Guns of Navarone. Gentlemen's Agreement.

Guys, watch Roman Holiday with your wife or girlfriend. She'll dig you for it. It's a romantic comedy, one of the best ever made, but it's not a "chick" film.

Got kids? Watch The Yearling. You may have to discuss some things about life to your kids afterwards, but how often do you get to do that?

He made some stinkers, but everyone does. The Snows of Kilamanjaro is really boring. Spellbound, a Hitchcock film, probably was good in 1945, but it's ridiculous today.
And see The Big Country too...PdxMark
Jun 12, 2003 4:38 PM
An East Coast sea captain in the midst of a feud in Texas, with a young Charlton Heston as a counterpoint.

Roman Holiday with Eddie Albert as a beatnick photographer... very cool...
YepSteveS
Jun 12, 2003 7:09 PM
Peck seemed to always carry himself with dignity and honesty in his life, a person with true character and a person of 'liberal' sympathies whom I respected.

Movies? Don't forget his excellent western "Duel in the Sun" with Jennifer Jones, that is great fun. And as already noted elsewhere, "To Kill a Mockingbird" was an important movie for a variety of reasons. I really don't think that Hollywood 'makes them like that anymore', either movies or actors. Damn, now that is sad.