RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


1 of 3 frogs rooting for Saddam(12 posts)

1 of 3 frogs rooting for SaddamClydeTri
Apr 2, 2003 7:47 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,5944-631671,00.html
Dont read..already posted..ClydeTri
Apr 2, 2003 7:48 AM
nm
Some of the reasons whyeurochien
Apr 2, 2003 8:50 AM
This situation could have been avoided if BUsh had been patient instead of placing the world in a fait accompli situation. Chirac was not opposed to war, but wanted to see inspections increased instead of bombing. Since that's a done deal, let's move on.
Roughly 10% of the French population is of North-African origin (Maghreb: Algeria-Tunisia-Morocco) and Islam is quickly gaining on Catholicism. These communities have a voice, and some cities are prone to rioting (disenfranchised youths, in which Al Quaida actively recruits). There has not been any terrorist bombing in France since 1995, partly due to French policy regarding the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
The way the war is portrayed in the French media does not exactly make easy to support this war. While US media focuses on the troops, French and European media focuses on civilian casualties. I've seen some pretty disturbing pictures of dead Iraqi kids taken around Basra, but this is going on anywhere there's bombs, guns and civilians.
No matter how you spin it, this is ugly and I don't think the US population is getting an accurate picture. But that's just me, a surrender monkey frog with BO who eats stinky cheeses.
Euro, don't go there ...sacheson
Apr 2, 2003 9:23 AM
... you don't have B.O. As for eating stinky cheeses, I can't defend you there ... I think that's about course 5 of 7 at your house, isn't it?

And for the comments regarding the vandalism. I think everyone agrees that it was a vile act, and most of us (those that don't close our minds to anything outside of the Bush Administration's rhetoric) realize it wasn't the French people who committed the acts, it a couple of people within France that did it. The French goverment has denounced the actions and we're moving on.

Come over on Saturday. We'll drink some wine. Amanda will make sure we don't talk politics.
media focusStarliner
Apr 2, 2003 9:29 AM
Your observation that US media focuses on the troops seemed to imply that the US media excludes coverage of civilian casualties. That's not true, as evidenced daily by pictures of citizens weeping alongside coffins, ongoing developmental coverage of the van full of women which was blasted apart at a checkpoint a few days ago, etc.

Media focus on civilian casualties can very easily be tainted with false and manipulative judgements. In fact, who really was responsible for the explosions at the marketplace? When the most important facts behind a story are missing, the power behind the message lies with the messenger.

Which provides proof to the maxim, "The first casualty of war is the truth".
1/3Captain Morgan
Apr 2, 2003 10:26 AM
We are not just talking about being anti-war. As the article stated, a third of French people WANT THE U.S. TO LOSE. Perhaps the graves were defaced by kids, who knows. But with 1/3 of the country actually hoping that the murderous dictator keeps control of this long-oppressed country Iraq, the action easily represents an opinion of a large percentage of our supposed "French allies."

The French have long supported a strategy of appeasement of Islamist radicals, not necessarily because they support their views, but in order to protect their own asses. I do not fault them for this isolationistic strategy. However, now they are breaking free from this isolationism by manipuilating U.N. policy and world opinion. They can't have it both ways.

Finally, if the French media truly focuses on civilian casualties, why don't they show the Iraqi soldiers shooting their own citizens, or show tapes of the ethnic cleansings of the 1980's and 1990's?

I do not wish any Frenchman ill will, but in my opinion they are dead wrong on this issue.
Everybody protects their own asseseurochien
Apr 2, 2003 10:55 AM
As far as manipulating the UN, that's a 50-50 with the US (with all the bribe money being being showered to Turkey and any other reluctant members of the coalition of the willing) and Powell's fake documents to justify initiating military intervention.
I have seen as much coverage of the Iraqi dictatorship's treatment of political dissidents and Taliban-era Afghanistan in France than in the US (I've lived here in the US 10 years and didn't hear so much about the Taliban before December 2001).
I have no doubt that Chirac has his own little agenda, he's a politician and wants to keep the Arab population in check, especially with unemployment and social issues rising. The fact that one-third of the French would rather see the US lose in this war bothers me, but it also indicates how wrong the French thinks the US are in this adventure. Without analyzing this too much, I would suspect that this has more to do with "teaching Bush a lesson" than supporting Saddam Hussein because he's a nice guy. Unfortunately this translates into taking a side ("with us or with the terrorists"...) in this black and white world painted by the Bush administration. Over and out.
AlmostSteveS
Apr 3, 2003 10:23 AM
Funny, I heard about Taliban long before December 2001. Maybe you weren't paying attention.

You are almost right about one thing; the war will be OVER soon and Saddam and his French supporters will be OUT.

Out.
Vive la France!!cycleaddict
Apr 2, 2003 11:10 AM
Proud to say that I will be visiting your great country in May for a self-supported bike ride from Toulouse to Nice with 3 days in REZUMAT (26) spent riding around and over Mt. Ventoux with a cycling club from St. Orens (near Toulouse).
The U.S. population is not seeing the true impact of this horrible war-for-oil and worse yet, the majority of us refuse to question the administration's real motives.
C'est dommage. Je suis vraiment triste.
ReallySteveS
Apr 3, 2003 10:30 AM
Pull your head out and grow up, the parroting of "war for oil" is so weak as to be pathetic. If that were the case, we could just invade our failed neighbor to the south and take over Mexico's oil. Much closer, easier, and less expensive than going to Iraq, plus the food is better.

Most parrots refuse to question the 'war-for-oil' claimants real motives.

Have a good ride, looks like beautiful country.
Vive la France!!cycleaddict
Apr 2, 2003 11:13 AM
Perhaps their reason IS cycling-relatedCaptain Morgan
Apr 2, 2003 11:30 AM
Perhaps France is doing this just to piss Lance off so that he boycotts Le Tour. That way, an imperialist American won't be recognized as the most accomplished rider in Le Tour's history. Of course, that also may explain why the Belgians were in cahoots with the French.