RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


The Greatest Rock and Roll song ever(53 posts)

The Greatest Rock and Roll song evermoneyman
May 12, 2003 6:40 AM
Was recorded on this day in 1965. The Rolling Stones / Satisfaction.

Just thought you'd want to know.

$$
A single from the same summer would sureOldEdScott
May 12, 2003 6:50 AM
give it a run for its money:

"How does it feeeel .... to be on your own ... with no diRECtion hoooome .... Like A Rolling Stoooone ..."
too broad...how about greatest rock "f-off" songs of all time?ColnagoFE
May 12, 2003 7:03 AM
I nominate Dylan's Don't Think Twice it's Alright. Bob is so harsh here! Anyone know who he wrote that one about? --http://www.bobdylan.com/songs/dontthink.html
I agree, here's another...rwbadley
May 12, 2003 7:12 AM
greatest by Dylan. Ever listen to Idiot Wind? He really rips that one up.
ever hear Clapton's version?mohair_chair
May 12, 2003 7:13 AM
At the Dylan tribute a few years ago, Clapton did a blues version of Don't Think Twice that burned the place down. It's so hot, I have to towel off every time I hear it.
Nopemohair_chair
May 12, 2003 7:10 AM
I think of the Stones as just Rock, not Rock and Roll. Elvis was Rock and Roll, and he recorded the greatest Rock and Roll songs. "That's Alright Mama" is probably the greatest. You can't put "That's Alright Mama" next to "Satisfaction" and say they are both rock and roll. The form had evolved by then.
This is true. ANDKristin
May 12, 2003 9:09 AM
No matter what you call it, you can't put Satisfaction next to the likes of Stairway to Heaven or Dream On and tell me it comes out the winner. Not a chance.
Personally,sn69
May 12, 2003 9:32 AM
I'd have to vote for "Sympathy For The Devil" as a better representation of the Stones' work. How about any of the Beatles' stuff, Elvis and/or Motown?

Still, if you're going to discuss rock anthems, I'd also include "Sweet Mellissa," "Freebird," "Wango Tango," and "Green Grass and High Tides" in addition to Zep and Aerosmith. Well, OK...maybe we should exclude The Nug.
Freebird??!OldEdScott
May 12, 2003 9:46 AM
Watch it, bud. You remember my story about creeping through the woods at 3 a.m. to shoot out the big PA speakers of the perpetually drunken rednecks on the rigde next door who had Freebird on continuous loop, don't you? Sheeze.
Freebird??!sn69
May 12, 2003 9:53 AM
I was wondering if you were paying attention! Truth be told, hate "Freebird," am I'm not much of a Skynard fan. If it's a subject of Southern Rock, I'd have to vote for the A' Bro's, the Outlaws and Marshall Tucker (specifically "Fire On The Mountain"). ...Maybe Blackfoot....

Incidentally, AH wuz gonna join you on the stoop last night for some hooch, but the damned, infernal Formosan Termites have again descended upon NOLA, and they were thick enough to walk on. My lab puppy likes eating them, though.

Three more weeks of this swamp gas laden, all-things-fried hell....
It's well enough.OldEdScott
May 12, 2003 9:58 AM
I had to write last night, so I was up in the crow's nest typing and sipping Budweiser instead of squatting on the stoop sipping Bourbon and watching the swallows come home. Occasionally a man's got to make a living ...
To refresh yr memory ...OldEdScott
May 12, 2003 9:54 AM
OldEdScott "looks like syria's next" 4/15/03 9:18am
Beatles were still Rock and Roll, not rockKristin
May 12, 2003 9:59 AM
The greatest ROCK song of all time has still not been mentioned. There have been many great rock songs over the years. From Taylor to Zeplin to Metalica. But the greatest of them all has to be Bohemian Rhapsody. Can there even be a debate on this?
Mmmmm, I'm afraid there COULD ...OldEdScott
May 12, 2003 10:13 AM
But intergenerational arguments about music are generally feckless.
Now remember, we're debating the greatest Rock songKristin
May 12, 2003 10:34 AM
not the greatest composers from the 18th century. (I fear you were correct about elders getting no respect these days.)
What were "Revolver" and "Abbey Road" then?sn69
May 12, 2003 10:35 AM
Hmm...I'm not sure Kristin. Perhaps it's a symantical issue. If one elects to seperate rock from r & r, then should we also weed-out other sub-categories? (I'm thinking aloud here, which usually only sounds like air escaping, so please bear with me.) Should punk, metal, glam, rockabilly, etc be filtered to distill the ultimate song of the overriding genre? If so, then it would all boil down to gospel-derived rythm and blues, which represents the musical progenitor of modern rock. Even that argument has flaws, though, for bluegrass and ethnic Irish folk music bear some degree of relation to rock and pre-date steel guitar gospel.

