RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Say why is Hillary's college thesis sealed?(74 posts)

Say why is Hillary's college thesis sealed?Live Steam
May 13, 2003 7:55 AM
Could it be that bad or is it the virtues of communism it must certainly espouse, that they don't want made public?
Ah Steam, your enthusiastic conservatism is infectious.OldEdScott
May 13, 2003 7:59 AM
Like SARS.

'Virtues of communism it must certainly espouse.' HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!

Hillary's a goddamn METHODIST! Methodists HATE commies! Methodists are all just mushy liberals.
I don't think she mixes religion and politics muchLive Steam
May 13, 2003 8:03 AM
She is as much of a commie as they come these days. OK so she is a "neocommie"! How's that?
She revealed her lesbianism & plans to murder Vincent Fostercory
May 13, 2003 8:02 AM
And the schematic for the bomb that blew up Ron Brown's plane, too.
Jesus Christ, don't you people EVER stop? Take a break--talk about Bush holding 5,000 sailors at sea an extra day so he could film his campaign video or something, why don't you?
You were probably closer to being ...Live Steam
May 13, 2003 8:07 AM
correct on the first 3 items than you were on the last. The Lincoln was not scheduled to be in port and was not delayed. On the other hand wus up wit all dose strange coinkidinks? Foster, Brown, McDoogal all with intimate knowledge and all deader than dead. Yeah, yeah, yaeh just anotha right wing conspiracy wiokin' hea' don't ya' think?
That's the short list...Matno
May 14, 2003 6:20 AM
Foster was # 21 on a list of close personal associates of the Clintons who met with "accidental" misfortune. (That's just the ones that are known). There have probably been more similar "tragedies" since then. Coincidence? That's the official version.
If we Dems were paranoid enough, like you ,OldEdScott
May 14, 2003 6:49 AM
I bet we could compile a pretty ominous list of close associates of the Bush family who've met with 'accidental' misfortunes. Bet there's be more than 21 people on it too.

Fortunately or unfortunately, we're not nutty enough and paranoid enough to bother. We like to occupy ourselves with arguing issues, not spouting whacko theories that border on sick and even scary obsession with the Clintons.
If we Dems were paranoid enough, like you ,rufus
May 14, 2003 9:01 AM
and we might even think that dick cheney is using his ties to halliburton to award them government business. but nah, dick's too honorable and forthright to even think about doing something that might have even the appearance of impropriety.
We know that Bush never killed anyone. . .in <i>battle</i>. nmczardonic
May 14, 2003 11:40 AM
Hey, SOMEBODY'S got to do it...Matno
May 20, 2003 1:55 PM
:^)

But hey, I think the "dems" are every bit as paranoid, just usually for different reasons.

As for the Bush family, I have no doubts that there are lots of sneaky underhanded dealings that have gone on there. But then, I'm so far "right" that even they fit into the "liberal axis of evil." (What am I saying "even"? GW doesn't really even TRY to sound conservative any more. Guess that's why the media has warmed up to him...)

And let's not forget Hillary's accusations of a "radical right wing conspiracy."
That's the short list... 21!Live Steam
May 14, 2003 10:05 AM
Wow! I know the bank executive that funded the Whitewater deal somehow ran out of fuel in his private plane and crashed and died. And McDougal waited to be incarcerated before he dropped dead of a heat ailment. I am sure there is nothing to any of this. We all have similar events happen to acquaintances in our lives :O)
Uh huh. We do. The governor of Kentucky'sOldEdScott
May 14, 2003 10:29 AM
helicopter crashed and he ALMOST died in 1993 because the DAMN HELICOPTER BLADE FELL OFF! Pretty suspicious, if you ask me. Later, I heard he had actually VISITED ARKANSAS back in 1988. The story is, someone said he might have called or visited Gov. Bill Clinton. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I think I'm starting to undertstand that helicopter blade falling off a lit-tle better ...
Awe come now, it's not the same unless he ...Live Steam
May 14, 2003 10:54 AM
was doing business with them. Do you know if they had some underhanded business going on? That would certainly fit the scenario then :O)
Look, we all know that anyone who came in contactOldEdScott
May 14, 2003 11:11 AM
with the Clintons had shady dealings with them. How many times have you heard of a helicopter blade just falling off?? Pretty obvious to me that the 'Arkansas Mafia' got to the chopper that fateful morning ...
Hillary wrecked my marriageDale Brigham
May 14, 2003 11:37 AM
My then-wife and I attended a speech Hillary gave in 1992. Within 5 short years, the honeymoon was over, and we divorced.

