RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


new special forces unit to end the war quickly(36 posts)

new special forces unit to end the war quicklyDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 9:52 AM
ActuallySteveS
Apr 3, 2003 10:33 AM
Some of these guys actually exist, saw them at the rifle range. The good news is that they are quite friendly, except to potential terrorists here in the U.S.

Excellent marksmen.
Those are Libertarians, Doug . . . (nm)cory
Apr 3, 2003 11:17 AM
LOL; probably right (nm)DougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 11:35 AM
No, those are our candidates ;-) Hey Repubs and Dems have their freaks too!js5280
Apr 3, 2003 1:50 PM
re: new special forces unit to end the war quicklyAlpedhuez55
Apr 3, 2003 11:34 AM
The one on the front looks like me, I think I need to shave my beard ;)
I am southern...could be called a redneck...ClydeTri
Apr 3, 2003 11:38 AM
I live in Alabama, have multiple shotguns and rifles in the house. I enjoy the humour in the picture and accompanying verbage however. My point is...pick another minority group, and make a similiar photo, and it most likely would be racist...why are rednecks, southern ones in particular, one of the few groups it is okay to ridicule?
As a fellow redneck ...OldEdScott
Apr 3, 2003 11:53 AM
I've wondered the same thing and made the same points. Never gotten an answer.

That said, I laugh at stuff like this too, which makes me less 'sensitive' about making fun of other ethnic groups. Hell, we take it in good humor. They can too, or they can kiss my Cracker *ss!

(Whoops, some real illiberal sentiment here!)
if you made those guys jewish....ClydeTri
Apr 3, 2003 11:56 AM
it would become an anti-semetic cartoon and not be allowed....there is a double standard..
Or, if you made those guys into Aggies...Dale Brigham
Apr 3, 2003 1:25 PM
...then you'd have the ever-popular-in-Texas Aggie (Texas A&M University alum) joke. As an Aggie (B.S. Biology, '77), I personally embrace the ridicule and wear the derision with pride.

Seriously, whether you are an Aggie, of Polish descent, a Redneck, a Unitarian, or whatever, being able to poke fun at yourself is a true sign of humanity.

Know any good Aggie jokes?

Dale
Q. How long ...53T
Apr 3, 2003 5:59 PM
...did it take the Aggie to fix his basement window?

A. 32 days, 1 day to fix the window and 1 month to dig a hole deep enough for the ladder.
That's the spirit! Good Aggie joke, 53T. (nm)Dale Brigham
Apr 4, 2003 7:21 AM
I've got some good Aggie jokes...Spoke Wrench
Apr 5, 2003 7:05 AM
but I can't tell them for fear of being called anti-armadillo.
We Aggies, like armadillos, have thick skins (and skulls!) (nm)Dale Brigham
Apr 6, 2003 4:34 PM
Good question. So. . .what is a "redneck" anyway?czardonic
Apr 3, 2003 11:58 AM
If I recall correctly Malcolm X defined it as someone who's discomfort around black people is evidenced by the way they tend to go red when dealing with them. Was X just being glib, or was the term originally coined to reference racists?
Good question. So. . .what is a "redneck" anyway?ClydeTri
Apr 3, 2003 12:04 PM
term comes from people who worked outdoors in the hot sun..the sun made their neck literally red as they bent over..since most of those people tended to be of the lower economic class, it became to be known for poor southern folk, white, because, even though blacks worked outside and can tan, their necks didnt get red. Malcolm X didnt know the origin of the word.
Interesting. I had no idea. (nm)czardonic
Apr 3, 2003 12:31 PM
Good God, no.OldEdScott
Apr 3, 2003 12:05 PM
Malcolm was a great man, in many respects, but he spouted no end of dreary bullsh!t about white people.

A redneck is a rural southerner who works outside all day bent over whatever sad crop he's raising so his damn neck gets sunburned. Red neck. Town folk used it as a term of derision. It's a class thing. There's no racial connotation.
If yer mowin' yer yard and ya find a Chevy...Kristin
Apr 3, 2003 12:24 PM
You might be a redneck... :-)

(I come from badland rednecks.)
I knew I liked you! nmOldEdScott
Apr 3, 2003 12:27 PM
I think you can thank Jeff FoxworthyDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 12:51 PM
PS, my kin are from Tennesee.