That, admittedly, is getting rather esoteric. If we're talking about the specific rock genre, say from 1955 to present, how shall we further divide things? Perhaps by decades or perhaps by stylistic boundaries?... I'm not convinced of the fecklessness of inter/multi-generational comparisons as much as I am of stylistic differences.

Unfortunately, I'm not much of a Queen fan, but I appreciate and respect their music.
I'm not much of a Queen fan andOldEdScott
May 12, 2003 10:46 AM
their music makes me want to blow my own brains out. It's so ... totalitarian. "We will we will rock you ..." You can just hear it being played by the Nazis at one of their outdoor torchlit rallies. It's got a 'resistance is futile' feel about it that gives me the willies!
"Fat Bottom Girls" = Eva Braun? Hittin' the bottle early today?sn69
May 12, 2003 10:50 AM
;-)~
Early?? You call this early? nmOldEdScott
May 12, 2003 10:54 AM
Quagmire?Kristin
May 12, 2003 11:00 AM
Yes, yes, of course, you're correct. Its next to impossible to separate out the genre's; but you can't hold a fair contest for "greatest rock & roll" or "greatest rock" song otherwise. Its the same reason there can be no concensus on the "worlds greatest athlete." Of course the whole thing is silly. It doesn't matter what the "greatest rock song" is. It only matters what we like as individuals. I suggested Bohemian Rhapsody because it is absolutely the most played song since the 1970's. Personally, its not my favorite song. The Stones are probably one of my least favorite groups as well; but I will give credence where credence is due. They molded the industry in many ways.
Agreed.sn69
May 12, 2003 11:15 AM
Artists often exert tremendous influence over the general state of the culture. Sometimes, we like their stuff; sometimes we don't. Better yet, sometimes, they languish in relative obscurity compared to their peers in spite of their contributions and influence. I'd easily liken folks like Bob Mould, Frank Black, Ani DiFranco, and others to Jerry Lee Lewis, Iggy Pop and various groundbreaking visionaries.

Queen was unique in terms of their arrangements, layering and use of unconventional styles, such as those featured on "A Night At The Opera." I don't have to like 'em to appreciate 'em....
Iggy Pop! NOW yer talkin! nmOldEdScott
May 12, 2003 11:23 AM
Raw Power is a whole other level. Yep. GEERATE!! nmSintesi
May 12, 2003 2:58 PM
Got that one on my harddrive. Good stuff. nmsn69
May 12, 2003 3:50 PM
Abbey RoadKristin
May 12, 2003 11:42 AM
The Beatles are unique in that they were the most highly influential band of their era and they shaped a whole new genre. So in many ways they are a threshold band between rock and roll and rock. When I listen to their music, though, I tend to hear more rock and roll in it. That makes sense. The only other band since them to do something like this was Jars of Clay.
You Shook me All Night Longmohair_chair
May 12, 2003 11:01 AM
That's gotta be up there in the top ten. Not a great song in the purest sense of greatness, but is there anyone who can't help turning it up and shouting along? (Old guys--don't answer that!) Remember, Rock was supposed to be about hedonism, too!
In my opinion.....4bykn
May 14, 2003 12:13 PM
ou missed the boat three times here, Kristin. Stairway to Heaven is perhaps the most over-rated song in Rock history. Bohemian Rhapsody isn't even the best song on that album, and Hotel California isn't the Eagle's best song. WHile the above are good tunes, the are far better ones from each band.

