RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Tim Robbins whining is disgusting. What a jerk!(21 posts)

Tim Robbins whining is disgusting. What a jerk!Live Steam
Apr 16, 2003 6:27 AM
He and his wife have successfully destroyed their own character. Mr. Peacenik threatened the reporter that wrote a column about his Mother-in-law.

She is poll sitter in Fla. and a staunch Republican. The columnist interviewed her about their relationship and she admitted that she had to walk on eggshells when in his company. It was OK for him to voice his political views, but she had to bite here tongue for fear of causing a blowout. Her 14 year old Grandson engaged her with his Fathers anti-Bush rhetoric and she responded. Robbins took exception to it and let her have it.

Move forward to some awards dinner where both Robbins and the reporter attended. Robbins found out the reporter was present and went after him. The following is almost a direct quote from my memory - "Don't ever fu#$%g write about my family again or I'll kick your fu#$%&g a$$". Something to that effect. I guess like the rest of the hypocrites in Hollywood, he can only dish out dirt. His obvious hatred of Bush and this administration is clouding his better judgment. The American people see this and have tuned these idiots out. The Left Wing is suffering and so will these two losers. I was a big fan of both he and his wife, but their big mouths have spoiled it for me.
hatred and rageDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 6:37 AM
I think it's obvious that Robbins and his pals really, really hate Bush and everything to do with him. They hate the fact that this war effort is apparently going well, maybe even better than expected. They hate the fact that 75% of Americans support the effort. I think their rage is so out of control that they cannot even think clearly, as evidenced by the attack on the reporter, of all things, for writing about his mother-in-law. While it might not be relevant or interesting, what the in-law had to say, an attack, particularly threatening bodily harm, on a reporter for his expression under the 1st Amendment, considering in the same breath Robbins was griping about his views being squelched, is so far beyond irony it borders on ludicrous.

So, I think this is more a result of rage and hatred than normal hypocrisy. The fact that he can't see it, apparently, makes him look foolish.

Doug
hatred and rageLive Steam
Apr 16, 2003 6:49 AM
"Mr. Robbins dodged a question about news reports accusing him of physically threatening a Washington Post columnist at a post-Academy Awards party last month. The Post reporter had interviewed Miss Sarandon's mother, a Republican who said the couple had "brainwashed" her grandson about the war.
In his speech yesterday, Mr. Robbins called the writer a "sadistic creep."
"Quite frankly, I don't know the guy and don't want to know him," the actor said. "He has a right [to report] but it irritates me people use that right to pick on 13-year-olds."

Very cloudy, if you ask me :O) His agent must be cringing with each word Robbins utters.
hatred and rageAlpedhuez55
Apr 16, 2003 7:59 AM
Is it really news worthy to interview a loudmouth B-List movie actor's aunt? I know you give up some privacy when you are a celebrity. I think the reporters can be a bit intrusive, but there is freedom of the press as well. He also could have found a better way to express his views on the reporting than threatening the reporter.

I defended him last week with the Hall of Fame canellation. I think his speech yesterday was pretty silly. He needs to learn that if he wants to exercise his right to free speech that there may be reprisals from the people he so vocally disagrees with when they exercise their free speech.

This week has brought more attention to him than any of his recent movies have gotten. Most of his movies have flopped since "The Shawshank Redemption" unless you count his cameos like the one in Ausin Powers movies. He can claim there is a Hollywood Backlash but when you want to make that much noise, and threaten reporters, you can do damage to your own career. If you choose to blast the Republicans, Democrats and the press all in the same speech, some people may stop thinking your an activist and start thinking you are a nut!!!

