RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


NPR Station fires host for supporting Bush(28 posts)

NPR Station fires host for supporting BushAlpedhuez55
Apr 3, 2003 4:28 PM
YPSILANTI -- WEMU-FM host Terry Hughes, known on the air as "Thayrone," was fired from the Eastern Michigan University public radio station Wednesday for repeatedly expressing his views about the war in Iraq, and refusing to run NPR news during his Sunday night music program "The Bone Conduction Show."

Hughes was fired by station manager Art Timko.

"Art said he was 'tired of the fight,' trying to get me to run news on the show and not have an opinion," Hughes said. In between the vintage Detroit R&B and soul music he plays, Hughes has been talking up the war in Iraq, expressing his support for the troops and for President Bush, and denigrating National Public Radio.

On his show this past Sunday, among other things, Hughes was explaining why the station's fund-raiser had been postponed: "Because (Bush) has the (guts) to get up to do the right thing after 18 attempts to get everybody to help. ..."

Hughes also complained to his listeners about not wanting to run NPR news. "We know if you want a current assessment of what's going on, you're sure not listening to us," he said on last week's show. "You'll be over at Fox TV where they're not bending the news. ... It ain't happening on NPR."

Station manager Timko's account doesn't differ much. "He was fired basically over philosophical differences," Timko said. "We have a policy that eliminates or restricts the expression of personal opinion on issues of controversy, and he didn't believe that applied to him."

http://www.detnews.com/2003/metro/0304/03/a05-126999.htm
-------------------------------------------
Well, it is nice to hear someone at an NPR station is fed up with their biased reporting. I can understand the firing, but I think his assessments on NPR are dead on.

Mike Y.
Obviously a right-wing zealot.czardonic
Apr 3, 2003 5:01 PM
It's one thing to believe that NPR is biased. Its quite another to believe that Fox is not biased.

Is this an "NPR station", or is it a station that carries NPR news?
right-wing zealot. hosts "The Bone Conduction Show." ??Alpedhuez55
Apr 3, 2003 5:50 PM
He hosts a blues & soul show on a college station. Hardly what you would call a right wing zealot. I suppose to you the 70% of Americans who support the war in NPR's latest poll are all a bunch of right wing zealots.

He is making a statement that Fox News is more accurate than NPR. That is dead on.

Mike Y.
Quote: ". . .at Fox TV where they're not bending the news"czardonic
Apr 3, 2003 6:03 PM
Not only is he so steeped in right-wing that he can't recognizes Fox's tilt (something you yourself acknowledge), but he feels the need to turn a music show into a platform for his political beliefes and would rather lose his job than give air-time to views he doesn't agree with. Zealot.
Not doing his job...Brooks
Apr 4, 2003 10:40 AM
As a volunteer DJ at our local radio station, I know what the gig is. Yes, we carry NPR news at the top of the hour and All Things Considered in the evening and some other programs like Car Talk, but most of our programming is music. We have Adult Album Alternative (figure that one out) music from 10 am to 5pm and from 7pm to 10 pm, switching to the BBC overnight. As DJ's our JOB is to play the music, maybe give a bit of background to bands or songs if you know it, read the weather, lost and found, and play the sponser bits. It is NOT to give our opinions. The opinions of the DJ's may be construed as representative of the station. The guy apparently repeatedly broke the terms of his employment and was canned. End of story.

BTW Alpedhuez55, how do KNOW that Fox is more accurate than NPR. Are you personally witnessing the events and then the coverage to KNOW one is more accurate than the other? I thought not.
Not doing his job...Alpedhuez55
Apr 4, 2003 12:10 PM
I agree the station had every right to fire the DJ. He crossed a line.

As for NPR, they tend to be inaccurate by ommission. If they are telling a story, they may interview from the left but not the right. They may focus on things like humanitarian aid, where humanitarian agencies are complaining about not going into the cities while US and UK forces are still fighting there and clearing mines in the gulf.. They also wil not mention that US & UK troops are supplying aid in those cities. I think when they report on politics, their bias shines through the most.

Actually, the NPR made an apology this week for falsely reporting a Christian Group was being investigated for sending Anthrax Letters to Senators Dodd & Daschle.

