RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Why the Dems should be worried(12 posts)

Why the Dems should be worriedmoneyman
May 6, 2003 6:18 AM
From the Washington Post, columnist George Will, writes: "...a poll conducted April 10-16 by the Pew Research Center showing that 69 percent of Democrats cannot name any of the nine candidates. Kerry, the most frequently named, is named by just 9 percent of respondents. Nine percent think Al Gore is running."

Now, George Will is a conservative's conservative, but this isn't his opinion cited. He's merely restating the results of an independent polling organization. Add to those results that the field contains a mean-spirited governor (Dean), a tobacco-settlement wealthy trial lawyer (Edwards), a discredited US Senator (Moseley Braun), a former mayor who helped bankrupt his city of Cleveland (Kucinich),and a buffoon (Sharpton), to distract from the serious discussion that should be taking place, and I'd have to say the early favorite is "none of the above". Too bad he's not running.

$$
Don't fret. I'm on the phone to Mary Landrieu. nmOldEdScott
May 6, 2003 6:25 AM
Don't fret. I'm on the phone to Mary Landrieu. nmsn69
May 6, 2003 8:57 AM
It's interesting that you mentioned her, Ed. My wife, a molecular biologist, has has several interface opportunities with Landrieu to try to stimulate Louisiana's infantile biotech industry. Likewise, my boss interfaces with Landrieu frequently since DOD's presence is Louisiana's last viable money-making industry (generating about $10.6 billion per annum between the Navy/Marines in NOLA, the Army in Ft Polk and the Chair Force in Barksdale, as opposed to the next highest revenue producer--tourism with $4 billion).

Internally to the state, old school Southern Dems and hard-core GOPers dislike her because Landieu, like all normal, open-minded people (and like all typical vote-hungry politicians), doesn't openly eschew contact with minority groups. It's been my observation that Louisiana is particularly obsessed with caste/race distinction.
Good old Military Mary.OldEdScott
May 6, 2003 9:05 AM
She knows which side her state's bread is buttered on. She's prettier AND looks more macho than Dukakis too.

http://www.senate.gov/~landrieu/newsite/0221ftpolk.html
Not to worryfiltersweep
May 6, 2003 6:31 AM
-Kerry has good teeth, "Kennedy hair"- and looks far less simian than the competition ;)

George SR couldn't pull off a re-election under very similar circumstances (crappy economy and "popular" war).
That's nothingmohair_chair
May 6, 2003 6:39 AM
The candidates will sort themselves out in time. What Dems really should worry about is that they don't seem to stand for anything anymore. As far as I can tell, the message so far is quite simple: "Vote for us. We're not Bush."

Not that message matters anyway. It's all about money....
I have to agree but Dean isnt mean spiritedCARBON110
May 6, 2003 7:24 AM
Your right, they should be worried. We never hear much from them. I wish they woul come forward and something, anything. Dean however was tip top on Face The Nation and isnt mean spirited at all. There were some cheap shots taken at him (surprise) In anycase, its a matter of timing, introducing wht you stand for and how you plan on attacking the issues. This isnta prudent time for Demos who are a little unknown to the general public. However, hiding in a corner isnt quite what I expected. As for Al Sharpton, I'm not sure what the hell he is thinking, however he and J.Jackson seem to find themselves in the most peculiar places some how. I think C. Powel would have made a great canidate last election...my hope rests on Dean....
Yeah, where'd that come from? Just becauseOldEdScott
May 6, 2003 7:42 AM
he gave a little grief to that commissar John Kerrey (aka 'The New Edmund Muskie')?
actually, that is a good thing for the dems.dr hoo
May 6, 2003 7:56 AM
It is to the dems advantage to be ignored while they are bickering among themselves. They would like to be totally ignored by the national press until they have a clear leader who can speak with one voice.

Right now, they have little in the way of policy ideas developed.

Do they have a chance? Yes. Who would have thought after gulf I that some hick womanizer from arkansas would win the nomination AND the general election! There is a LONG time to go, and many things can happen.

BTW, you missed the best statistic. "Any democrat" beats all of the current candidates in a two way race. That's a sign of a pretty weak field.

Still, things change. If afganistan continues to be a mess (remember that place? heard anything about it recently?) and if iraq turns into a mess (think what the israelis face with suicide bombers, think of all the armed population and ethnic divisions), then the shrub's foreign policy capital will fade in short order. And he sure doesn't have a lot of domestic capital at the moment.
Will the GOP openly fracture over the neo-con/conservative rift?128
May 6, 2003 11:43 AM
There is a real ideological split in the GOP these days (or am I just imagining that?) and it's an open question whether there will be open infighting effecting the next election. Are the 'real' conservatives going to sit idly by while the neo-cons run the show?? Traditionally the GOP hangs together well, but with the hard religious right and neo-con agenda predominating...I don't know.
What rift?TJeanloz
May 6, 2003 12:56 PM
I don't think it's much of an ideological rift. And certainly not enough of one to cause a real split in the party. There will always be Pat Buchannan types running far right. I'm sure the Reform Party will trot out some kook. But the foreign policy adgenda isn't intersting enough to really ire people enough to leave the party structure.
You have to have ideology before you can split over it.czardonic
May 6, 2003 1:35 PM
What is the GOP's ideology now that fiscal responsibility, small government and "changing the tone in Washington" can no longer be argued with a straight face?

Their prime directive seems to be achieving and maintaining office, something the whole spectrum of rightists agree on.