I couldnt begin to name the best song in RnR history, but I know which songs make me turn the volume way up. "Mississippi Queen" from Mountain(Leslie West). I could go on forever, but no time. Time to "get on your bikes and ride!"
i Freddie Mercury
O-boy. Is this why you and Lance broke up?Sintesi
May 12, 2003 2:55 PM
Dream On and Stairway to Heaven drove everyone nuts and and punk had to be invented to provide equilibrium so our heads wouldn't explode.

Satisfaction is THE quintessential, perfect 45 single rock song of all time, hands down. It is beyond cool. Rock & Roll, Rock, schmock. this is the land speed record daddio. I mean sis.

Booker T and the MGs' Green Onions runs a close second.

If you want to know what else is great just ask me and I'll tell you. No prob. :)
Just saw Buddy Guy live last weeksn69
May 12, 2003 3:52 PM
at JazzFest. Now...that man can THROW DOWN.
Yessah! nmSintesi
May 14, 2003 2:23 PM
Theme from "Shaft." '71. Can you dig it? nmsn69
May 12, 2003 8:29 AM
Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' Onmickey-mac
May 12, 2003 9:09 AM
That song absolutely kicks a$$, especially when accompanied by the footage of Jerrry Lee at the piano, standing and kicking over the bench, while his hair is flying about three feet in the air. I wasn't even born when he did it, but I can imagine that it sent many conservative 50s parents into a panic. It's not my all-time favorite song, but it did leave a lasting impression on the world of rock and roll.
Puh-leeze!IFTreedog
May 12, 2003 9:35 AM
...The entire Some Girls album is so vastly superior to any one song from 1965....Miss You?...Faraway Eyes?....Beast of Burden?...Just My Imagination?...

The only 'song' not on that record that's better is 'Heartbreaker'...
I dunno, but since I saw this topic earlier...rwbadley
May 12, 2003 12:14 PM
I've had the Beatles 'Twist and Shout' stuck in my head all morning.

Go figure, it's not even my favorite.
one of the greatest performances evermohair_chair
May 12, 2003 1:04 PM
That song was done at the end of a long day in the studio. I think it was 10 hours or so. John's voice was just about gone, so they only had one shot at it. They absolutely nailed it, and if you listen closely, you can hear how rough John's voice sounds.

What often gets forgotten after Beatlemania is that the Beatles as a band were very tight, and they could play just about any song you could name. What really killed the Beatles was when they stopped playing live, first because no one could hear them, and second, because touring was becoming a huge hassle. Entertainers are happiest when they are entertaining. Take that away, the rest will follow.
'Rocket 88'128
May 12, 2003 12:47 PM
Greatest in that it was the first. Or so they say. I should answer with some tap-root tune from Howlin' Wolf or Muddy Waters (really, it's all there) or some obscure skiffle band that launched the British heist of R&R (some will say rock and roll is British)but the question is rock and roll, so I'm thinkin modern.

Hmmmm.....let me see here
Stones covering Berry's "Carol" or Holly's 'Not Fade Away" nmContinental
May 12, 2003 1:00 PM
Have you heard them do Berry's "Around and Around" ? nmSintesi
May 12, 2003 3:01 PM
This was not meant to be arguablemoneyman
May 12, 2003 2:21 PM
Perhaps my old, feeble memory has failed me again, but I seem to remember at the turn of the millenium that "Satisfaction" was voted as the greatest Rock and Roll song ever recorded. It was not merely a judgment of taste, but rather had some objective measures to quantify the classification, e.g., influence on the market, direction of musicians following, etc. "Satisfaction" is not my favorite song of all time by a long-shot, and I don't consider the Stones anywhere near the top of my list. The rock-and-roll raters are responsible for this decision, not your's truly.

Personally, for sheer musical talent, originality and daring, I think its hard to beat Frank Zappa.

$$ (Oh yeah - Anyone who plays "Freebird" outside a NASCAR setting should be jailed for bad taste.)
I didn't get to votemohair_chair
May 12, 2003 3:16 PM
Where was MTV with "Rock the Vote" when this was going on? There are a lot of better songs than "Satisfaction." This sounds like the classic lowest common denominator effect.

