RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Your opinions needed(24 posts)

Your opinions neededmoneyman
May 8, 2003 7:06 AM
In the comic strip "Frazz" written by Jef Mallet (a cyclist), the main character, Frazz, describes the goatee as the "mullet of the new millenium." I used to have a goatee, but shaved it off two years ago. Men - do you have one? And if so, why? Women - would you want your man to have one?

Thank you for your support.

$$
opinion? only software engineers in Portland should have them nmDougSloan
May 8, 2003 7:17 AM
re: Your opinions neededJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 7:23 AM
i've kept a goatee for the last 3 years, and recently grew a Grizzly Adams beard (but shaved it off earlier this week--now back to the trimmed goatee). i do have quite the Gary Fisher soul patch, tho. i keep my hair fairly uniform, as i have a progressive forehead. and yes, i do shave my legs. :)

no--the goatee is not the mullet of the new millenium. here in the south, the mullet is still the mullet of the new millenium. so long as you can order a PBR and hear "sweet home alabama" in memphis's finer establishments, the mullet will reign supreme.

-J

some reference material: http://www.mulletsgalore.com/
i put soul patches in the same category as mullets and goatees-nColnagoFE
May 8, 2003 7:45 AM
sounds like you need some edjucatin' nmJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 8:01 AM
Okay, what exactly is a "soul patch?"Sintesi
May 8, 2003 8:18 PM
Is that a little tuft between the lip and the chin? I'm guessing from the G. Fisher reference.
That's itmickey-mac
May 8, 2003 8:23 PM
In less sophisticated circles, I've heard it referred to as the "womb broom."
LOL! : ) nmSintesi
May 9, 2003 5:44 AM
I've also heard it's called a "flavor saver" nmempacher6seat
May 10, 2003 4:52 PM
like bell bottomsColnagoFE
May 8, 2003 7:42 AM
wait! those are back in style again aren't they...wide belts, wide ties, wide lapels...are earrings still hipster cool on guys? are tattoos still cool? i can't keep up anymore. must be getting old. i grew a goat once for the heck of it. i thought i looked pretty cool, but then my wife said " you're not going to keep that thing are you?" and it was shaved off the next day. I remember looking at pictures of the dobie gillis show where gilligan as a beat had a goat and thinking that he looked really silly and not hip at all, but now everyone seems to have 'em. just as bad to me are "soul patches" and long sideburns.
Anything that covers more of your face is a good thing.Charlie Amerique
May 8, 2003 7:47 AM
Uh, we are talking about YOUR face, aren't we Matt?

Non-smartarse answer: I can't stand the things myself, my fianceé can't stand them either but they are handy in the very cold weather for keeping the frost off your lips.

CA
Now wait a minutemoneyman
May 8, 2003 8:45 AM
I'm a handsome devil with or without.
This is me with.





This is me without





Uh, that's me on the right. The guy on the left is some poseur I ran into on a visit to Texas.

I read in the book "Dress for Success" that goatees should not be worn if you are trying to look good for business, as they remind people of the devil.

$$

Just trying to help out here, but...Charlie Amerique
May 8, 2003 12:54 PM
...with the goat-ee you look like a bad guy from a cheap SciFi movie, without it you look like an over-the-hill Vegas lounge singer.

Pick your poison.

Oh, and the guy next to you looks kinda skinny. Maybe you should take him out for some good old Wyoming BBQ.
It's official as of Sunday: Goats are out, 'staches coming backcory
May 8, 2003 8:05 AM
My newspaper is getting ready to run one of those IN/OUT stories, from one of the wire services. The Official Word is that goatees are out, but mustaches are coming back.
My wife will be delighted--I grew a 'stache in Vietnam in 1967 and had it until last year, when I got up one morning and shaved it off. She'd never seen my upper lip, and still isn't used to it.
oh great!ColnagoFE
May 8, 2003 9:05 AM
now instead of looking like the devil or an italian mobster with our goats and slicked back hair we can all look like the contruction worker from the village people with our big 'ol staches!
Hmm. Hasn't it been determined that a man looks approximately128
May 8, 2003 11:54 AM
100% better without a mustache, than he does with one?? (GQ)

(although those guys who can pull off the bicycle handlebar mustache look cool)
By goatee you mean the little trimmed, pointee underchin thing?128
May 8, 2003 9:52 AM
or 'soul patch' or the 'devil beard'?

I thought the patch was 90's retro-hip for guys named Cory and Skyler still looking for Captain Trips.

As for mullets. I don't believe I've actually seen one. Do they smell different?? Although everyone down at the GOP convention AND at the local used book store had them. Could this be the uniting force of the new millenium?

I'm sporting the well trimmed around the mouth shadow bit with shaved underlip i.e intentional wide arc to AVOID goatee/patch reference. Unfortunately, believe I may have unwittingly stumbled into a trend. Not sure where to take it from here. The biggest bother are those guys who grow the 'devl beard' to full thickness. Dude. Trim it. And no pointy chins.
my goatee is for a good cause, when I have it........eyebob
May 8, 2003 10:09 AM
When my beloved Boston Bruins make the playoffs I grow one, along with the grandest of all hockey traditions. "Officially" the players grow "playoff beards" for good luck, but since I'm a) not on the team, just a fan and b) can't grow the whole beard thing, I grow a goatee for as long as they're in the playoffs. Got to show my support somehow, you know?

BT

PS They were knocked out in the first round this year, so the goatee lasted exactly 12 days.
you sorry soul :(rufus
May 8, 2003 10:14 AM
being a fan of perhaps the most pathetic front office organization in hockey. my condolences.
re: Your opinions neededrufus
May 8, 2003 10:10 AM
technically, isn't what we refer to as "the goatee" really a "van dyke"? isn't a goatee just the chin beard without the moustache?

had one back in the late eighties before they became popular, seemingly only among men who had reached their thirties, which i see as a means for them to still appear hip and fashionable and maybe hanging onto their youth(not trying to be judgemental or demeaning). but pointy ones are really horrible.

but haven't worn one for awhile. in my laziness, i prefer the three day growth look.
goatee includes moustache nmJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 10:47 AM
an interesting aside...facial hair regulations in the 'Big 5'JS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 10:53 AM
when i worked (as a technologist) for one of the formerly "Big Five" professional services (accounting) firms, there were dress code regulations against facial hair. the higher in the ranks you moved, the more stringent the regulations--including what type of collar to wear, appropriate jackets (overcoats) at a particular time of year, and what type of car one may drive (Partners and Senior Partners). i couldn't grow facial hair during my 2-year stint at the firm, nor wear earrings or let hair length go beyond a button-down oxford collar (not that i let my hair grow long anymore). there was absolutely no occasion on which jeans may be worn. never.

man, i sure do sound like a stinky hippie. LOL!
Dress code53T
May 11, 2003 2:28 PM
Senior staff may wear a fedora, only junior executives may wear a bowler. Junior staff should wear a cap. A top hat would be appropriate for senior executives only.

-Captain Peacock, Grace Brothers
Never mind the 'toon subject, dig Frazz's Ben Folds FiveRhodyRider
May 8, 2003 11:46 AM
T-shirt! "I've got a philosophy..."
Back on the topic...I wear a neatly-trimmed (van dyke? devil-beard?), shave my cheeks & neck most every day, and my fiance likes the look (and feel...!), so beyond her opinion and my own, I couldn't care less about what the rest of earth thinks. YMMV.