All in all, the war coverage I have heard, includsing NPR, is not that bad. Most of the major media outlets have done a good job. No media outlet is perfect. Fox & NPR are both Biased. I doubt there is a truely I have been critical of Fox as well. But when people call NPR "Balanced", I think it is more like they are telling them what they want to hear.

Mike Y.
Personally, I give two thumbs up to my local NPR station...sn69
Apr 3, 2003 5:19 PM
As is typical, they are the local university station for UNO, Tulane and the smaller New Orleans colleges. I like NPR's news--I don't find it particularly difficult to filter through the white noise (or with any other news program, left or right), and the format is refreshing compared to the pre-packaged, downloaded drivel that the other Clearchannel stations spew.

What's far more important, however, is the afternoon indie music show, specifically Tuesday's. They played non-stop blue grass covers of 1980s Madonna songs followed up by an hour of The Man In Black, the Reverend Cash. Gotta love that.

Clearchannel is the clear enemy; crap begets crap.
Personally, I wouldn't give two...hycobob
Apr 3, 2003 5:52 PM
In houston the local NPR station is great for Islamo-facist views and gay issues, along with the whiney prison shows. The FM stations are almost all Clear Channel drones now too. There were two AM talk oriented radio stations that were pretty good; but CC bought one of them. It went down the crapper really fast, "liberal as can be" doesn't make for good talk based radio. One of the old talk show hosts went out and bought the other station and recruited their resently canned local hosts. Then along comes 9/11/2001, Clear Channel decides that it needs a "conservative talk radio station" again. They use the same guys (except Phil Hendry, thank God!) but all of a sudden they get the picture. Whats up here? Could there actually be room in today's culture for conservative core values?
I don't care all that much about broadcast politics.sn69
Apr 3, 2003 6:00 PM
Now, Bob...honestly, I like to consider myself a fairly balanced nerd, but I have to admit that I grew up listening to 104 KRBE and 101 KLOL (back in the days of the silver head dude), and my father business was a sponsor for the Gamblers.

Frankly, I don't care about liberal versus conservative. I get enough politics at work and home (my wife and Czar would get along great methinks). All I really want is decent, varried music on the radio. Clearchannel sucks a@@. They are slowly ruining the American radio dream, and I rank them into the category of "all enemies foriegn and DOMESTIC." I email them rude comments all the time. Our "alt" CC station in NOLA caters to what I term "angry young white boy music," namely Limp Bizkit, Stained, Saliva, etc....

Mickey Mac, I think, understands my pain....
I don't care all that much about broadcast politics.hycobob
Apr 3, 2003 7:42 PM
I was 14 when I moved here from Smalltown, Oklahoma the 1st time back in '79 when 104KRBE and 100KILT were the main rock stations. Then Urban Cowboy came along and ruined everything...100 went country and 104 went pop! That left only 101KLOL, so of course they were the best we had...they were it! Thats about when the Silver Surfer head was introduced here. Now theres just a lot of the same here so I spend my time surfing AM/FM or listening to music/books on CD (45min drive to work in Freeport). When I was Navy Subs in the 80's I found that radio really sucks everywhere...except where you have just moved to, until about three weeks pass and the newness wears off then they suck too. Heres to windy rides and pissy drivers!!!
I don't care all that much about broadcast politics.mickey-mac
Apr 3, 2003 8:36 PM
Our "alt" CC station in NOLA caters to what I term "angry young white boy music," namely Limp Bizkit, Stained, Saliva, etc....

Mickey Mac, I think, understands my pain....