This is why we need an Electoral College for issues of this magnitude. They can "correct" the errors the public makes.
You have excellent taste my friend. I completely agree. nmSintesi
May 12, 2003 2:45 PM
Stairway to Freebird.128
May 13, 2003 5:35 AM
I'm going with Layla.

others:

-Good Vibrations
-Green Onions (stole from above- good call. MG's where Joe Perry got the 'walk this way' riff.)
-Outta Love Again -VH
-What's goin' On- M.Gaye
-Whole Lotta Rosie
-Pistols/Ramones/Hendrix/G&R,Nirvana

....etc...too many to list!
Stairway to Freebird--I've got DRR's version on CD. nmsn69
May 13, 2003 5:45 AM
And while the memory of the original Dash Rip Rock lives on, then there's the whole Dread Zeppelin thing....
I had no idea someone actually recorded that. While I have your128
May 13, 2003 6:25 AM
attention: I know NOLA can be humid, but do you really hate it so much? Maybe it's just a great place to visit, as I have twice and you've been trapped there too long. I enjoyed it's food and culture a lot (avoiding Bourbon St) I have only been in the French Q., but would like to visit the swamps.
I like Royal St., could go to Cafe Du Monde every morning, and I like the food. You find it distasteful I guess? Any way, have you been to Lagasse's (sp) NOLA restaurant across from the Omni in the French Q? I had a great meal there....
I'll start with what I like:sn69
May 13, 2003 7:21 AM
Food. We haven't been to NOLA or Dickie Brennan's Steak House, but we have been to Emeril's Delmonico. We opted for the chef's choice meal, and it was like edible sex. Good beyond description. Likewise, there are three hidden, little known nuevelle cuisine Mexican restaraunts in town that we frequent on a weekly basis, and there's some decent sushi and normal seafood to be had.

The Quarter. In the spring and fall, the FQ is fun as long as one stays off of Bourbon. Royal is the best kept secret down there, as are certain blocks along Decatur. I'm not much of a Cafe DuMonde fan, but the little fried fat pillows are good on cold winter mornings.

Location. NOLA is well located to Houston and FL, where my wife and I both have families. That makes long weekend trips fun and offers welcomed respite from town.

House. This is the first house we've ever owned, and it's been a fun, educational experience. I've grown to enjoy home improvement, and the market here allowed us to enter at just the right time. Additionally, we are now able to continue owning once we return to SoCal this summer.

Here's what I don't like:

Food. Aside from the pricey stuff, most of the restaraunt fair is standard, namely dripping in fat and fried. We're both health nuts, and we eat like birds throughout the week to offset the weekends.

Fitness. This is the fattest city in the county and also has the highest incidence of stroke. It shows in the people. As one can guess, fitness isn't a priority. It's rare when I'm out running and I don't get heckled or have a beer bottle or daquiri cup hurled at me by a passing car. Likewise, biking on the south shore of the lake can only be done in two places safely, each one offering a 10 mile loop. That gets boring really fast. In spite of that, there are thriving Seven and Serotta dealerships here. Odd. ALso, we were avid rock climbers and skiers in Cali. Can't do that here.

Location. That said, the area itself is not physically appealing. The nearest hills are in the extreme corner of the state, and the swampy character leaves a lot to be desired. Mind you, I grew up in the GUlf Coast, and I like marsh/tideland scenery. This is more like backwater sludge filled with petrochemical waste.

Infrastructure. This is the filthiest city I've ever seen in the US and is only slightly cleaner than Karachi (which is by far the most disgusting place I've ever been). Let's put it this way, I was once driving behind a cop, and I saw him hurl a McDonald's bag and a superduper big gulp sized cup from his window onto the road. Likewise, the road condition is deplorable, and I've suffered two pinch flats here--ON MY CAR. There's no way to avoid it. Also, the cops were on their way back to credibility, but the new chief of police has been less than impressive. Crime is rampant here, even compared to places like South Central or National City in SoCal. You always have to be on your game when you're out and about here.