I believe that Hillary was sending subversive signals to the wifey, who went from devoted helpmate to literary feminist theorist (and you can imagine how much those types like to be married!).

That was from a distance of almost 30 yards! Close up, I bet she's even more deadly.

Dale
LMAO! Poor cory! nmOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:12 AM
she IS a US Senator; are they immune from inquiries?DougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:32 AM
If so, that's fine. Let's just have the same rules for everyone, including Lott, etc.

Doug
I should think so...TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 8:44 AM
In this case, I really don't see what's to be gained from reading her college thesis. Maybe we should pull all the essays she wrote in elementary school to make sure that her policies have remained consistent since birth. While I don't think she should have anything to hide, I don't believe what she wrote in a college thesis 30 years ago has any relevance to her record today. I'm no fan of Ms. Clinton, but I don't want random people muckraking with my college thesis (it was painfully boring, but you could take some things out of context) - college is about the free exchange of ideas, and holding people to account for their theories of 30 years earlier seems counterproductive.
Don't be silly, young TedOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:51 AM
These sorts of sensible arguments simply don't hold water, when applied by the Paranoid Right to anything any Rodham or Clinton has done, said, written or thought, ever, anywhere, anytime ... because without such complete knowledge of their Nemeses the PRs feel somehow ... incomplete.

Again, I'm sure glad we lefties have the Clintons as lightning rods.
This is bi-partisan,TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 8:52 AM
I find it equally asinine that people on the left think that George Bush's grades at Yale are somehow a predictor of his future performance as President.
yes,DougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:54 AM
especially when brought up by those (actors) who didn't even graduate high school

Doug
Hey, I never expected you to be anything lessOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:55 AM
than even-handed.
Why can't I get into good flame wars anymore? (nm)TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 8:56 AM
Because you're too scary in debate! (nm)OldEdScott
May 13, 2003 9:09 AM
it takes a village to raise a wild (flamewar) nmDougSloan
May 13, 2003 9:22 AM
Its relevant when he is touted as the "first MBA president". nmczardonic
May 13, 2003 10:13 AM
Wouldn't those be his HBS grades? (nm)TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 10:22 AM
Isn't his academic record in general fair game? (nm)czardonic
May 13, 2003 10:32 AM
In my opinion, no; your opinion may differ (nm)TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 10:36 AM
His Yale grades may exculpate Harvard. . .czardonic
May 13, 2003 10:41 AM
. . .should it ever come under fire for giving an MBA to a guy who seems to have the lead version (as in Pb) of the Midas Touch.
An aside re: Enron,TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 10:44 AM
That reminds me of an exchange during the Enron hearings last year:

CongressPerson: Could you explain this financial structure?

Fastow: I don't really know what that means, I'm not sure.

CongressPerson: Where did you learn finance?

Fastow: Harvard Business School.

Past performance is not an indicator of future value...
Well, they are obviously teaching these guys something. . .nmczardonic
May 13, 2003 10:49 AM
Networking, mostly (nm)TJeanloz
May 13, 2003 11:00 AM
In general terms, I suppose. It suggestsOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 10:43 AM
things about intellectual capacity, but without being definitive. 'Political intelligence' is real different from 'academic intelligence.'

Lyndon Johnson was a graduate of Sam Houston Teachers College. Not too impressive. But he had a HUGE political intelligence.

All things being equal, I'm more comfotable with a president that's academically smart. But it's sure not necessary.
WAY out there on the fringe today.OldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:47 AM
Doug, you're the lawyer and I'm just a poor ill-educated Doctor of Spin, but from my puny experience with FOI, I don't believe college theses at private institutions are covered. Could be wrong. Sixth grade spelling tests in private schools may be covered too, for all I know, in which case maybe we should file for some of GWB's. I wonder if he spelled strategerie correctly.
of courseDougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:51 AM
I realize FOI probably does not apply, so that's why I offered the alternative route of seizure or subpoena. We know that works, that is, unless the custodian of the record mysteriously dies the day before it is to be produced.

You do realize that I don't give even a small you know what about Hillary or her thesis.