Like Bill Clinton, I do feel your pain. I'd go nuts if not for the music played on KCRW (yep, NPR) and KXLU (Loyola Marymount Univ.). I haven't had a commercial music station on my car radio for longer than three minutes in the past 10 years.
Current new music fixations:sn69
Apr 4, 2003 5:16 PM
Transplants
Evanessence
new Everclear (I've always been a fan)
Sahara Hotnights

and I really want to get the new Johnny Cash

also waiting for the new Guster
Current new music fixations:mickey-mac
Apr 6, 2003 10:15 PM
Evanessence is all right but it doesn't really knock me out. I haven't listened to much of the new Cash, but I've been listening to a lot of Hank Williams and Woodie Guthrie lately. My five year old daughter and two year old son scream for Guthrie every time we get in the car. Sometimes my boy grabs the keys to the car because he wants to go for a drive and listen to "The Car Song" over and over as we drive. I know they're probably bit passe by this time, but I still get a kick out of the Hives. One of the more interesting things I've heard recently is "Dub Side of the Moon," a reggae/dub version of "Dark Side of the Moon." IMO, it's preferable to the Pink Floyd version.
Current new music fixations:sn69
Apr 7, 2003 7:51 AM
My recommendation is to get the kids listening to "King of the Road," only the drunken REM version off of Dead Letter Office vice the Roger Miller version (I can't listen to the latter without hearing the Disney "Robin Hood" theme in my head). Chances are, with their "childrens'" ears, they'll be able to decipher Stipe's ramblings (REM was so much better before he became coherent).

Speaking of HW, is that Sr or Bocephus?
Current new music fixations:mickey-mac
Apr 8, 2003 7:26 PM
I love the original Roger Miller version and the REM version. I used to be a big REM fan and still think that the Chronic Town EP was one of the best things they ever put out. Gardening at Night is still one of my all-time favorite songs. Not being able to make out Stipe's ramblings was always one of the reasons I liked them so much.

As for HW, we've been listening to Hank I. We're not a particularly God-fearing family, but my daughter and I love singing along at the top of our lungs to "I Saw the Light." Hank I was an interesting and complex man.
By the way,mickey-mac
Apr 8, 2003 7:44 PM
when you work your way back to southern California, get ahold of me so we can get together for a ride. Let me know when you're coming out: mmarkmc@pacbell.net.
Ah, Houston FM radio, back in the day...Dale Brigham
Apr 4, 2003 7:46 AM
When I was doing hard time in College Station (honorable discharge with degree in 3 years; early out for good behavior) in the mid-'70s, the same cable that brought us Houston TV (no Bryan/College Station stations then) also brought us FM radio from Houston.

KLOL (I think that was it) was my fave station then, because you might hear Stevie Wonder, King Crimson, the Stones, Willis Allen Ramsey (country pop-folkie), and Waylon Jennings all in the same set. They had that eclectic thing down. Alas, segmented programming has killed that concept, excepting (IMHO) overly-precious "free-form" radio on some college stations (how many Peruvian flute ditties can you take?).

Heck, in those days, even backward old Lubbock (my hometown) had two good FM stations competing for the hearts and minds of us long-haired, wannabe Cosmic-Cowboys.

I'm with you guys -- FM radio has really taken a dive. I share your pain.

Dale
Yep..SteveS
Apr 3, 2003 7:17 PM
I dumped the local (Houston) NPR station during the first Gulf War after they had some 'professor' (maybe the guy from Columbia) give a 5 minute or so spiel about how we were going into another Viet Nam, yaddy-yada, with no response from the other side, certainly not from the hyper-urbane NPR resident pinkos of the time. (Sure wish I had ordered a transcript of the 'useful idiots' monologue)

Clear Channel or whatever, I have dumped FM. XM is the way of the future, and I can have all the music I want plus Fox, BBC, Bloomberg, or the Weather Channel. And no NPR, thank you.
NPR is probably the most balanced news out therefiltersweep
Apr 4, 2003 6:38 AM
mini rant:

I never understood the so-called "liberal news bias"- it simply doesn't exist. Everywhere you tune in on the news it seems there is some conservative talk radio show... rarely if ever is there a liberal talk radio shown (what, Bill Mahr has one show- and you have to PAY for HBO to watch it? Get real!).

Public radio is relatively balanced, and as such is APPEARS to be left of center because everything else is so skewed. I have heard countless conservative war analysts on NPR- do YOU even actually listen? They don't broadcast George W. then rip him to shreds....

Look at all the crazy conservative trappings- even the term "war on terrorism" has a conservative "newspeak" way of sellling the war to the public. What IS the "war or terrorism" ? Why are the issues that promote terrorism never really discussed in a meaningful way? Noam Chomsky really had it right: it can't all be summed up in a tidy little soundbite.

