RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Americans visiting France for the Tour are traitors(39 posts)

Americans visiting France for the Tour are traitorsSimonRex
Mar 27, 2003 5:00 PM
Spending one dime in that country after what they have done and are still doing to the United States is criminal. If you decide to visit please do the rest of us a favor and stay permanently. The USA will be better off without your type.
Once a troll, always a troll- nm (and hope to keep it that way)filtersweep
Mar 27, 2003 5:29 PM
Wrong. You have been calling me a troll from the start . . .SimonRex
Mar 27, 2003 5:32 PM
and are wrong. You were wrong then and are wrong now.
Isn't it funny about the FrenchTSuprano
Mar 27, 2003 6:01 PM
That when it came to war, they wanted nothing to do with it. When it comes from profiting from rebuilding Iraq, they are like flys on a fresh cow patty. You can't get ride of them.
Almost as funny as the Americans. . .czardonic
Mar 27, 2003 6:13 PM
. . .who think the French are weak and useless, yet scream bloody murder when they oppose us.
Almost as funny as the Americans. . .TSuprano
Mar 27, 2003 6:26 PM
It was the French who surrendered to the Germans in WWII, instead of fighting in fear that Paris might be destoyed. Hitler walked right into Paris. It was the Americans who sacrificed so the French could have Paris back. All I can say is what panty waste the French really are.
Given that opinion. . . .czardonic
Mar 27, 2003 6:39 PM
. . .I assume that you don't care what the French think or do, unlike these yahoos who (I guess out of some kind of insecurity) can't resist bashing a country that they believe to be so weak.
What an ignorant waste you are.sacheson
Mar 28, 2003 10:36 AM
I wish the history of the world was as cut and dried as you think it is.
Don't even go there...filtersweep
Mar 27, 2003 6:15 PM
...is it ANY better than the cronyism of George W. and his oil friends? Already awarding contracts to Haliburton, et. al? Arguably there are easier way for him to line his friends' pockets, but your argument is weak at best.
Don't even go there...WCC
Mar 27, 2003 6:46 PM
I heard that, and I agree that its BS if its true...like I said, I hate 90% of what our government does.

But...France is still wrong. way wrong. They only want to be Allies when something is in it for them.
Don't even go there...russw19
Mar 28, 2003 1:23 AM
And regarding your last line... do you really think we would give 2 craps about Iraq if there wasn't something in it for us? Hmmmm lets see... the Clinton Administration was not as "oil friendly" as the Bush Administration (versions 1 or 2) but the Bush Administrations both invaded Iraq. So let me ask you this, what's in it for us? For you and me, we get to save a few pennies per gallon on gasoline, and Bush and Chaney and Rice get to make another 6 or 7 million per year when they leave office and go back to the Texas Energy Companies that put them in office. And what's in it for the 18 year old kids fighting for all that in Iraq right now? If they get so lucky as to come back alive, maybe more Gulf War related health problems that the government has no interest in solving, and a bunch of sleepless nights wrestling with bad memories of things they saw and did.

I guess they can take comfort in knowing that they were fighting so that you can boycott spending money at the tour and so that idiots like Simon can voice their free speech rights to say stupid things.

Russ
funny thing isfiltersweep
Mar 28, 2003 4:52 AM
I heard on NPR yesterday that a one penny difference in fuel prices makes a several hundred million dollar difference to the airline industry over the course of a year.... maybe they are behind this madness ;)
I guess G.W.B. figures...serbski
Mar 27, 2003 7:01 PM
...that he is sacrificing American lives out there so *his* buddies should profit from this war rather than the French. I mean, *they* didn't get *their* constituency killed, captured and maimed out there! Bush and his Boys *earned* it (you have to pronounce that last bit like John Houseman in the old Smith/Barney ads!).
I guess G.W.B. figures...WCC
Mar 27, 2003 7:35 PM
your logic is so flawed.....the French HAD their chance...duh
So did you ever race your friend, Simon?empacher6seat
Mar 27, 2003 6:39 PM
And how badly did he kick your ass?

