RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Welcome New Forum Moderator: Doug Sloan!(18 posts)

Welcome New Forum Moderator: Doug Sloan!gregg
Apr 2, 2003 10:30 AM
Hey All,

Please help me welcome Doug into his new position as Forum Moderator for the Non-Cycling Discussion Board and the General Board!

Doug has been a long standing member of the Boards, and has always helped me out when things need attention. It has become clear that this board deserves to have it's own dedicated moderator, and who better than Doug?

Doug has a full profile online now here»

Doug's main responsibility is to "keep the peace", and I'm sure all of you will help him out, right?

Thanks Doug for all you've given to this site.

-gregg (Site Manager)
What??? We have a Rightist Commissar to keep us in line??!OldEdScott
Apr 2, 2003 11:04 AM
This is an outrage! I demand that the Left be represented here!

Leftists unite! Jon, czar, PDXMark ... Rise up! You have nothing to lose but your ... uh, trolling.

Good GOD. First the War, now this ...
Libertarian...DougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 11:25 AM
Libertarian First Amendment lawyer... what could be less onerous than that?

Nothing is going to change, except maybe quicker response to really out of line stuff. Politically content neutral, I promise. ;-)

Doug
I think you're a dipsh!t and a moron.OldEdScott
Apr 2, 2003 11:30 AM
Just a test to see how open-minded you intend to be! :-0
wrongDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 11:37 AM
Just to show how wrong you are, I'll have you know that I am not a member of the LDS Church.

Doug
Nevertheless, I feel my days areOldEdScott
Apr 2, 2003 11:40 AM
numbered here. Probably get banned, maybe even get cut off in mid-
funnyDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 2:38 PM
I can't ban.

I'd never want to see you leave. I can talk to myself anytime, and that's no fun.

Doug
Do we have to call him Mr. Librarian now? nmKristin
Apr 2, 2003 11:40 AM
Couldn't have said it better myself.retro
Apr 2, 2003 12:17 PM
But seriously, though . . . you've stated clearly and often a number of views that are repellent to me, and to some other frequent posters. I'm sure we're all hoping that bias/belief system/political slant will not be apparent here.
won't matter at allDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 2:37 PM
I strongly feel that even those who disagree with me, and are completely wrong, should still be fully able to voice their uninformed, illogical, irrational, opinions. :-)

Seriously, I'll never do anything based upon political content or any other content unless it's obviously in violation of the forum guidelines. No need to worry. If there is any doubt about it, you can always e-mail Gregg. It should go without saying that what he wants goes, and I'll happily concede if he has any reservations about what I'm doing.

This really is being made a bigger deal that it is. I can't think of problems that concerned me over the years more than about once every few months, and then they were probably pretty obvious to 90% of the participants, as well as Gregg.

Doug
does that mean no more liberal posts? (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 2, 2003 11:05 AM
does this mean he gets to delete posts? nmgtx
Apr 2, 2003 11:16 AM
Doug is allowed to delete posts that violate our guidelinesgregg
Apr 2, 2003 12:13 PM
I knew about Doug's political stance and I understand if people have concern about it. Before approving Doug, I discussed this point with my boss, just to address this concern.

The result is: in choosing a moderator, the last thing we want to do is to have the moderator have to change or alter their opinions or their "voice" on the boards. Which is where I would step in, if need be. We don't expect Doug to hide his true opinions, and he should be allowed to express himself, just like everyone else. Should the need arise, Doug has been instructed to contact me and let me make the call on something potential politically inflammatory

I have all confidence in Doug (of course, otherwise I wouldn't have asked him in the first place), and I'm sure he understands his role and responsibility.

Any concerns or questions can always be sent to me.

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com
If only he'll be as even-handed (and invisible) as gregg...(nm)cory
Apr 2, 2003 12:23 PM
Congrats Doug :)Alpedhuez55
Apr 2, 2003 11:47 AM
All Hail the great and Powerful Dog!!! ;) nm4bykn
Apr 2, 2003 1:32 PM
gregg, you are a day late for April Fools, good try anyway.nmMB1
Apr 2, 2003 2:41 PM
HahahahahehehehehhohohohohoHoopes of glory
Apr 3, 2003 5:12 AM
You nearly had us going there - till I remembered you said that you were trying to increase visitors, not lose them...