RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Celebrities may be turning(11 posts)

Celebrities may be turningMcAndrus
Mar 27, 2003 10:33 AM
Some celebrities seem to be making public their support for the war. I wonder if more will follow.

http://www.theweeklystandard.com/Content/Public/Articles/000/000/002/437kmhth.asp
So now celebrities' opinions suddenly count?Spoiler
Mar 27, 2003 10:55 AM
It will be interesting to see how many people change their minds. When celebrities voice opposition to the war, people complain saying, "Those arrogant celebrities are using their position to spout off. They should keep their mouth shut and stick to what they know, acting and entertaining."
Will the same be said about pro-war celebrities? The Weekly Standard now calls them "leading lights of the popular culture."
funny...mohair_chair
Mar 27, 2003 11:10 AM
I'm always amused and somewhat sickened by how many people are such staunch advocates of free speech, as long as it's the free speech they want to hear.
So now celebrities' opinions suddenly count?Alpedhuez55
Mar 27, 2003 12:41 PM
Well, I think it is nice to hear some of the people from the Right not afraid to speak out. Look at the heat people like Tom Selleck & Mel Gibson have gone through in recent years. I doubt they will change any opinions. If you are on the right, it is nice to know some of Hollywood is on your side.

I think the Weekly Standard is going a little overboard calling them the "leading lights of the popular culture" though. THough Britany Murphy does have a cute set of headlights ;)

Mike Y.
Yeah, but...retro
Mar 27, 2003 3:45 PM
How can you talk about the "heat people like Tom Selleck" take, but ignore the treatment people like Martin Sheen have had? This thing goes both ways, and there are a-holes on both sides.
Yeah, but...Alpedhuez55
Mar 28, 2003 8:24 AM
Well, there are still consiquences. Sheen is feeling them after decades of liberal activism. So did Selleck, after 1 NRA ad.

I was just saying that conservatives no longer feel like they have to keep quiet iout of fear of industry backlash. THe people still can revolt against someones views by not going to movies, watching shows or buying products advertised on a show.

THe environment now is one where conservatives are a little more welcome to express their views. If the people dont like it, they will turn off or not spend their money on a product. People are doing that to Sheen and can do that to an celbrity they want to.

Mike Y.
Celebrities ....ClydeTri
Mar 27, 2003 12:40 PM
celebrities just speak for one person, themselves....they, both sides, unfairly use their "soapbox" to speak on things they do not know....for example, think back...Meryl Streep talking to Congress on alar....what a waste of time...the time could have been better spent with testimony from scientists who could speak with intelligence on the issue...I just used her as an example, but celebrities should not pretend to be experts on issues they are not experts on...
But the scientists wouldn't have made the 5 o'clock newstorquer
Mar 27, 2003 1:57 PM
Meryl Streep talking to congress wasted nobody's time; she acted as a cheerleader for a position she felt strongly about. Charlton Heston did the same. Congressional testimony is, for the most part, nothing more than preaching to the choir; few minds are ever open to persuasion, with the real arguements and deals being made behind closed doors. If anyone's time was at risk of being wasted, it was the scientists'. Even more so today, when we have an administration in denial of global warming, led be a believer in creationism.
interesting partDougSloan
Mar 27, 2003 4:41 PM
Sure, the supporters' opinions are no more valid or interesting than the opponents. The only way this is interesting to me is to see that not all celebrities are left-wing-pinko-commie-whacko-bleeding-heart-pseudo-intellectual-anti-American-nut-cases.

Doug

I suppose I'd better put one of these in

;-)

Well you have Reagan, Charlton Heston, Ahnold...ColnagoFE
Mar 28, 2003 8:41 AM
Bruce Willis and I believe Demi defected to the dark side when she married him (maybe lapsed back now?), sure there are lots of others, just like any business where there is lots of money to be made and kept.
moo! moo! of course many will follow like the cows they are (nm)ColnagoFE
Mar 28, 2003 8:39 AM