RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Well... what about Canada?(15 posts)

Well... what about Canada?empacher6seat
Mar 27, 2003 7:03 PM
There's been so much hoopla over the French position on war in Iraq... I was wondering how American's felt about Canada refusing to get involved? We really haven't heard that much up here about how the general public felt. From what I gather, the US government sort of sighed in disapproval and did some finger waving like an upset parent ("we're very disappointed in you, son").

What's the deal? Does anyone down there really care, or know about the Canadian position? Are there not enough Canadian foods to change into something freedom related? Is the topic just brushed aside, because, after Iraq and N.Korea, we're next on the chopping block? :)
As the friend who is quietly always there...PdxMark
Mar 27, 2003 8:21 PM
"we" in the US seldom pay much attention to, or give Canada much credit for, what a great and reliable friend Canada is. In this case, Canada's fairly quiet disagreement quietly went unnoticed. I think it was France's direct, strident and vocal public opposition that got folks here riled. First in the government and then, since so many of us are apparently sheep, with the public at large.

But as we discussed earlier this week, some of us on this board are thinking that we should take BC and western Alberta as part of a new Manifest Recreational Destiny. For whatever reason, Manitoba didn't make the cut.
LOL "manifest recreational destiny"empacher6seat
Mar 27, 2003 8:35 PM
What would you get out of Manitoba and Saskatchewan? A whole lot of wheat? A lifetime supply of Shreddies for every American!

BC and Alberta have most of the resources, including fresh water, lumber, oil, and you get BC hydro! Along with that you get beautiful landscape, the cycling capital of the country, Victoria (where I live), and priceless vacationing gems like Saltspring island, Banff, Tofino and Penticton!

Which thread were you refering to? I must have missed it, I'd like to give it a read.
Victoira is a wonderful place, and Saltspring Is. too...PdxMark
Mar 28, 2003 8:49 AM
used to sail there back when we had a boat.

The thread starts here:

sn69 "What will be left of America after all this?" 3/25/03 6:08pm
We're going to do something really bad.............MR_GRUMPY
Mar 27, 2003 8:27 PM
Like selling Maple Leaf toilet paper, or pulling our Baseball team out of Montreal, or..or.. sending Hollywood to B.C.
If George is really P.O.'d, we'll order pizzas for everybody in Quebec and stick them with the bill.!!!!
re: Well... what about Canada?McAndrus
Mar 28, 2003 5:22 AM
Like most Americans I hadn't given Canada much thought regarding their position(s) on the war. I've heard a fair amount of discussion on France but absolutely nothing on Canada.

I grew up in Detroit. For those who don't know, it's right across the Detroit River from Windsor, Ontario. If you grow up in Detroit you also grow up with Hockey Night in Canada, curling, and Canadian money in your pocket.

I now live in South Carolina but was in Detroit last weekend. I was surprised to see my brother-in-law watching war news on television - from the CBC!

The CBC's coverage was very high quality reporting but politically neutral. I suspect it reflects the consensus of the Canadian public.
Support, but politically neutral I agree,Spunout
Mar 28, 2003 5:50 AM
Just as in the US, the administration does not represent a certain portion of the populus.

In Canada, the position that we shouldn't engage without a UN mandate is probably more widely supported. It is just our position. What is wrong with that?

If we are to blindly agree with US foreign policy just because, then how good is that? We went through the arguments and decisions to come to where we are.

BTW, our PM doesn't have much to do with public opinion, the dolt.
Dolthood and RandomnessJon Billheimer
Mar 28, 2003 8:08 AM
That Chretien's foreign policy on this issue happened to resonate with the Canadian public is pure accident. I'm betting in one of their post-parliamentary question period drunken stupors the Liberal caucus blindfolded themselves and started throwing darts at a wall that had various policy options scrawled in crayon on it. A couple of darts hit the U.N. sanction/neutrality option. Voila! A policy is born. Besides which, it would fly well in Quebec.

In my 35 years residence in this country this is the first time I've seen any liberal government get anything right. Validation of the "thousand monkeys rule??" Or did a butterfly in Peru create brain spasms in Ottawa?
P.S.Jon Billheimer
Mar 28, 2003 8:11 AM
IMHO the CBC has provided the most in-depth, insightful news coverage and background commentary on the war of any news service in the world. Their public affairs programming is generally outstanding.
Haven't you heard?mickey-mac
Mar 28, 2003 6:28 AM
Canadian Bacon is now Danish Bacon. Canada Club Whiskey is now Poland Club Whiskey. Canada Dry club soda is now Portugal Dry. If you guys don't get on board soon, we're going to liberate the two remaining Canadian teams in the NHL. ;-)
U.S. scheduling invasion now. How does October work for you? (nm)Dale Brigham
Mar 28, 2003 8:22 AM
Bring the troops home just in time for hockey and ski season! nmJon Billheimer
Mar 28, 2003 8:28 AM
The Canadian's are in the war!McAndrus
Mar 28, 2003 9:56 AM
"Canada's Defense Ministry March 27 admitted that 31 Canadians troops are operating in the war in Iraq, with some aboard U.S. AWAC aircraft. The troops are part of exchange programs with the British and Australian military."

http://www.agonist.org
The Canadians - my oops - nmMcAndrus
Mar 28, 2003 9:57 AM
Plus...Jon Billheimer
Mar 28, 2003 10:52 AM
we've got three frigates with about 1600 or 1700 military personnel integrated into the US naval battle group in escort and command roles in the Gulf. Our total involvement is just slightly shy of the Australians' 2000.

This kind of oblique support is SOOO typically Canadian:)- This way Chretien can have his cake and eat it too. Somebody should have told Dubya before he had Celucci come up here and shoot his mouth off.