RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


The Liberation of California...(13 posts)

The Liberation of California...rwbadley
Apr 8, 2003 7:01 AM
It was announced today that the evil regime of Gov'ner Gray Davis has been put on notice.

"These electricity price hikes and this nasty attack on the tobbacco companies will not stand" exclaimed Donald Rumsfeld.

"The population of California deserves to live in a free society where taxes levied on products are not used to fight that very products existence" remarked Ari Fleischer. He continued, "Power companies are having an especially tough time with recovery of monies lost due to market forces"

"The evil regime has fought relentlessly against standard industry practice, and must be brought into line" Declared Colin Powell.

President Bush remarked "Yes" when asked for his view.

Ordnance is being assembled for the liberation, with the bombing of Sacramento first, followed by Los Angeles, then San Francisco.

"If you live, work, or assemble near these areas you may want to rethink your plans" noted Rumsfeld.

Operation 'California Dreamin' will be conducted shortly. Be at peace, and bring flowers; your day of liberation is near.
OK, OK... this was meant to be tongue in cheek, but you know..rwbadley
Apr 8, 2003 7:10 AM
I cringe to think of the awful feeling to lose a city the size of (pick your favorite) to 2,000 sorties a day.

How would you feel to see your town be liberated in this manner? Even if it were deemed as the 'right thing to do' by an outside souce...

Chicago? New York? Witness the WTC multiplied by 100 in your own back yard....

Not the same? Can't compare? Hey... we all got to have a home, why is it different...?

The photos on display of carnage with folks picking through rubble. I'm glad it's not here, but still sad that it's there.

RW
a peaceful solution....ClydeTri
Apr 8, 2003 7:14 AM
A peaceful solution to the California problem..just build a mile wide moat around the whole state, kick them out of the US and let them be their own country :~)
a peaceful solution....rwbadley
Apr 8, 2003 7:23 AM
Living in Nevada... I'm all for it!

heh, heh ;-))
Same problem as Iraq...mohair_chair
Apr 8, 2003 7:38 AM
Who will lead California when Davis is gone? We just had one of the most pathetic elections ever last year when the Republican candidate (Simon) was worse than Davis. I know, that seems impossible, but it was true. Dumb or Dumber, who do you elect?
but...ClydeTri
Apr 8, 2003 7:45 AM
didnt you californians have more choices on the primary ballots?
A slick Davis primary campaignmickey-mac
Apr 8, 2003 8:03 AM
Simon ran against former L.A. mayor Richard Riordan in the Republica primary. Davis had no serious competition in the Democratic primary, but his people knew that Riordan was much more likely than Simon to beat Davis in the general election. So Davis ran a rather nasty campaign against Riordan in advance of the primary. Davis got his wish, and Simon was the Republican candidate. Davis then portrayed Simon as an extreme right-winger and did his best to associate him with corrupt business practices at a time when Enron, WorldCom, and Global Crossing were dominating the headlines. Even so, Davis barely beat Simon in the general election after early polls showed Davis with a double-digit lead. A fairly serious campaign to recall Davis is underway. Although I think a recall of this nature will set a bad precedent if it succeeds, I must admit that I'd rather see Riordan as Governor. And that's coming from someone who has never voted for a Republican.
question for californians....ClydeTri
Apr 8, 2003 8:06 AM
Was the Gray Davis (and his administration) total bungling of the energy contracts just bad judgement/mismanagement or was there potentially illegal aspects to it? (ala people getting their pockets lined off of it)
righto; Davis was extremely well-funded nmDougSloan
Apr 8, 2003 8:06 AM
How about we encourage a CoupAlpedhuez55
Apr 8, 2003 8:05 AM
I think there is one man who can remove the Evil Davis Regime ;-)
OK, how about this:Spoke Wrench
Apr 8, 2003 11:16 AM
California suceeds from the union and invades Nevada. The rest of the US would wage war against California and afterward pay to rebuild the state.

Presto! California's budget crisis is resolved.
OK, how about this:Alpedhuez55
Apr 8, 2003 11:52 AM
Well, the US would not have to worry about taking out the electricity in the early stages of the war. California will do that themselves ;-)
There might be some other problems.Spoke Wrench
Apr 8, 2003 2:59 PM
For example: Is there any oil in Nevada? If there isn't, we'd might just let California keep it.