My bias: I'm not exactly for the war, but hope our puppet president has a real brain trust behind him: at least we haven't heard a PEEP from N. Korea since the bombing started, and China has been silent about Iraq and has been leaning toward sanctions against N. Korea... maybe there is a method to the madness...
NPR is probably the most balanced news out therebic
Apr 4, 2003 6:59 AM
It,s time to sweep your filter, I thinks it's a little clogged. :)
Any facts to back that up?filtersweep
Apr 4, 2003 7:47 AM
...just because NPR actually has Iraqi-Americans phoning in (rather than just white middle-class males)...?

-just because they have some general actually take the time to explain the difference between stategy, tactics, and logistics?

-don't confuse INTELLIGENT discussion with LIBERAL discussion- there are some intelligent conservatives.

-don't confuse the fact that there is little name-calling or emotional outbursts for being sedately liberal

Yesterday there was a fascinating discussion about people's fears that a war in Iraq would result in all sorts of acts of terrorism in the US, and that simply has not occurred. Today the discussion was about N. Korea backing down- arguably related to witnessing the US' military power. Arguably these can both be construed as pro-war stances. I've heard from countless military personel on location in Iraq. There has been quite a bit of BBC coverage of the war- and the British are right along with the US in Iraq, remember? There have been all sorts of discussions regarding the "positive aspects" of the war- and surprisingly little negative material toward the war or the president.

Sure NPR pokes fun at the absurdity of "freedom fries"- but why not?

Seriously, listen- if your appetite is only satiated by Rush L., then you will likely find NPR to be a bit extreme, but I'd argue that your compass has been skewed. NPR has changed more than just a bit over the years...
RE: Korea.ryder1
Apr 4, 2003 10:45 AM
I heard that China actually turned off their oil pipeline to Korea (their life-line) for three days (source: NPR), in order to get them to start turning down the rhetoric.
Here ya goSteveS
Apr 4, 2003 12:01 PM
Do a news check from the last two weeks...NPR's own omsbudman noted NPR unbalanced war coverage, with a clear anti-war bias in voices and opinions heard.

However, the tone of your notes shows that you are clearly in the NPR fold. Send your money to them today.
Of course it is.OldEdScott
Apr 4, 2003 7:24 AM
NPR is fine. You have to consider the nature of its critics. Any suggestion that Dick Cheney might have made a mistake -- just one -- at some point in his life gets you branded a commie traitor by that crowd.

My redneck brother-in-law, who is surprisingly progressive in his politics, said the other night (after the latest cable news jingo-fest):

"Hell, the media is so godawful Right Wing these days that any newscaster who has sense enough not to wear a swastika armband and jackboots in public is condemned as a flaming Liberal."
An NPR loving conservativeMcAndrus
Apr 4, 2003 9:36 AM
I absolutely love NPR, in the last ten years it has become the American BBC. I find it's coverage left of center but I'm adult enough to know when I hear bias (left or right).

If anyone hasn't heard him, tune in on Saturday's to the 8-10 a.m. news and listen to Scott Simon. The guy is a radio news genius. If I could find a taped copy of his show right after 9/11 I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
Thanks for the confessionmickey-mac
Apr 8, 2003 9:17 PM
"I find it's coverage left of center but I'm adult enough to know when I hear bias (left or right)."

It's nice to hear that someone has been able to think independently and appreciate good reporting. With the exception (IMHO) of Nina Totenberg, NPR has an impressive staff of reporters with an amazing depth of knowledge in science, the arts, and numerous other subjects. BTW, I agree with your assessment of Scott Simon.
He didn't get fired for supporting Bush ...sacheson
Apr 4, 2003 7:21 AM
... he got fired for repeatedly straying from his agenda to preach his views. That's not what he was being paid for, and they let him go.

Don't turn this into some political debate it isn't.
yeah, no kiddingmohair_chair
Apr 4, 2003 7:30 AM
The guy sounds like he was jerking his boss around, not doing what he was hired to do, and probably violating some contract stipulations with organizations like NPR to run their news. He got fired for it. Whatever else he was doing or why is irrelevant.