Doug
HEY DOUG..which part of TN?ClydeTri
Apr 3, 2003 12:59 PM
NO the SLoan's of Bradley COunty?
Fishers from near Frogjump (northwest) nmDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 1:00 PM
I think you can thank Jeff FoxworthyBike Fool
Apr 3, 2003 1:09 PM
Here's a few for ya...
Ya might be a redneck if...
1.More than one living relative is named after a Southern Civil War general.
2.You think the stock market has a fence around it.
3.You think the O.J. trial was the big Sunkist and Minutemaid taste test.
4.You've ever lost a loved one to kudzu.
5.Your boat has not left the driveway in 15 years.
6.Your front porch collapses and kills more than three dogs.
7.You've ever used lard in bed.
8.Your coffee table used to be a telephone cable spool.
9.You keep a can of Raid on the kitchen table.
10.You've ever used a toilet seat as a picture frame.
11.Your home has more miles on it than your car.
12.Your Christmas tree is still up in February.
13.You've ever been arrested for loitering.
14.You think that potted meat on a saltine is an hors d'ouvre.
No lie! You'll like this...Kristin
Apr 3, 2003 1:39 PM
We used to have several peices of furniture made from cable spools.

My father was bored one day so he dismantled the motor of our Jeep Cherokee (one of the 2 running vehicles in the family), instead of working on one of the 5 non-functioning beaters.

Some of his most notable building projects:

* A deck that was 20 feet from the house in the side yard (not in back), awned in in bright orange, yellow and blue. (He skipped treating the wood to save money, so it looked "presentable" for only 3 years.)

*A 50 foot shop off the back of the house made with scrap plywood and 2x4's scarfed from the local hardware store.

*A very cool treehouse (Honestly! It was featured in the local paper.) Unfortunately, it was not treated either and it was condemned after 4 years.)

*A 75 foot tall frame (like a gueatine frame) that held an inner-tube bungy swing.

His current project:
Removing a mobile home from his house. No lie. The home my father bought several years ago had an embedded trailer with 4 rooms and a basement added to one side and a porch added to the other. He made some more additions to it including a new bedroom and a back deck (attached this time), and has now decided to remove the trailer. Believe it or not, they write books on how to collapse and remove a trailer from a house.

Things my father believes:
*You can never have enough rusted Corbear bodies
*1976 Ford 350's are eternal
*Just because an engine is "blown" doesn't mean its not drivable
*Weather proofing is not necessary
*PCV is was created by God
*Plexiglass is the better choice in most situations
I feel your pain. nmDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 2:15 PM
It is OK to rediculte rednecks and not ethnic groupskilimanjaro
Apr 3, 2003 4:20 PM
PC guidelines 101.

1. Not enough people object loud enough (i.e. not picked up by the "coastal culturally elistist" media). Also, though it does not directly apply inthis case, it is usually OK for members of a group to poke fun at the group but not for someone outside the group. Hence blacks, ur I mean African-Americans can use the N-word but no one else can.

2. Rednecks as a group is identified by geographic location and cultural traits like speech, dress etc and not by ethnic group. It is the same as making fun of "Pinko commie tree hugging liberals," or "Hollywod Eliet." Also see description of media above.

I am getting off tangent a bit here but I really don't understand all the complaint against Political Correctness. From all the hob-bob I hear on radio and by individuals in forums it seems that the anti-PC police is at least as large as the PC one. PC is just good manners in my humble opinion. If a individual/group complains about certain comments/words as being derogatory then apologize and don't repeat (at least in front of the group). What is the big deal.

There are exceptions to the above rule. Like Senator Lott's comments during Ex-senator Strom Thurman's birthday. Senator Lott's comments were not politically-incorrect, they were politically stupid.

My two cents
Good point about "commies" and "Hollywood elites". (nm)czardonic
Apr 3, 2003 4:23 PM
I'm in West Virginia and I ride w/these guys! (nm)jesse1
Apr 3, 2003 12:14 PM
Really? What does the guy with the DD man boobs ride? nmKristin
Apr 3, 2003 12:26 PM
For some reason, he only rides a downhill rig. (nm)jesse1
Apr 3, 2003 12:30 PM
Really? What does the guy with the DD man boobs ride? nmAlpedhuez55
Apr 3, 2003 12:41 PM
I ride a LeMond Zurich, but have lose some weight recently and think I am down to a C-Cup ;)
What seat do you have on the Zurich? nmKristin
Apr 3, 2003 1:15 PM
What seat do you have on the Zurich? nmAlpedhuez55
Apr 3, 2003 1:31 PM
I have WTB Speed V's on all but one of my bikes. I have ever had any broken rail issues, even on my mountain bikes. I had the stock Lemond Seat but did not like it all that much. Could not feel my privates after a long ride.
a real outhouse.rufus
Apr 3, 2003 1:52 PM
a PORTABLE outhouse....mohair_chair
Apr 3, 2003 3:43 PM





http://www.bumperdumper.com/