RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Mindless poll: What's in your playlist/player at this percise moment?(19 posts)

Mindless poll: What's in your playlist/player at this percise moment?Kristin
May 16, 2003 10:58 AM
And no cheating. You MUST name EXACTLY the songs that are in your playlist. Even if its the Hokey Pokey. Okay, make it the top 15 songs (to conserve diskspace). Mine are kinda random. I just picked a few to listen to while creating a batch of AD accounts:

Dream On - Aerosmith
Looser - 3 Doors Down
If you could only see - Tonic
Drive - Incubus
Kryptonite - 3 Doors
If I could be - 3 Doors
Hemorrhage - Fuel
Fall Down - Toad
Whatever I fear - Same
Come Down - Same
Higher - Creed
Some Toad live acoustic
Healer - Ten Shekel Shirt
More Ten Shekel
Leave - Train
Something More - Train
geez, the only one I recognize is Aerosmith...nmrwbadley
May 16, 2003 11:07 AM
Hmmm. So what do you listen to?Kristin
May 16, 2003 11:14 AM
These are all current alternative bands. Ten Shekel is a Christian group, the others are just whatever. Toad has been around for quite some time--I don't think they are together anymore, which is sad. The 70's & 80's were drugery for me. I found myself in alternative. This list is a little tame. It doesn't include any Saliva or Staind.
In the changer...rwbadley
May 16, 2003 1:39 PM
Mark O'Connor 'Heroes'
Soweto String Quartet "Millenia'
Soundtrack to 'O Brother where art thou?'
Jethro Tull 'Thick as a Brick'
BB King 'Live at the Apollo'
Taraf De Haidouks 'Band of Gypsies'
Van the man 'St Dominicks Preview'
Jean luc Ponte 'No absolute time'
Garfield 'Am I cool or what?'
Dan Hicks and his Hot Licks 'Striking it Rich'
Mumbo Gumbo 'Deep Soup'
Ali Farka Toure 'Niafunke'
Ry Cooder and the Cubans, also Cooder with Ali Farka
Tom Waits 'Nighthawks at the diner'
Best of Aretha Franklin
Douglas Bhatt & Meyer 'Bourbon & Rosewater'
Maria Muldaur, More BB KIng, Taj Mahal, Dire Straights, Paul Simon, Blues Bros, Best of Booker T & the MGS.
DiverseCaptain Morgan
May 16, 2003 11:09 AM
I use a CD player in my computer, currently Sixpense None the Richer. In my drawer I have Best of Fleetwood Mac, Alice in Chains unplugged, Vince Guaraldi (the Charlie Brown jazz composer), Collective Soul, Best of James Ingram, Best of Stevie Ray Vaughan, Sarah McLachlin, and one of my all time favorites: The Refreshments "Fizzy Fuzzy Big & Buzzy."
re: Mindless poll: What's in your playlist/player at this percise moment?KG 361
May 16, 2003 11:11 AM
New Susan Tedeschi, New Fleetwood-mac, been really liking the Thorns Cd, plus Kathleen Edwards.
The car CD player has "45rpm" by the The. nmbnlkid
May 16, 2003 11:11 AM
Richard Thompson: 1952 Vincent Black Lightningtorquer
May 16, 2003 11:28 AM
from his "Action Packed/The Best of the Capitol Years" CD is on the player.

For some perverse reason, our network filters now block Webcasts from Fordham University's radio station, WFUV. (www.wfuv.org) Bummer! So every morning I need to remember to pack a couple CDs in the briefcase.
Last 15 bits listened to. not in order(cds in car& vinyl at hom128
May 16, 2003 11:51 AM
Didn't I (Blow you Mind) -Delfonics
LaLa Means I love you - "
Rocket Queen- G&R
My Michelle- "
Lord of the Thighs - Live Bootleg version
Blackout- Scorpions
Animal Magnetism- "
No Knock at My door- the Verve
So it Goes - "
5th Symphony- Ludwig
Wouldn't it be nice- Beach Boys
Good Vibrations- "
Nelly -listening to on a borrow
Champagne Supernova- Oasis
Hey Now- "

Kristin. If I may: Please try on Bad Brains "I Against I" in place of Incubrats some day. Tell me what you think.
LOL - IncubratsKristin
May 16, 2003 12:14 PM
I will try bad brains. Could be fitting even. Admitadly, Drive is the only Incubus song I like on any level. Its just a catchy tune. There other stuff...naaah. I don't like thier Chicago ripoff stuff at all.
No playlist, but......4bykn
May 16, 2003 12:09 PM
....out in the truck cd player:
Marilyn Manson "Antichrist Superstar"

Talk about parental advisaries!
Are you a Marilyn fan?Kristin
May 16, 2003 12:15 PM
I can't picture that somehow.
Are you a Marilyn fan?4bykn
May 16, 2003 5:26 PM
I'd never call myself a "Marilyn" fan, but sometimes a little hardcore metal turned way up feels good. Marilyn is pretty much at the extreme edge of my musical tastes, which generally run to blues/rock like Stevie Ray Vaughan, and vintage early metal like LedZeppelin, although I
b never
listen to Stairway, one of the most over-rated songs of all time. I also listen to a lot of Dylan and Neil Young.
A Morcheeba/Portishead compilation a friend made for me.sn69
May 16, 2003 12:11 PM
OBTW, love the Toad. Wish they were still recording.
70's and 80's only.colker
May 16, 2003 1:30 PM
homeward bound/ sounds of silence- simon and garfunkel
sister morphine/ wild horses- rolling stones.
beside you- van morrison.
back in black- ac/dc
what's going on- marvin gaye
bang bang- iggy pop.
blue monday- new order.
while my guitar gently weeps- george harrison.
killing moon- echo and the bunnymen
the Jam at the BBCrufus
May 16, 2003 1:56 PM
stuff recorded in studio for the BBC as well as live concert broadcasts. similar to the Bowie at the Beeb set(highly recommended) from a few years ago.
No playlist, just a CD in the carriage..Brooks
May 16, 2003 2:15 PM
currently "layla" by Derek and the Dominoes. Also, laying nearby:
Chicago, Very Best Of..
Fourplay, Heartfelt
Elvis, 30 #1's
Heart, Greatest
Gerry Rafferty, City to City
Faith Hill, Breathe
Train, Drops of Jupiter
Sade, Lovers Rock
Corrs, In Blue
Toni Braxton, More than a Woman

A diverse, if not exactly out of the mainstream, collection.
Your taste will vary...
Brooks
Today? the Eels: Daisies of the Galaxy.Sintesi
May 16, 2003 6:27 PM
Wire: 154, and the Verlaines: Halleluyah All the Way Home. Oh yeah, The immortal Plasticland: Mink Dress and Other Cats.

Glenn, John, if you ever ride a bike I got your front. I definitely will remember a vodka martini and a manhattan with two cherries in my bidons. Plus two mushrooms each.

Esoteric? Yes! Thankfully YES!!
Lloyd Cole & the Commotions--Rattlesnakesmickey-mac
May 16, 2003 8:35 PM
It was their first release and I never tire of that CD. In fact, the only thing by Lloyd that I didn't really dig that much was the solo album "Don't Get Weird on Me, Babe." In addition to being a terrific songwriter, he's an engaging fellow and does a great live show. I've seen him about five times (with and without the Commotions) and have always enjoyed his shows. Fortunately, he never got popular enough to play big venues, so I've always been able to see him in clubs. He's underrated in my opinion.