Culture. Again, admitting that I spent a lot of time in the South, this is the most blatantly prejudice place I've ever been. The Southern genteel character that tends to hide the subtle bigotry doesn't exist here. It's in-your-face, and the "n" word is thrown about constantly here. This is also one of the angriest cities I've ever lived in, with fights seeming to dominate any occassion out. I've managed to avoid most, but got sucked into one with a local friend who got jumped randomly. It's like junior high all over again, and I don't find that appealing. There's also an undercurrent of everyone being on the take or running some sort of scam here. I have yet to have a good interface with a contractor or service-related interaction. Even the cable and DOT guys have asked me for bribes--it's that "in the open" and accepted. That really pisses me off.

Cost of living. With the exception of the price of real estate, NOLA has equalled or
I'll start with what I like:sn69
May 13, 2003 7:22 AM
Cost of living. With the exception of the price of real estate, NOLA has equalled or bested the SoCal COL. Power is more (!--probably due to air conditioning at full blast all the time), gas is only slightly cheaper, car insurance doubled here, groceries are more, flood insurance is required, and real wages are less. My wife, a scientist, took a $30K a year pay cut when we moved here, and she makes a lot by local standards. The disparity between rich and the poor is staggering here and reminds me more of a third world country. The military in NOLA represents the bulk of the city's middle class...no wonder why the LA legislators won't allow DOD to pull out of the state.

Climate. Cold, wet winters and long, staggeringly hot and stifling humid summers. There's a reason why colonial settlers didn't live past their 30s here 150 years ago. It's also typically very smoggy.

There's more, but that's the bulk of it. People like places for different reasons. My wife and I are native Californians, and we favor San Diego over most places. In fact, I'm sure we will until it becomes hopelessly Los Angelesized in the near future. I'd move back to the Gulf Coast some day, but I'll never willingly return to NOLA. It hasn't been the place for us any more than I'd expect SoCal to work for a native New Orlinean. To each his/her own....
NO is a mess. They empty the garbage twice a day. I was at an128
May 13, 2003 8:05 AM
insurance seminar in KC and the LA Insurance Commissioner was there. This was while he was under indictment for bribery an kickbacks. One afternoon right in the middle of a presentation his assistant leaned into his ear and he walked out. No one was surprised.

I'm from Boston and used to a mess and whacked politics and construction contracts. Fortunately I bought a house on the coast in southern Maine where I live and work for now but dread the day I have to return to the city.

Thakns for the informative and graphic review and I hope you get out soon! Your perfect wave awaits.
Thanks!sn69
May 13, 2003 8:25 AM
We'll be gone by next month.

Incidentally, Dash Rip Rock, the erstwhile alt/indie/country/punk band that recorded "Stairway to Freebird" was fronted by a cat named Fred LeBlance who left to form another band called Cowboy Mouth. CM is a local NOLA fave, and they put on one of the finest live shows I've ever seen. Their studio recordings have never quite captured their live sound, but they scored a modest mid-90s success with a song called "Jenny Says." They tour frequently and are regulars in the thriving Boston collegiate musical scene. If you ever get the chance to see Fred and CM, you won't be disappointed.

While I'll miss them somewhat, I'm looking forward to returning to the land of ska, reggae and surf punk. (I do however, like a great many of Boston's contributions, including Throwing Muses and Guster.)
Boston Rocks. I'll keep an eye out for cm. cheers. nm128
May 13, 2003 8:35 AM
Hairway to Steven? (nm)ColnagoFE
May 13, 2003 8:41 AM
The best selling Rock & Roll album of ...Live Steam
May 13, 2003 8:46 AM
all time is 'The Eagles' "Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975" - surpassing Thriller at 27million. Maybe Hotel California should be considered!
Thank youKristin
May 13, 2003 10:27 AM
I've been trying to think of this nominee for the past 2 days and it was driving me nuts. How could I forget about Hotel California? (I don't think it has anything to do with LSD, but you never know.)
What a long strange trip it's been :O)Live Steam
May 13, 2003 11:15 AM
I hate when that happens! Why, how could anyone forget about poor Ol' Joe Walsh an company.

I was going to post In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida as one of those true R&R anthems. Maybe not the greatest R&R song of all time, but a real classic. Or how about some Who like something from Who's Next!