If all those people you spoke of left, then the country would be full of histarical, bone headed, flag waving morons like yourself. Then who would run the place?
we would still belong to britain if not for the frenchcyclist of all trades
Mar 27, 2003 6:47 PM
Can you believe those french. all they care about is protecting there oil interests. they are a bunch of oil using greedy wasteful selfish pieces of ....... Oh wait, thats our society. sorry.

there are a lot more reasons to like france than hate france. do your home work and do not get taken by all of the bullsh*t propaganda.
the debt has been repaid..dont ya think???nmWCC
Mar 27, 2003 6:53 PM
nm
Thoughtcrime! Thoughtcrime!czardonic
Mar 27, 2003 6:56 PM
The British are our allies. The British have always been our allies. The United States is at war with Iraq. The United States has always been at war with Iraq.
except ....rufus
Mar 28, 2003 8:15 AM
when we were sending them weapons, financial and technological support in their war against iran. and the years after. when we told them we had no opinion one way or the other about their border dispute with kuwait.
sorry, on second read i finally got the sarcasm in your post(nm)rufus
Mar 28, 2003 8:23 AM
that friend is me......WCC
Mar 27, 2003 6:51 PM
..and the origin of this thread was to troll me.

As for the race. It's not even worth discussing. As for your comments, are you saying that flag wavers are morons?
wave your flag..cyclist of all trades
Mar 27, 2003 6:56 PM
just don't act like we are so high and mighty morally compared to others like france that feel different about this issue. sometimes we seem like small minded ingnorant racists.
wave your flag..WCC
Mar 27, 2003 7:01 PM
the left wing mentality is SO engrained in you its amazing..you must be a shild of the Clinton generation...

you are hitting all the buzzwords...racist...wow...wtf did that even come up?
wave your flag..cyclist of all trades
Mar 27, 2003 7:22 PM
no leftwing mentality here. i actually think we are fighting for a good cause. it is yet to be seen if we will accomplish our goals. i just refuse to hate the french for this.

i am rooting for our troops and for the iraqy people.
re: Ahhhhhteoteoteo
Mar 27, 2003 7:41 PM
Just 'cause you said that I am not going.....thanks for showing me the way.
re: Understanding and common ground....teoteoteo
Mar 27, 2003 8:02 PM
Hey Simon these pics ought to make you sick. A skinny American and a fat Frenchie...blows the whole stereotype huh?
re: Surrender by headwear....teoteoteo
Mar 27, 2003 8:04 PM
2001 on the Champs-Elysee
re: On a serious noteteoteoteo
Mar 27, 2003 8:09 PM
May all the men and women in Iraq that fight to give me freedom return home quickly.
re: Americans visiting France for the Tour are traitorscycleaddict
Mar 27, 2003 8:26 PM
Wow!Another moron in the peleton. I'm going to France in May and again in September. Why are some of us so easily tweaked when someone does not agree with us? You know, we are not always right!

This war is a shame! And right now I am ashamed to be an American!!
re: Americans visiting France for the Tour are traitorsTSuprano
Mar 28, 2003 4:23 AM
You should just stay over in France if you are really that ashamed. I wonder if you were Middle Eastern, if you would have been ashamed to be Middle Easter on September 11th.
TRAITOR? NO, BUT IT'S TIME FOR YOU TO WAKE-UP!Tunji
Mar 28, 2003 1:43 AM
You right wing racist (you are a racist aren't you? it normally goes with that kind of thought. I apologize if your not). As far as conservative thought, you, and people who agree with you are probally the low end trash. You expose that you are a true victom of the conservative owned right wing news media! It's not your fault. The right wing think tanks, of which people like you are supposed to know nothing of, have had this war planned before 9-11, but also planned was this propaganda campaigne to gain popular support. (a must in the game of war) This is the most egregious imperialistic move since Hitler invaded Poland. This invasion is about stealing Iraqs oil and global positioning. WMD, if they had any there would be a lot more USA casualties. What they do have is the right to self determination and the same hatred for imperialist that the native peoples of north america must have had for europeans when people like that punk bush invaded this land! Genocide then slavery, remember? Republican Guard, they have no strong troops of any kind. Don't you remember what happened in the Gulf war. They were all lies, media propaganda and you fell for it! France wants nothing to do with war. They remember what happened to thier cites after they raped Algeria, and eventually got kicked out! I would think that France will be a lot safer place than areas like NY & DC, thanks to bush. Stealing the profits from Iraqs oil and giving it to companies in the military industrial complex to build what the US destroyed. Anytime a farmer can shoot down a hi-tech helicopter, and local malitia are capturing our women & men. I support our troops by shouting BRING OUR TROOPS HOME!!! I'M NO TRAITOR .
Why should the world rubber-stamp American policy?Paul
Mar 28, 2003 5:10 AM
The only thing I hold against the French, is that they undercut American/British policy by threating to veto whatever came out of the security council. This threat only enforced Saddam's hand. Frence has major economic dealings with Iraq, I believe this drove French policy. I believe we should use Iraq's oil revenue to rebuild the country, but only under UN oversight.