I guess we can look for Robbins to sit next to Alec Baldwin (Who is actually pretty funny)and under ALF on Hollywood Squares pretty soon. "I'll take Tim Robbins for the Block"

Mike Y.
Definitions, please:4bykn
Apr 16, 2003 12:17 PM
By "Robbins and his pals" do you mean all liberals? I consider myself rather liberal (something of an outcast here in the midwest), but I don't
i "hate the fact that this war effort is apparently going well"
nor do I
i "hate the fact that 75% of Americans support the effort"

The "better" the war effort goes, the sooner it will be over, with hopefully less damage to humanity and properties. I don't particularly care if 3 of 4 americans support the effort, I don't. Each of us is entitled to his/her opinion, and the right to express said opinion.
I meant the vocal movie stars... nmDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 12:35 PM
Hey Live Steam!OldEdScott
Apr 16, 2003 6:51 AM
I think Robbins is an ass too! An ass is an ass no matter which 'wing' he belongs too! See, I'm NOT a hypocrite!

Now: You tell me the name of a right winger you think is an ass. It's only fair. I went first!
other than politicians and present company? nmDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 7:01 AM
other than politicians and present company? nmLive Steam
Apr 16, 2003 7:06 AM
Nah. Hey we all need two wheels between our legs to be happy. How bad can someone be who still likes zooming around on skinny tires?
yes, cycling really is apolitical nmDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 7:09 AM
Prolly why we vent our pent-up politics here. nmOldEdScott
Apr 16, 2003 7:14 AM
Hey it's 83 here in NYC! I'm going for a spin. Later! nmLive Steam
Apr 16, 2003 7:19 AM
That's easyLive Steam
Apr 16, 2003 7:03 AM
Pat Buchanan. Way off the charts for my tastes.
Aw. I like Pat. He has the neo-cons' number. nmOldEdScott
Apr 16, 2003 7:09 AM
Aw. I like Pat. He has the neo-cons' number. nmLive Steam
Apr 16, 2003 7:17 AM
I am firmly right of center, but I'm not past the foul pole. Buchanan's ideologue positions border on racism and bigotry IMO. He is engaging though, so maybe "ass" isn't the correct term. I'll have to rethink my answer. I would put CZAR in that category, but he is just an antagonist :O)
no flame, just a question.rufus
Apr 17, 2003 6:07 AM
why does buchanan's view that the neo-con agenda is primarily more concerned with israel's security rather than america's border on rascism and bigotry? is it rascist to question any policy towards israel, or to express a view against israeli action simply because israeli citizens are jewish? is it rascist to question the motives behind the neo-con's policy statements simply because they may be jewish themselves, or have extensive political ties to israel and the jewish community? or is any kind of criticism directed toward israel automatically rascist, and the critic a believer in "the vast jewish conspiracy"?

by extension, if articles are written condemning u.s. policy toward african nations, or questioning the motives behind such policy, make the writer a rascist towards black people?
sorry, just an addendumrufus
Apr 17, 2003 6:12 AM
it seems to me that the cries of "rascism" are a convenient excuse to stifle any criticism before it can even get started. rather than have their actions scrutinized, and this goes for many special interest groups, they cry foul and rascism, so they can put forward their view or agenda without countering opinions.
Hey, OlEd: Ever feel like you're all alone in here?cory
Apr 16, 2003 8:06 AM
What with you making sense and all, I mean?
FWIW, I put a Post-It note on my computer that says "Stay Out of Non-Cycling," and it's made my mornings a lot more pleasant. If only I could heed it every day....
It's not too bad.OldEdScott
Apr 16, 2003 8:12 AM
There's some good liberals in here too. But it don't matter noway, since ONE good Liberal can out-argue 10 dozen reactionaries any old day, seein as how Truth, God and History are on our side. Piece of cake.

I always chuckle when I see you pop up here, sputtering about the latest right wing outrage, despite your 'stay away' resolve!
Who cares? He's politically irrelavent.Continental
Apr 16, 2003 7:01 AM
I can't get worked up about celebrity political views. I don't think that they have any significant effect on political policy or the way people vote. If Tim Robbins is in a good movie, I'll watch. If he makes a political statement, I'll ignore it.
Who cares? He's politically irrelavent.Jon Billheimer
Apr 16, 2003 12:41 PM
I agree. Who cares what an immature, narcissistic and intemperate actor thinks or says. As a matter of fact who cares what anyone with these personality traits thinks or says?....so long as he/she/it isn't actually running a government?