Doug
Understood. Appreciate your giving me the chance to zingOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:53 AM
nutty right wing paranoia though. I'll try to repay you in kind soon. Maybe I'll propose a tax increase.
Right Wing paranoia? Just look at the heated responses ...Live Steam
May 13, 2003 8:57 AM
that were posted to a simple question :O) What minority party is calling the kettle black here? ;o) You would think I was asking for the Rose Law Firm billing records or something. Hahahaha!
LOL! LOL! nmOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 9:10 AM
or Harken Energy investment records! (nm)sacheson
May 13, 2003 9:27 AM
WAY out there on the fringe today.OldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:51 AM
Doug, you're the lawyer and I'm just a poor ill-educated Doctor of Spin, but from my puny experience with FOI, I don't believe college theses at private institutions are covered. Could be wrong. Sixth grade spelling tests in private schools may be covered too, for all I know, in which case maybe we should file for some of GWB's. I wonder if he spelled strategerie correctly.
FOI?DougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:12 AM
What college was it? Any chance an FOI request might get it?

Doug
I think William & Mary nmLive Steam
May 13, 2003 8:14 AM
correction - Wellesley College nmLive Steam
May 13, 2003 8:16 AM
LMAO!!! Yeah! Let's blow the lid off Thesisgate!OldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:18 AM
There MUST be some dark, dark conspiracy here!
just morbid curiosity at this point; howeverDougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:22 AM
Ashcroft could subpoena or seize it. That's it. Forget FOI. Maybe I'll give him a call...

Doug
Yeah! I bet stuff on Al Qaeda's in there! Whew! nmOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:37 AM
This calls for a special prosecutor!torquer
May 13, 2003 11:31 AM
Too bad Ken Starr is still busy mopping up Monicagate:

http://www.grudge-match.com/history/judgejudy.shtml

On a related note, I hadn't given John Kerry's campaign much thought (I actually favored Howard Dean in that pi$$ing contest they had the other day), but after reading about his wife, Teresa Heinz Kerry, in a front-page NY Times article today I can't wait to hear how the VRWC (vast right-wing conspiracy) piles onto her for daring to express any half-way progressive opinions. (Not to mention their response to her Botox injections!)
Your (obsession is) creepy.128
May 13, 2003 8:17 AM
It was Wellesley (Well-to-do-sley) College.
Not sure what the Paranoid Wing would do withoutOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:20 AM
the Clintons. Thank GOD we have Bill/Hillary as a lightning rod to absorb all their obsessive energy. Otherwise who knows what mischief they'd be up to?
Obsession ? Never popsted much of anything ...Live Steam
May 13, 2003 8:24 AM
about Hillary, but she is my state Senator. The board was getting a little "boring" so I figured that a little Hillary talk would spice things up. The market sure isn't doing much today and rain is in the forecast - I hate cleaning my bike after it rains :O) So I guess you could call this post a TROLL! Am I banned now?
trolling is okDougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:27 AM
Trolling is ok; "flame wars" will get you banned (probably not, though). ;-)

Every single post on this forum is a troll, aren't they?

Doug
"Every single post on this forum is a troll, aren't they?"Live Steam
May 13, 2003 8:32 AM
That's just what I was thinking. Uh oh, I better not do that too much or Old Ed will be very disappointed ;o)
She used to be a Goldwater RepublicanAlpedhuez55
May 13, 2003 8:27 AM
Wasn't she a Republican who worked on Barry Goldwater's Campaign back then? Maybe something there would be to damaging to her such as supporting lower taxes or smaller Government. I do not know if it was Wellesley or Yale that eliminated her common sense though ;)

Mike Y.
nailed itDougSloan
May 13, 2003 8:29 AM
http://www.filmakers.com/indivs/Hillary.htm
Chicagoan Methodist AUH2O Girl Gone Wild! Whee! (nm)Dale Brigham
May 13, 2003 8:48 AM
Interviews withmoneyman
May 13, 2003 9:05 AM
Pat Buchanan and Eleanor Clift? Either one of them would make me stay away, but the combination may upset the forces of the Universe. No thanks.

$$
Me too! I loved Goldwater in '64, as did manyOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 8:41 AM
who ended up in the New Left. By the same token, the neo-con movement of today has Trotskyist roots.

Radical politics tends to have interchangable cogs.
Well, Reagan was a Democrat back then...Alpedhuez55
May 13, 2003 8:57 AM
It sounds like the early 60's were like Bizzaro World from the Superman Comics ;-)
LMAO :O)Live Steam
May 13, 2003 9:11 AM
Because she used it to kill Vince Foster?mohair_chair
May 13, 2003 8:52 AM
Boy, some of you guys will still be whining about her long after she's dead and gone! Is she really the antichrist?

Are you proud of everything you did in college?