Bush is an idiot, along with the other jerks in his cabinet, they have cost the US many friends, and are driving our economy into the hole. The war was driven by a time table, rather by diplomacy.
Canadians agree: "Vive l'difference!" Live (to be) different nmSpunout
Mar 28, 2003 6:11 AM
Did I not get the new updated US Constitution?djg
Mar 28, 2003 7:25 AM
My copy doesn't say anything about tourism in countries that fail to support our foreign policy.

Me, I'll be lucky if I make it to New Hampshire this summer. And it's fine with me if you want to boycott the Tour de France and/or Look bicycles. But I hate this rubbish of calling everyone who disagrees with you or me or us or whatever a "traitor." It's cheap, it's lazy, and it's wrong. Heck, I'll go out on a limb and call it UN-American.

That's it. Sorry for clogging the bandwidth on this CYCLING board.
god, the level of ignorance this war brings out in people...EpicX
Mar 28, 2003 7:47 AM

god, the level of ignorance this war brings out in people amazes me. 'kill the dixie chicks!', 'kill the french!. come one people. there seems to be a perception that 'patriotism' requires blind allegiance to whatever the hell your government does and that voicing a different opinion makes you a 'traitor'. Go ahead, be a sheep, or try thinking for yourself. Really! CNN doesn't have all the answers! believe it or not. It makes me ashamed sometimes, not to be an American (never), but that we can have so many close minded, intolerant, hypocritical citizens.

--quote from Paul--
Bush is an idiot, along with the other jerks in his cabinet, they have cost the US many friends, and are driving our economy into the hole. The war was driven by a time table, rather by diplomacy.
--quote--


Absolutely this war was driven by a time table. GWB made up his mind a looooong time ago that he was gonna go after his daddy's boogey man. He was going to do it and damn the economy, damn the world etc... I am GWB, hear me roar!

I'm from Texas, I've met GWB and although he was very 'gubernatorial' I would never have considered him 'presidential'. He displays to much of the ego driven, macho, chest beating redneck from Texas personality. And you can see it in the way that he's said ' my way or the highway' to the world.

hey you can live in a hole and pretend the US doesn't need anyone but it truly is a GLOBAL ECONOMY these days. We better be careful who we alienate.

god, the level of ignorance this war brings out in people...WCC
Mar 28, 2003 3:32 PM
on the flip side...France needs to realise they arent a super power, and never will be...

Sometimes its hard to be an ally. France was protecting its interests in iraq, but went a bit to far...in hindsite, if they would have capitulated in the end, who knows, World Pressure may have weighed heavier on Hussein, instead of giving him cause for hope.
Booking plane tix for PBP tonight. Thanx for the reminder! (nm)Dale Brigham
Mar 28, 2003 7:48 AM
Simon Rex = Nazijimsawino
Mar 28, 2003 7:52 AM
In the democratic world for which the US "strives" is it unfair for a free nation to respect another nation's popular opinion to disagree with an ally? Are you familiar with the Kyoto Treaty? Aren't we free from England largely due to French help in the Revolutionary War? At least Chirac won the popular vote. Why are the French being singled out? Should Americans also boycott Germany, Russia, and China? Should the sale of BMW and Mercedes be banned? If so, Chrysler should as well, being partners in DAIMLER-CHRYSLER. Do you think you have anything made in a Chinese sweat shop that you use? Should we reject Thomas Jefferson and Benjamin Franklin for spending such long periods of time in France to STUDY DEMOCRACY? Besides, isn't this a free country where I am entitled to my opinion?
Remember, the US sold Iraq chemical weapons when it was fighting Iran and the anti-US shah the CIA put in power when Iran's DEMOCRATIC government tried to nationalize oil in 1953. And maybe we should stop giving Israel $3 billion a year when they are in violation of 66 UN resolutions, have nuclear weapons, and threatened to use them in 1972. And the US isn't so pretty; it ignored a WORLD ORDER to leave nicaragua after commiting war crimes and atrocities. This, of course, was not covered well by the US media and the government ignored it. Isn't this a violation of the Monroe Doctrine? Are you familiar with the Iran Contra situation? Don't you think Oliver North selling arms to the Ayatolla (who had bombed his marines in Beirut, and a US Embassy) is a little far from Semper Fi?
Please try to be just a little objectional through your haze of ignorance. Education goes a lot farther than patriotism.
Jim
RIDE YOUR BIKE!!!shamelessgearwhore
Mar 28, 2003 8:24 AM