Have your political ideals evolved since college?

I guess I should have led with "Did you even go to college?" but that might be construed as a personal attack. :)
Yup! I gragiated with honors and compleetedLive Steam
May 13, 2003 9:08 AM
a theesis too :O) Am I proud of everything I did in college - hmm? Nope! I missed setting the record for shootin beer funnels by 6oz! Oh well don't let that get out OK ;o)
No mohair, you don't get it ...sacheson
May 13, 2003 9:18 AM
ultra-right Republicans are immune to anything they've done in their lives ... you know, the cocaine habits, drunk driving arrests, and countless shady corporate deals are simply brushed under a rug if you subscribe to the "correct" political platform later in life. It's only nonconservatives that have to answer for every action they've done, even if (and when) that action is taken out of context.

I guess I have comfort in knowing people (notice moderator, I didn't say freaks even though I was thinking it) that cry conspiracy at every turn are the exception, not the norm! ;-)
Now you're catching on! nmLive Steam
May 13, 2003 9:42 AM
freaking drop it already.sacheson
May 13, 2003 9:08 AM
You don't like Democrats. Fine. We all get the picture. Even those of us, like you, who aren't fond of Hillary are rather sick of your ranting. Why don't you spend your time and energy doing something productive and drop the conspiracy drivel.
Wow such hostility!? Maybe you should ....Live Steam
May 13, 2003 9:14 AM
go out for a ride :O)
I rode at 6:30 ... I'll head out again at noon.sacheson
May 13, 2003 9:28 AM
But I thank you for suggesting how I spend my time!
found the story; no big dealDougSloan
May 13, 2003 9:29 AM
Hillary Clinton's college paper available
Pernell Watson

May 9 2003

Q: I heard on television that Sen. Hillary Clinton's college thesis has been sealed and no one can read it. Is that true? What is she trying to hide? - H.W., James City County

A: No. New York senator and former first lady Hillary Rodham Clinton's original college thesis is available in the Wellesley College archives. The document was sealed by Wellesley in 1992 but was unsealed after the Clintons left the White House in 2001.

Clinton wrote her senior thesis on the Industrial Areas Foundation and its founder Saul Alinsky. The thesis chronicled the life, work and political techniques of Alinsky. She received an "A" grade for the thesis.

Alinsky, son of an immigrant Russian tailor, was a passionate believer that social justice could be achieved through American democracy. He organized poor communities, targeted power brokers, and tried to politically out-maneuver them.

Alinsky is the author of "Reveille for Radicals" (1946) and "Rules for Radicals" (1971).

In 2001, Political USA, a politics and government Web site directory, put a copy of the thesis on the auction site eBay. The bids climbed to $50,000 before it was yanked by eBay. The auction site was notified that there was a copyright notice placed on the thesis.

Copyright © 2003, Daily Press

http://www.dailypress.com/features/columnists/dp-00006cm0may09,0,5494734.column?coll=dp-features-columnists
Is too a big deal. Alinsky was a HUGE Red. No lie. This provesOldEdScott
May 13, 2003 9:37 AM
Hillary is too!
but we already knew that nmDougSloan
May 13, 2003 9:38 AM
Hehehehehehehehe! I already knew ...Live Steam
May 13, 2003 9:56 AM
about the thesis. I was just working on a little thesis of my own. I was waiting for someone to come up with what you have found in your search. Alinsky wasn't so much a socialist as he was a union vanguard. No real conspiracy here. Just testing to see how testy the left really is :O)
you trollDougSloan
May 13, 2003 10:19 AM
I grant you formal status of "Forum Right Wing Troll." All hail.

Doug
I'll wear that badge with honor!Live Steam
May 13, 2003 11:36 AM
You don't know how relieved I was to see that some self-professed "left wing liberal panty waste" didn't get it first ;0) With the '04 pre-election campaigns starting to get some momentum and Hillary's denial that she has designs on the White House, this silly thing about here thesis has been on all of the night time news journals for the past few weeks. It was all ado about nothing. Had 'em goin' though!
Covered up on Amazonmohair_chair
May 13, 2003 10:17 AM
There was a recent post here about Hillary's book "Living History" leaving out Monica, so I went and looked it up on Amazon. In the "Customer's Advice" section, some creative character added a recommendation for "The Communist Manifesto" which has since been removed, obviously by the Clinton anti-capitalist machine. Ah, but look up the "Communist Manifesto" and you'll find two recommendations for "Living History!" They missed that angle.